We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gentleman's Vegas Golf Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Ranked #102 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gentleman's Vegas Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

This is just Jim and not Maggie and the four of us guys stayed in two rooms on the 19th floor and had a very enjoyable stay at the Monte Carlo.
Hotel:
We usually stay in moderately priced hotels like the NYNY or Flamingo and booked the Monte Carlo so that we could cool off in the pools after our rounds of golf. The hotel is not a four star hotel but it was perfectly fine and met our expectations. No wait for Thursday afternoon check in nor Sunday morning departure. Had non-smoking, 2- Queen beds available as I requested. Very good/nice employees throughout the weekend. Very nice clean room. One thing the rooms need is to replace the older television sets but even that didn't matter to us as we don't spend very much time in the rooms anyway.

Food:
We miss the brew pub but enjoyed the beer pub. They have replaced the excellent oven baked pizzas with flatbread ones. They had a very good acoustic guitarist playing to an indifferent crowd on Thursday evening. She was very good. $145 for three people, Overpriced for what it was. We just had 2-3 beers each.
There is a very crowded Starbucks in the food court. If you walk 2 minutes down past the Pub and retail on the way to Aria you will find a larger, less crowded one.

Pool:
The pool was relaxing on Friday afternoon. I wish they played a little more pop music and a little less rap music. Both the pool and lazy river were good and crowded. The water was noticably less clean on Saturday. Easy to get a chair both afternoons.

The resort is aiming for a younger, stupider crowd. There is entire "party" pit on the weekends for bad 6:5 BJ tables with a Go-Go dancer. Overall, the MC is not looking for discerning clientele. This is not negative, just an observation. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD-Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,149
    5,914
    3,460
    1,270
    749
See reviews for
2,923
6,083
587
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

This was my very first trip to Las Vegas, and I went with my husband and a bunch of friends for a wedding. There was a large group of us that wanted to get rooms near each other, but we didn't request this before we arrived. The people at the front desk were very nice and very accomodating, and were able to get us all rooms near each other. The rooms were older but decent, didn't spend a whole lot of time there anyways. Never had to wait for an elevator, there always seemed to be one ready.
I thought the location of the Monte Carlo was very good, within walking distance to several shops and other hotels, and it even had a free tram that went to the Bellagio. All the hotels are so big, make sure you wear comfortable walking shoes! The first night we were there we took a taxi everywhere which got expensive. I recommend taking the bus - only $7 for a 24 hour unlimited pass.
There were also quite a few things to do within the hotel. I was really glad that the Monte Carlo had a food court with places like McDonalds and Subway, Vegas gets really expensive so it was nice to have a cheaper option for lunch or late night snacks. The Pub was also a pretty cool place to hang out as well. I think Monte Carlo had one of the better casinos, lots of slot machines and card tables, and never too crowded. The pool area was really fun, especially if you like to party! There were music and games, and they also had really good drinks (get the peach bellini!!).
All the shows and attractions in Vegas are pretty expensive, but there are some free things to do: see the fountains at the Bellagio, the volcano at the Mirage, the lions at the MGM Grand, the pirate show at Treasure Island, and you definitely need to go downtown to Fremont Street (one of my favs!).
We arrived on a Wednesday night, which turned out to be a really good idea. We were able to do most of the sightseeing Wednesday and Thursday. By Friday, everywhere was considerably more crowded. Also, I would not recommend bringing young kids. There is drinking, gambling, and 'adult entertainment' everywhere you look.
One last thing - you should visit Toby Keith's Bar and Grill in Harrah's. The bartenders were amazing and they had a live band and dance floor with lots of two-stepping!
If I went to Vegas again, I would probably stay at the Monte Carlo again. It is less expensive than some of the others, in a good location, and has fun things to do.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChemEngGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lehi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

One thing that I really liked about this hotel is that you can drive around the back and
have the valet take your car and walk right into the Hotel registration and not have to
walk through the whole casino with your luggage and everything. They have complimentary
water bottles in your room, the pool was really nice, the people at the registration desk were
very friendly - and for the location on the strip it was a good value

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penney728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osan Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Monte Carlo is no where near being the Bellagio, Venetian, or any of the high priced luxury hotels, but for the average joe like me its good enough, especially for the price. First the good things, the Spa Suite is very comfortable. It has a huge jetted tub right by the window, perfect for a romantic evening. The bed is very comfortable and decnt size for two people, although a king would be better. The shower stall is amazing, it doubles as a lil sauna, The furniture is a little older, but is still pretty comfortable. The TV can be updated though. Maybe get a flat screen in here, would make it a little better.

Now the bad. The service here is not the greatest. The front desk was friendly, but after that not so much. When I went to the Player's Club to get a card, there was only maybe five words that cam from the gentleman's mouth. He never explainded any comps you could get, never explained how many points you need to get free play or any other comps, and lastly I had to remind him to get a pin number for the card. Then he looked at me like I just murdered someone. Then came the buffet, the hostess pretty much snapped on my friends and I when we asked for a booth. The room was crowded that they had us in, and I didn't feel like playing bumper chairs that day, especially after a long flight. The thing that irritated me the most was there was atleast 3 booths open in that section. Luckily a waiter heard us and moved us to a new section, she wasn't gonna do it thats for sure. The buffet itself was decent, although the price was a little high for the selection( off the strip, the Station Casinos offer better deals on the buffets, and have more of a selection).If you do want to save money on food, this place has a food court, which is a major plus.

Lastly, I don't know if the rest of the strip is this bad, but these slot machines are terrible. They are almost to boring to play due to the fact of the machines not even teasing you with bonuses, or possible bigger wins. It gets old and boring quick when you keep putting the money in, then don't even get a proper payback. I understand Vegas was not built on winners, but at the same time atleast keep people in the games for a couple hours to kill time. I am still staying here, so I think I will take my gambling elsewhere for the rest of the time.

All in all the thing that matters most is the room, and like I said its pretty darn comfortable, and relatively affordable.So on that note Im glad I picked here, as far as the rest of the stuff, well there are probably better casinos out there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

From the time we deiced to stay here to the end, my family was treated with special care. Having a family reunion can be trickey, trying to satisfy everyone, but the Monte Carlo meet everyones needs and did it with class.
Katy, at the front desk was able to get all 11 rooms on the same floor and the rooms were nice....you must remember what you are paying....we paid less that $250 for friday,sat,and sun. in Vegas.....the pool area was perfect for all ages, with drink specials till noon.... plus not overly crazy....just fun....spent 2 days soaking up the sun and trust me if you want sun it can be found....but get there around 8 for the best seats..
Location was great...right on the srtip, the food court was VERY handy and the casino was comfortable...not overwhelming...like some. Yes the rooms aren't the fanciest....but they sure are nice and comfortable.....my wifes only complaint is the maidservice....they weren't able to our rooms in a timely fashion, but they did.....Everyone said that the MC be there first choice again given the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

The hotel, casino and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and easy. Our room on the 19th floor had a view of the pool area. Don't get a room with a view of the pool if you want to sleep during the day as it is very noisy. The hotel lobby, casino, restaurants, and guest hallways are kept up very well. Our room, a 2 queen was large. The bath room was a nice size. The shower head was horrible and it was impossible to turn off the tub facet after using. The linens and toiletries were cheap. The sheets would not stay on the bed which made sleeping very uncomfortable. When I checked with housekeeping about getting sheets that fit the bed, I was told they had no fitted sheets, but they would put king size sheets on the bed. They didn't. Room service was very good, both food and delivery. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

. I've read a lot of reviews regarding the Monte Carlo and to me it comes down to your expectations. If you are looking for the Wynn or Bellagio for Monte Carlo prices this is not your place. For me I love this place because its very clean, nice pools, great location, good food choices and nice rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. I would think that this would be a good hotel for family's due to a more mature clientele. As well the staff and casino has always been very friendly and helpful when needed

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oban34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#97 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#40 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bally's
#74 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,925 reviews
The Strip
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#78 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Resort & Casino

Property: Monte Carlo Resort & Casino
Address: 3770 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#64 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#86 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carlo Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino is located in the heart of The Strip, putting you in the center of the Las Vegas excitement. Explore the possibilities with a collection of well-appointed room options including our Deluxe Rooms with their contemporary decor, High Floor Rooms in classic European styles, our relaxing Spa Suites with an oversized hot tub in the center of each room, our exquisite Monaco Suites and Diamond Suites, two elegantly luxurious choices, and the exclusive boutique HOTEL32 resides at the top, providing the ultimate perch to view all that glitters in Las Vegas. The open-air BLVD Plaza located in front of the resort is the ultimate social gathering spot and ideal setting to relax, re-energize and socialize. The plaza features a variety of unique culinary venues and a casual, lively environment. The resort is neighbor to the Park, an immersive, outdoor destination for dining and entertainment, Park Theater, which hosts top performers around the globe and has redefined Las Vegas entertainment with its intimate 5,200 seat venue, and the state-of-the-art 20,000 seat T-Mobile Arena. ***Monte Carlo Resort and Casino is undergoing an exciting transformation into a new luxury resort experience. Guests seeking a pool experience during their stay at Monte Carlo will be given free access to MGM Grand and Mandalay Bay pool complexes, based upon availability. Details will be provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Carlo Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Resort And Casino
Monte Carlo Hotel Las Vegas
Carlo Hotel Las Monte Vegas
Monte Carlo Las Vegas Reviews
Monte Carlo Resort & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing