We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #96 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This was our third stay at the Tropicana in three years. The remodel and updated look and feel are fantastic! It still has the relaxed, get away from it all, tropical appeal that we love. But now there is more of a hip, cool atmosphere. We loved the variety of guests from all over the world, a real mixture of young and old, all races and ethnicities! The pool area is better than ever and we enjoyed it every day. June is the best time to go before the temperatures get too hot.
We were able to enjoy great entertainment right in the hotel and casino. Recycled Percussion with lots of audience participation was a real hoot! The Mob Experience was a total blast! The exhibits and especially the actors, both real and virtual kept us completely off-guard all the way through. It was mind blowingly and even hauntingly realistic. If I were a supersticious man, I would suggest that I felt the presence of Meyer Lansky in those exhibits. It was both strange and scarey. Bravo to everyone involved in this magnificent endeavor. It was more than worth the money. And the promotion was great too! We also were honored to spend a night with Gladys Knight. Her voice is as strong and soulful as ever. She made us feel a part of her family and took us on a sentimental journey that we will never forget!
After seeing the shows, we enjoyed dining in the new restaurants located in the Tropicana including Cafe Nikki, The Marketplace and our favorite-Bacio's.
Bacio's is simply our favorite Italian restaurant in the world! We ate there multiple times. The food is exquisite, the ambience superb, and the celebrity chef, Carla Pellegrino is charming, delicious and a delight to be around! It's a great dining experience and we look forward to our next trip to the Tropicana, and of course Bacio's! And we wish both the hotel and this wonderful restaurant the greatest success possible!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! I am glad that from entertainment to restaurants we were able to exceed your expectations. It is really important to me what we keep our long time loyal guests happy! Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,961
    3,997
    2,012
    760
    465
See reviews for
1,857
4,495
580
1,570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

♥♥♥ I choose Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel because of the website's pictures, as well as the how IMPRESSED I was of the cost of my 5 days/4 nights stay which included round trip airfare that I booked through www.Priceline.com. From the time I walked into Tropicana's Hotel entry, the door man opened my taxi door and welcomed me with a very warm gently smile :-) Followed by another warm and gently smile of another door man opening the door to PARADISE with a warm and friendly smile as well!!! I was so PLEASANTLY IMPRESSED WITH THE WONDERFUL CLEAN-FRESH-SWEET TROPICAL SCENT that lingered throughout the entire hotel!!! I was so eager to see my room, which happened to be a Deluxe Paradise Suite, with a view of the Vegas Strip!!! This was my first time EVER at Tropicana Hotel. I was also very impressed with the whole entire BRIGHT & TROPICAL AMBIANCE throughout the hotel, including my room!!! Which I was very eager to from the moment my flight landed in Vegas!!! As soon as I walked into my room my nose was welcomed by the same CLEAN-FRESH-SWEET TROPICAL SCENT that was so lingering throughout the entire hotel!!! as well as in my room!!! My bed was EXTREMELY COMFY!! Exactly how Tropicana's pictures are on it's website is exactly how the entire hotel is in person. This newly renovated hotel is VERY INVITING, GORGEOUS and TROPICAL!!! I give them 100 THUMBS up!!!♥♥♥♥

Room Tip: Deluxe Paradise Suite Las Vegas Strip view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SuzetteHinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Most casinos are like a dungeon, not the Trop. Light, airy, open, roomy, truly tropical feel. Room was in the Tower and was gorgeous and quiet. We stayed here from Wed - Fri and enjoyed all three nights.

Only down side is where to eat. Nikkis is a bit pricy, there is a deli, avoid it like the plague. We waited nearly an hour for two hot dogs priced around $8 each (really??!). People had ordered pizza but oops... even though I could hear the guy tell the cashier about a dozen times, no more pizza dough, she kept taking orders. Nor let us forget, we paid for soft drinks, but... soft drink fountain was OUT of syrup for the entire hour we were there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dagmara56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed in one of the new suites for a few days. It was awesome! By far the best view I have ever had in Vegas. It looked right down the strip. The suite had a living room and bedroom with one bathroom. EVERYTHING is new, everything. It was very large and had a lot of different places to sit. I have nothing to complain about and can say this was the nicest room I have ever stayed in. We had seen the suites a couple years ago before the hotel was remodeled and they were gross! The tropicana is awesome now.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviews1phxaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Check in was nice & quick they waived the resort fees all we had to do was ask I requested a Fridge for the room so nice I got it at no extra charge. Hotel smelled so good. I liked the fact it was a smaller hotel but just right. Hotel room was nice & renovated bed was comfy The pool was great felt like I was in the carribean not in Vegas we stayed in the tower right by the pool which was perfect took the elevator straight down to the pool every morning. They had a nice inexpensive cafe one of the cheapest on the strip( we went over to Aria paid $15 just for a hamburger by itself). All in All a great stay will definatly be back my boyfriend gambles alot on our last day they offered us a comp dinner when we told them we were leaving they comp us for a free stay next time

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlondieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed for 7 nights in a renovated room in the Club tower on 16th floor. We wanted a good clean budget spot and the Tropicana delivered. The staff at this hotel were very friendly. I like the smaller casino and the bright and airy feel here. We had a strip view room, but the airport side rooms had a cool view too, and are probably quieter.
- enjoyed the pool, had great service from the Pool manager Stacy. Reserved a cabana for 3 days and a lounge spot on the little island for 2. It was nice to have a spot reserved and all ready for us when we got there. The cabana was $100 in drink/ food credit during the week, however it is not really a cabana but more of a pergola with some sheer curtains at the corners.
- food menu at the pool seemed to change - first couple of days it was Cafe Nikki food that was very good, but then they started using a Club Nikki menu that was limited and very expensive ($34 for hummus and pita!)
- enjoyed the room. very clean and a lovely view of the pool and the MGM corner of the strip. Large and comfortable for 3 of us.
- overall a good stay. Would do again if on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

first things first, i am not a gambler, show-person, or party girl. i was looking for somewhere reasonably priced, well located, and WITH NO CHEESY THEME!! omg, i cannot STAND the disney world architecture that plagues so many LV hotels and casinos. the focus of this trip was going to the grand canyon and i was only there for a couple of days.

i had a deluxe king room; not much of a view, but whatever. it was quite spacious and the bathroom was equally large. it was nice to be in a newly renovated hotel! everything seemed quite fresh, and there was still some minor construction going on in the lobby and hallway; the spa, however, was still concealed behind big walls saying it was opening this summer.

the staff was all very helpful and friendly; the pool was pretty big and i never had a hard time finding a lounge chair, although i did have a hard time finding where they distribute the towels. the people staying here were very mixed - old, young, couples, groups of guys/girls - and even some locals hanging out.

the main drawback for me was the food which consisted of generous servings of mediocrity. i had a ny strip steak at the nikki beach cafe which was unfortunately the worst strip steak i'd had, and the lettuce in the salad was soggy. :(

for the value and location, i would definitely stay here again. and with all the food options that las vegas has to offer, i'd just eat somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bktrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#95 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,165 reviews
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#37 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,102 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing