We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not have room I reserved but Gwen made it better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #96 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Did not have room I reserved but Gwen made it better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Reserved two pool view balcony rooms months in advance but they were not available when we checked in. Gwen at the Hilton Honors counter went out of her way to let us see alternate selection. She upgraded us and comp'd us with basket of goodies. Tropicana is luckey to have such a wonderful representative. Their reservation system- not so good.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Ron G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us such wonderful feedback about a member of our staff! Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is our number one priority and we are pleased we were able to make you feel at home. Next time you are in town please feel free to reach out to us! Myexperience@Troplv.com- Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,987
    4,032
    2,038
    776
    481
See reviews for
1,876
4,535
586
1,605
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

No provision for coffee in the room, very disappointing. The lobby is too crowded and imposing with gambling machines and lives little room to relax or receive guests The restaurant experience at Bacio was was mediocre, lackluster food and not properly trained serving staff. The calamari was very greasy, not crispy and tasteless, unfortunate as had invited foreign guests to entertain at the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Harish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Harish S,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us, Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so in certain aspects of your visit. Upon request we do offer coffee makers to be delivered to your room, and we have two very convenient locations that serve Starbucks coffee. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Myexperience@troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I work with Mara Sacasas and Gavin Meaiffe through the Group Sales Department. They do a fantastic job with filling all your needs for a convention and making your stay at the Tropicana a great experience. If you are planning any trip to Las Vegas, I would recommend that you contact Mara in Group Sales.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Ed M,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us such wonderful feedback! We strive to delight our Guests with our service and I am thrilled to hear that our Group Sales Team went above to make your stay enjoyable! Please let us know when you'll be visiting us again! Myexperience@troplv.com –Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

First the bad....... I know requests are not guarenteed but I had asked for rooms close to the front of hotel and to an elevator as my mother is handicaped and cant walk well. Shes paralized on her left side. We were also traveling with a 6 year old child so its much easier close, Didnt get those rooms, instead at check in the cleark said rooms close together were not available and we should have arrived earlier to get those rooms.... How could we arrive earlier when our plae arrived at 8pm??? so we were put on two totally different floors. It was late as well 10pm and my son was so tired from traveling as we all were so we didnt make a huge fuss and just wanted to go to bed and deal with it in the morning. Well .....so we had a bellboy use a luggage cart to bring our bags and he started directing us to our room. So we kept walking..... and .....walking...... and...... walking....little did we know the clerk had put us in the farthest tower away. It was a full block away front he desk to get to our rooms. Look at the hotel map online and youll see how far. My mother had to stop 3 times to rest and my son was starting to complain about walking as Its 10pm and hes tired.. This was just so unaceptable as the clerk saw my mother walk to the desk. She SAW her walk but yet still put our rooms there. Finally after what seemed to be 20 mins we made it to our room.. Muy moms back was killing her. We were way too tired to deal with it then so to bed we went and i would go back to the desk in the morning...

So in the morning, we re-packed up our stuff and started the long trek down to the desk. (we knew there was no way we could stay that far away with my mother. She would
never be able to leave the room) What an extreme walk... What a terrible agent. I am so disapointed that she clearly saw and the bellboy and they valet parking for our rental car all saw my mother struggle and limp out of the car to the desk and still the agent ignored my request for close rooms to the front as per a medical condition.

So At the desk the manager saw us walk up. I said sorry we refues to stay all the way back there, my mother is handicapped and cant walk it. I told them how the desk clerk was the evening before.. well they immediatly moved our room to the front tower and put our rooms very close together and close to an elevator and apoligized. The manager saw my mom walk up to the desk then and was very very sorry. So all in all they fixed the problem after speaking to a manager but the desk clerks need to really care for there guest and look at what we require. I work the front desk at the Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel and Suites in West Kelowna BC Canada and that was just the rudest thing. I felt like I was a number on her list and not a person. It was just unaceptable. After being moved the wedding trip went well.

Another issue was the pool. The staff again were not very friendly and my son sat on a white couch or which an employee came up and he was told to move because it was reserved. Ok fine reserved... but we were there 1.5 hours and nobody ever went to go sit there and take there "reserved" couch. actually everything was "reserved" and the entire time we were there nobody sat in anything, only the slight few chairs left that were not reserved were taken. The pool was next to empty with people. Maybe allow guests to use the seats instead of making people pay for them.

Other than that, the hotel was ok, It was old but you could tell they were working really well at renovating. The pool was nice other than the seating issue. Everything was clean and hskp staff were the best. I liked being close to MGM and the excalibur. The tram was awesome to go to the luxor. Parking was free which was a plus.
Overall it was good but just felt the hotel didnt reallty care abouts guests as people. I wouldnt go again to that hotel. Theres much better on the strip.

Room Tip: ask for the tower closest to the road as the other tower is a block walk to the front lobby of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Stephanie D,

Thank you for leaving us a review and providing us with valuable feedback. I am so sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations and unfortunately you experienced some inconveniences as a result of inconsistencies with our service. We strive to show our appreciation for our Guests and I am disappointed to hear we failed to do so with you. I have shared your feedback with our teams to make immediate improvements. I hope you'll give us a chance to make it up to you next time you are in Las Vegas. Myexperience@troplv.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel room was quite nice and very reasonable. We had a king room on the 18th floor facing the Ex Caliber/Luxor/Mandalay Bay casinos and the night-time view was spectacular. The casino itself is a bit dated and is no where as nice or expansive compared to others on the strip. Furthermore, dining and lounge options are quite limited as well. Fortunately, the MGM Grand across the street has a monorail station within reasonable walking distance, and the monorail is definitely the best option for getting up and down the strip to other casinos.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Don W,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your hotel room. Our goal is to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed in some areas of your visit. We would love the chance to have you visit again next time you are in town! Myexperience@Troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great remodel! Spa and fitness center over looking the pool is great! Everyone is friendly and helpful. Planned my trip right through the Tropicana website, got the best price for airfare and hotel. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Jason M,

We appreciate the valuable feedback you provided us, our goal is to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! Please let us know when you will be visiting again! Myexperience@troplv.com - Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Tropicana Las Vegas. The room was in the Tower and it had 2 queen beds, a TV and of course a bath/shower. The beds were very comfortable and the room very spacious. We had a great view of Luxor. There was one hiccup, being short 1 towel. The bathroom didn't have a fan which I found odd.
The elevator worked for most of the time, but it was slow. On Saturday night one of the four elevators wasn't working properly and there was a long line, made even worse by its lack of speed.
The gaming area was very small compared to say Luxor. One of the dining options was the Beach Cafe, which was 24 hours, but the service was slow.
The pool was closed, as it will not be open until March.
Overall a nice place to stay, right in the middle of a lot of the casinos, right on the strip. It is known as more of a resort rather than a casino. For us the price and location was right.
The concierge was very helpful and recommended a bus tour as well as the infamous Vegas Rockstar VIP Tour.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and ask to face Luxor. The view is gorgeous at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYMoverNShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Service Excellence at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear NYMoverNShaker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the rooms and that the beds were comfortable! We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your entire expectations for the hotel. Your feedback is very important in helping us to improve in every way possible. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to contact me directly. We hope to see you again! Myexperience@Troplv.com – Shelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#97 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#39 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#77 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,268 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#40 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be surprised. The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. With a unique South Beach vibe after a $200 million complete transformation, the hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants, a new race and sports book, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing