We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but longggg walk to the foyer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #97 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a USA road trip and this is a very nice hotel with a great pool area. The rooms are clean and tidy but the traffic noise is a bit of a pain. We didnt eat here so I cant review the food but the bar was very expensive, although drinks are free if you're playing the casino. The walk from the tower we were in to the foyer was a good five minutes which seems like miles after a long day walking around the Strip. If you can, stay in the Paradise Tower which is right above the foyer. We were offered one room in the Paradise as a free upgrade but as we needed 3 rooms for our family, that wasnt much use.
There is a free car parking concierge service which was nice.

Room Tip: Paradise Tower for close proximity to foyer and casino. As high as possible to escape traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dferdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,893 - 4,899 of 11,959 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Tropicana for 4 nights April 28-May 2nd. We arrived by Taxi after staying at the Mirage for a few nights. Very different feel between the Trop and Mirage. Both have great locations on the strip. We preferred the atmosphere at The Tropicana. The average age of the people staying were more mature and it was quieter than our stay at the Mirage.

We stayed in room 1811 in The Paradise Tower which I thought was a wonderful location. You are very close to everything staying in the Paradise Tower.

The pool was only half opened, not sure why. Music in the pool area was a nice touch and love the tropical feel. Service was good. Drinks were a bit expensive but good. I think you should be able to bring your own snacks and beverages.

Front desk staff were pleasant but the wait time is a real negative. I don't understand why only a couple of people are staffed during major check in / check out times? This is our biggest complaint.

My husband was there for the wptapl tournament which is why we chose the Tropicana and I'm glad we did. It was a very nice stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Paradise tower for the location to all of the amenities and the strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Springtime38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

maybe its the vegas pricing but at 150/night after conference discounts, I had hoped for a spectacular room. ours over looked the parking lot and planes etc. the room itself wasn't very big or amazing. it was clean and above average but had nothing which I would call worth the full price charged usually. the hallways were nice and gaming area was new and brightly lit which was nicer than some of the others. food was very nice though. loved the breakfast 4 days in a row.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We spent 3 nights, it was our first trip to Vegas so when booking didn't known where was best for us. Having now spent time there and seeing and visiting many other hotels I thought Tropicana was just ok and would probably choose another next time.
The location is handy for New York and MGM but it's a bit of a mission to visit casinos further up the strip. The general decor and feel of the casino and public areas were not as nice as others visited. It is quite limited on restraunts and attractions. Our room felt tired especially the bathroom which had dodgy plumbing and electrics.
On the plus side the pool was great and the price of the room booking was very competitive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were at Tropicana for 5 days and the fine dining was exceptional! The service and food was excellent. The appearance of our hotel room was lacking and so was the service for picking up room service trash. We ordered room service and the trash remained outside our room from Monday to Wednesday and only getting picked up after multiple complaints. Our hall was this way all week. Multiple rooms with the same trash in the hall for days. Other than the lack of attention to the appearance the week was very nice and would go back for relaxation and fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tropicana for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. The property is newly remodeled and the staff were all nice. See below for my detailed review.

Location:
The Trop is located at the end of the south part of the Strip, across the street from MGM, Excalibur, and New York New York. The Trop is linked to these hotels via over the street walkways, which makes going between these properties simple. The location is a long walk from the northern end of the strip, but we did not ahve any issues with that. There is a stop for the SDX (limited stop bus) to take you to most major points on the strip or down town as well as the Deuce for almost every stop on the Strip.

Property:
Overall the property looks great. Everything seemed to be in good repair and the property was nice and airy with a light theme that makes everything seem light, which is a nice change from most of the hotels on the strip. The theme is loosely Cuba based, but that is not really played up any longer.

Check in:
Check in was a breeze as I signed up for Hilton Honors ahead of time. If you are a HH member you can jump to a special line and skip the general check in line. HH membership is free, so sign up online ahead if you are already not a member. The check in line for other guests was quite long at 2:00pm.

Restaurants:
Limited selection compared to other resorts, but we did not have any issues. We ate at the on property Starbucks and the main dining room for breakfast.

Gaming:
Nice casino, a bit small compared to the newer properties. The most unique game is the double ball roulette, that is a fun game that would warrant a trip to this casino just to play - if you are a fan of roulette.

Rooms:
Nicely decorated with King bed, desk, chair, lounge, and a comfortable bathroom. We were on the fifth floor looking towards the MGM. It was a little loud until about 11:30PM, but this is Las Vegas, so it did not matter. The rooms feature shutters, so light is not an issue at all.

Overall we really liked this property. It is a great alternative to the more expensive resorts and the remodel looks great. I would absolutely stay here again. The staff were friendly, the rooms were spotless, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was the third time I stayed at the renovated Tropicana and for the third time, I was not disappointed. We experienced friendly, accommodating staff in every amenity we tried (Checking-in staff, the Beach Cafe, ChillM Bar, slots!). The rooms are clean, towels are readily available when requested, & you do not feel pushed out by the cleaning staff. We also the location of the hotel - connects to both Excalibur and MGM. Easy access to continue the fun down the Strip! I would definitely come back to this location for future Vegas getaways. Thanks for the fun memories, Trop!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rayann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,800 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,770 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,744 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £53 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. The hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants; including Robert Irvine's Public House which opened in 2017, Oakville Steakhouse a Napa Inspired Steakhouse, and Bacio Italian Cuisine. Other amenities include an award winning pool surrounded by palm trees, lush landscaping and flowing waterfalls, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes David Goldrake Imaginarium, Rich Little, our Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing