We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropicana for comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #98 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tropicana for comfort!”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We spent five nights at this newly renovated hotel and are so pleased that we chose it.

Comfort for the guests seems to have been very high on the agenda when remodelling and the beds are really top notch. You don't get to sleep a whole lot in Vegas so when you do finally 'hit the hay' you need to make the most of it!

The position on the Strip is so central for getting around to visit all the themed hotels and shows and the service was excellent.

All in all we are delighted we opted for the Tropicana and would definitely stay again.
Only regret is that there is no kettle or coffee machine in the rooms but that is probably the norm in Vegas

Room Tip: We opted for a view of the strip because it is so spectacular but obviously you hear the traffic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphcmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your review and for spending 5 days with us. We do offer coffee makers standard in the suites, however we can have them brought to a Deluxe Room upon request. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,077
    4,153
    2,119
    803
    506
See reviews for
1,936
4,675
601
1,653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Awesome place!!!!!! Awesome atmosphere!!!! My best hotel stay in Vegas yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Thank you for your review and I am thrilled you had such a great visit. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Had a good stay except for the issue with noise. We asked for a quiet room, and we got a room in the Paradise tower-which is right on the strip and not at all quiet. We asked for another "quiet" room and the gave us a room in the back tower. We got a room facing the strip and the views were great but much more quiet. A 5 minute walk, but it was worth the walk to get a quiet room.

Room Tip: get a room in the back tower facing the strip for a great view without the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize your first room was a bit too noisy for you but am happy you did enjoy your room in the club Tower. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Very nice hotel to stay and play at .We were lucky enough to win a trip to Vegas and stayed at the Tropicana in Las Vegas .The staff were great this hotel has just gone through a renovation and they did a great job .Staff great asked for a room change got it right away no problem .Lots of places in the hotel to spend your money nice pool area ,Fancy places to eat in the hotel but a little steep for me ,pizza was good .This hotel is on the Vegas strip and in the heart of Vegas .Try this place you just might enjoy your self city is 24 hours a day open .

Room Tip: We stayed in the Club tower could see the air port but not hear it could not hear the noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have stayed at the Tropicana twice this year. The first time was over New Years and then at the end of May for the opening of the Nikki Beach Club. The hotel/casino has been transformed, the rooms are brand new and the city view is tough to beat. The buffet at Nikki Beach café is reasonably priced with a good variety. Dinner at Biscayne provided good service and food at prices better than many of the other steak houses on the strip. Dinner at Bacio was also very good. What stood out the most about both trips was the service. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review and for your continued support. I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to your next visit. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel was recommended to us by very picky friends. It's bright, airy, spacious & clean (which is very important to me). The staff were cleaning constantly - rugs, floors, glass, slot machines, bathrooms, etc. It has a nice smell when you walk in. I found the atmosphere refreshing; most of the hotels are dark, smoky, and oppressive. Our room was very spacious with a nice view of the pool and strip. The pool is amazing! The staff was very friendly and attentive. One lady coming in off her break even ran back to open the door for us. We asked for more towels and they were delivered within 10 minutes. You never have to wait for an elevator. The restaurants are very nice. We stayed last year at one of the mega resorts mid-strip and our stay here was much nicer. Good job Tropicana; we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nexttrip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropLV, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I am happy you had such a great visit. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am happy you were able to experience that. Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our one week stay at the Tropicana was so mixed it's hard to give a rating, with the few excellent points countered by some very bad ones.
We were traveling to Vegas from the UK to celebrate our wedding anniversary, having married in Vegas five years earlier. We initially looked at the Cosmopolitan in January 2011 when the prices were still reasonable, but were put off by the early bad reviews. The Tropicana refurbishment was getting great reviews, and appeared to be offering an experience far above its price. Having stayed at the Mirage and Treasure Island on two previous visits, we decided to try The Tropicana for its south strip location. Tropicana prices were also lower in January 2011, especially when taking advantage of the 30% discount available on a Paradise suite at the time of booking. I specifically wanted a Paradise suite for the strip view and location at the front of the hotel.
I had some concerns after booking as the confirmation email only listed one room booked, not the type of room or cost. I called the hotel and a very friendly lady named Linda confirmed prices and that we had a Paradise suite booked, and also congratulated us for our anniversary that I mentioned in the booking notes.
Shortly before our stay I received a 50% off deal for the Cosmopolitan, matching the Tropicana price for a week stay, but as the Cosmopolitan still appeared to have service issues and the Tropicana was getting great reviews we stuck with our reservation.
On Arrival at the Tropicana at 2:30pm the check in staff worked for several minutes at her computer before disappearing into the back office. She returned after a few minutes and said she was very sorry, but there were no Paradise suites available. I asked if they could upgrade us to the next available suite, but was told there were no suites available. I explained that we were in Vegas for our wedding anniversary, from the UK, and our booking had been confirmed, and this was unacceptable. Off the Lady went again to the office, and returned to say there was nothing they could do about the room today, but we may be able to get a suite on Saturday or Sunday (check in was Thursday). The best the Tropicana could offer at that time was a $100 dining credit and a "mini suite" that was actually a Deluxe Plus room (I looked on the Tropicana web site) with a view of the airport. I asked why there were no suites available when we had booked in January 2011, and was given a rambling and confusing story that included a large booking by a gambling organisation, rooms undergoing repairs, high booking volumes and rooms allocated at check in. The impression we got was that we had been bumped from a Paradise suite as other customers who booked after us were more important. I was tempted to leave then and go elsewhere but my wife preferred to give the hotel a chance to sort our the room.
On Saturday there were still no rooms available, so my Wife's sister who had stayed for two nights spoke to the check in desk, then a manager, about our problem and her housekeeping issues (very dirty toilet from previous guest and rubbish left in room). She lives in LA and works as an event organiser, and seemed to have a lot more success than us. She explained to the manager she was disgusted that the hotel treated so badly when we were visiting for our anniversary, and intended to take the complaint much further on her return to LA. The manager became a lot more helpful, offering us a Spa suite on Sunday and 50% off our room until we got a suite. We were told to ask at midday when the suite should be available. We were still told by every staff we spoke to that we were already in a mini-suite, to which I pointed out it was a Deluxe plus room.
On Sunday we asked at midday if the suite was available, and were told it was not, and to return an hour later. We left the hotel and returned at 2:30pm, and the suite was still not available. I was asked to return to the check in desk at 3pm, when it was again not ready. This time the check in staff said I could just call down in 30 minutes, rather than have to keep returning to the check in desk. I called at 3:30, suite not ready, but this time I was told we would get a call to our room when the suite was available. We recieved the call just after 4pm, and then waited a few minutes for a bellman to help us with our cases.
The Spa Suite we were given was much better than Paradise suite we had booked, though there were a few issues with instructions for the Jacuzzi and other features being out of date and not matching the controls. The suite was also obviously intended for a short stay, as there were no draws to put clothing in.
The rest of the hotel was better than our room experience, with the renovations giving the hotel a brighter appearance than the dated gloomy decor we saw on previous visits. The pool area offered some very nice gardens, but the pool itself was so cold I only used it once.
Hotel restaurants were mostly good, the Biscayne steak house was excellent and Cafe Nikki had good food but some long waits for the empty tables.
At check out the $100 dining credit was not applied to our bill, so I had to ask the staff to read the notes on our booking to find mention of it. I also believe the 50% we were given off our room for three nights was either based on the current price of a Deluxe Plus room or not applied, as our final bill was $100 lower (the dining credit) than the original price from January 2011. We expressed how disappointed we were with our treatment when asked how our stay had been, but the staff had no interest of taking our complaints any further.
While I appreciate that the Spa Suite we were given half way through our stay was priced higher than what we had originally booked, our treatment by front desk staff was very poor. I would expect the booking problem that we experienced to be escalated to a Manager who would have dealt directly with us, not stay in the back office while the desk staff dealt with annoyed guests. We felt unwelcome at the Tropicana, and also annoyed that staff tried to continually tell us we were in a suite, as if this would make us stop bothering them.
During our previous Vegas stays at the Mirage and Treasure Island I had asked for an upgrade on arrival to a high floor strip view room. While not expected, both times the wonderful staff gave us the requested upgrade for free, even waiving the $30 a night charge at the Treasure Island. Treatment like that makes a guest feel welcome, and happy to return.
We would not return to the Tropicana, or recommend it to anyone we know. Having read glowing reviews from previous guests who received free upgrades or meals for their birthdays, we can only surmise that the Tropicana's new popularity has made them forget that every guest is important.

Room Tip: Call shortly before your stay to confirm your room type and price. Then keep your fingers crossed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paulhuntterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,235 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#40 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,575 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,681 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#79 of 262 in Las Vegas
8,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing