We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay at the Tropicana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #97 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay at the Tropicana”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

With all the choices in Vegas, I had a hard time balancing location and value when making my hotel choice. I attended a conference at Caesar's Palace, and I wanted to stay somewhere close by. But the prices for all mid-level hotels in that section of the Strip were too high, and Tropicana had both good rates and good reviews here on TripAdvisor. While it was a bit inconvenient ($9 taxi rides each way), I think I made a good choice.

Most of the Tropicana has been recently renovated, and it's updated and clean. My room, a "Deluxe" room, was more than adequate. Comfortable bed, large HDTV, quiet. I stayed in the closer Paradise Tower, which I highly recommend.

The casino was a good size, not as large as others I visited, but more than adequate. The dealers were friendly, and while I played some blackjack and slots, I'll leave the gambling reviews to those more experienced and qualified.

My one quibble with the Tropicana is its dining options. I traveled alone, and didn't have an interest in the more upscale hotel restaurants. They probably wouldn't have been my choice even if traveling with my wife. But in a moderate scale hotel like this, there should be a lot more casual dining choices. There's a Starbucks, a pizza/sandwich shop, and a yogurt store. This is a weakness the hotel really should have addressed in its remodeling.

Still, a good experience. The next trip to Vegas, I'll definitely give the Tropicana full consideration. Not a "wow," but still, quite good.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the Paradise Tower, you're right at the entrance and the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgc1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,018
    4,067
    2,066
    782
    490
See reviews for
1,892
4,577
590
1,623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,667)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milden, Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Tropicana for 4 nights in January and had a great time..We had stayed there previously in April and were so impressed we came back to stay again. Both times the service has been excellent, the rooms have been thoroughly renovated and look like brand new. Tropicana is a quieter smaller casino with lots of slot choices and unlike most casinos is very bright and airy. The pool area is second to none and even though it was too cool to enjoy it in January, we will be back to use it. We love the Tropicana and plan on returning within the next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Paradise Tower which is closer to the entrance of the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Newley renovated Paradise tower was Awesome. Check in was fast and the bed was so comfortable. All the common areas smelled like being at a beach and we had an extra daybed in our room. there is only 2 downsides no coffee maker and the resort fee. Other then that, No problems at all. Very nice room and big parking lot. would reccomend to everyone wihtout hesitation.

Room Tip: Paradise tower facing the strip.......Fantastic views of the excalibur, luxor and mandalay bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IdeasForDownload
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

When Hotwire said the hotel I was getting was four star, I was sure it was going to be Mandalay Bay. When I found out it was Tropicana, I thought to myself, "There is no way - that hotel has been there forever!" I've stayed at almost every hotel on the strip, but this was the first time at Tropicana and I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was large, clean and updated. They've remodeled every area of the hotel including the hallways. Parking was easy as well.

A smaller casino means you won't feel like you are doing a 5K to get outside or to the parking lot.

Overall, a great stay and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IdeasForDownload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was thoroughly pleased with our stay at The Tropicana. From the front desk staff to the wait staff at Club Nikki, everyone went out of their way to make our stay great. We even used a discount travel site to book our room, and that didn't affect how we were treated in any way negatively (which has happened at other establishments).

Thank you for a wonderful stay, Tropicana! We will be visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Designisgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We experienced a superb seven day stay at the Tropicana (30 Dec 2011 - 6 Jan 2012). We have visited Vegas many times but hadn't stayed at the Tropicana before. We found the hotel excellent - the refurbished room was superior to other properties in the same class that we have stayed at; hence we will be recommending the 'Trop' to friends and family.

The bedroom furniture/ bed/ TV etc were all new and provided a bright and airy environment. The bathroom appears to be part re-furbished, we found the shower-head a little low! From reading other reviews it sounds as though bathrooms are being worked on so when we return this won't be a problem.

We found the staff who we spoke to over the course of the week were a credit to the organisation - friendly, professional and very much wanting to help us enjoy our stay. This was noticeably different to some of the other properties that we have stayed at previously.

The daily resort fee includes wireless internet connection but we found the service intermittent. We needed to access emails on a daily basis and struggled on some occasions to get good connectivity. We also used the new gym (now located in Glow Spa and not as indicated in the room guide), all new machines and overlooking the pool area, a good environment for your workout.

Overall a super stay, we certainly plan to return and look forward to enjoying the Tropicana again.

Room Tip: Paradise Tower is nearer to the Strip. We stayed in Club Tower and didn't find the walk to the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Is-It-Ishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I just returned from a great January stay at the Tropicana. The hotel has been completely transformed. Everything is new. There is a new Starbucks in the casino. The rooms have been completely remodeled with a great tropical decor. The mattresses are new and the beds are comfortable. I have been stayed at the Tropicana numerous times and my room has always been very clean. The Trop is a great location on the Vegas strip too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deandrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#40 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#76 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,348 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing