We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive hotel with simple rooms, adequate service, and a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #98 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arriving late at night to Las Vegas, my girlfriend and I spent a night at the Tropicana to rest before heading up north towards Zion and Bryce National Park.

Overall, the Tropicana was a perfectly comfortable place to spend the night with newly refreshed rooms, adequate service, and a good location. Compared to some of the other properties along the strip, neither the amenities, general facilities, or casino stood out as being exceptional but given the price, I was happy to overlook this as I was simply looking for a place to spend the night.

The hotel is a short ten minute drive from the rental car center at McCarren Airport and features complimentary self-parking. The walk from the parking lot to the hotel was longer than expected, but arriving in the lobby I was pleasantly surprised by the south-beach like appearance and general positive upkeep. While there was a long queue to check-in, there was a short priority line for Hilton HHonors guests and it took just a few minutes before we were good to go. We were given a small upgrade to a corner room in the club tower which required crossing the casino floor, walking between the towers, and then heading up to the club rooms ... good for my Fitbit but less so for those with luggage.

The room itself was basic but clean, with several windows looking partially out to the strip but mostly across the parking lot to the nearby Hooters casino. The decor was beach-like, with shutters on the window that made it somewhat difficult to block out all of the light, but overall the room had plenty of space and was comfortable. The only disappointing aspects of the room were the slightly lumpy pillows and the lack of any bottled water in the room (even to purchase).

For those with Hilton Gold or Diamond status, complimentary breakfast is found at the small cafe located near the casino. A small selection of simple breakfast items were available to order although the whole experience of waiting in a long line and ordering off of a limited menu felt a bit tasteless and cheap ... which in many ways summed up the breakfast itself.

Checkout was a miss, with long queues everywhere. An express check-out box was on the wall so I gave it a go, but would have expected a receipt slipped under the door.

All-in-all, the Tropicana is a fine choice if you're looking for an inexpensive place to spend the night that is directly located on the strip. It was nice being able to check-in and take a short walk to see the nearby casinos but compared to the tall modern towers of the Aria, Cosmopolitan, or Wynn, even with a rebranding the Tropicana feels dated and almost out-of-place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,882)
There are newer reviews for Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,575 - 4,581 of 11,882 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of Nevada/Utah/Arizona and California we had taken up the upgrade option to the Tropicana and so glad we did cannot fault it . The rooms were large, bright and very clean. Free wifi helped. We ate dinner and breakfast in the Beach Club restaurant, the quality of which was excellent. Breakfast buffet was first class with a choice of sausage, bacon, eggs, potatoes, tomatoes really a good choice of cereals, pastries hot and cold choices. Having had such a good breakfast we needed nothing else until dinner that evening. Dinner was also very good cannot fault it at all would recommend to anyone.
If returning to Las Vegas would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Nickel and Dimed.. Not even one cookie per night.. $20 "resort" fee INCLUDES internet BUT the fine print is only 1 MB per day... How many people can equate 1 Mb into number of emails... Las Vegas, the town that never sleeps but DoubleTree closes the hot tub and pool at 9:30.... Good news is that the air conditioner worked when it was 113 outside. Survey categories are biased, why not a category between Average and VERY Good (Good???)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a resort the Tropicana may be ok, but as a Doubletree hotel it falls far short of my expectations. We arrived at 8 PM and my room was not ready. I had to wait an hour because they didn't have enough housekeeping staff according the woman at the registration desk. The desk chair is not adjustable and is at the wrong height for working at the desk. The TV is virtually unwatchable because of the intermittent digital signal. Even the internal Tropicana channels are broken up. The lack of staff apparently extends to the Beach Café where I chose to wait for my room to be prepared. It took a long time to be served and our order was incomplete when it was initially delivered. It took another 5 minutes for someone to bring the dressing that went with our meal. Throughout the week little things occurred that annoyed me. There's no phone within reach of the desk. I got a message that said I had a text message and I needed to call the front desk to retrieve. I pushed the front desk button and listened to 5 options, none of which had anything to do with retrieving a text message. So I chose to retrieve it by pushing the button for billing. It worked but not very intuitive. I was expecting a FedEx delivery. On Sunday I asked about picking up a package. I was told at the front desk that the Business Center would open at 7 AM on Monday. It turns out that was incorrect - they open at 8 AM. I returned to pick up my package which had been delivered to the hotel at 12:45. The Business Center was not staffed. I called the number on the placard that had been placed on the counter. It went to voicemail. I called the front desk. They said they would send someone right up. Twenty minutes later I called the extension on the placard. It was answered by a woman in catering. She said she would be right up. Shortly thereafter some guy showed up and I finally got my package. How can a Business Center that is only open from 8 - 5 be unstaffed for 45+ minutes in the middle of the day? My stay concluded the way it began - with disappointment. I had a telecon scheduled for 11 AM on the day I departed. I checked out before that and tried to connect with hotel wireless from Starbucks but neither my wife nor I could successfully connect to the internet. I chose the Tropicana because it was a Doubletree and my wife is a Mamma Mia! fanatic. We've seen Mamma Mia! Getting Hilton points will not be enough to make me want to return on my next business trip to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trop L, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear James B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. We truly apologize for any shortfall in our service, particularly while trying to retrieve your package. Although we strive to provide exceptional service to our guests, your feedback helps us see where we have room for improvement. Please feel free to reach out to us directly to further discuss the details of your stay. GuestRelations@TropLV.com
- Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed at several Hilton hotels and this was, by far, the least favorite. Though they have boasted of $200 Million of updates, the hotel still has the feel of one built in the 1950s. One colleague found a blood stained hand on his comforter. I found lipstick stains on my vanity. Bathroom decor and overall cleanliness was fair. Not one I would choose to stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked a cabana room with balcony overlooking the pool. Room 5350 at the end of the hall. Great pool view, very quiet, comfortable bed. Had a great nights sleep each night. The room was clean and neat. The Hilton Diamond Check In went very fast and efficient. I booked the summer splash package and although I did not receive the reserved seating poolside I was able to find a spot for plenty of sun. The pool area is great, the palm trees, grass and pool area are well taken care of. The bar staff on Friday morning was one person so it took a while to get a drink. Be ready to wave down a barmaid if your not at pool side. Overall a very nice pool area. The DJ, music and atmosphere are fun.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room during the summer stay in the cabana rooms. My room was very quiet and I s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you're on a budget and the amenities aren't huge on your list you should look into the Tropicana. It's conveniently located across from MGM where you can catch the tram which I highly recommend using. As soon as you walked in the entrance you were greeted with a stale cigarette smell due to the casino being so close to the door. We stayed on the strip side. The room was nice however it smelled like moth balls upon entering each time. The only noise we heard were the emergency sirens every 10 minutes. The 1 thing I did not like about the room was they only had shutters to close the windows, so early in the morning the sun seeped through making it hard to sleep. We went to the pool once during our stay with no complaints about it. The casino is quite small and nothing was won from it unlike the others. The hotel is located next to Hooters and a quick walk to Coco's which is a great place for breakfast in the morning on a budget! All in all this was a good choice for us. If we returned to Vegas, I would consider staying at the Tropicana again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#101 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,638 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,677 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#51 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#50 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#74 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £51 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. The hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants; including Robert Irvine's Public House which opened in 2017, Oakville Steakhouse a Napa Inspired Steakhouse, and Bacio Italian Cuisine. Other amenities include an award winning pool surrounded by palm trees, lush landscaping and flowing waterfalls, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes David Goldrake Imaginarium, Rich Little, our Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing