We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
Ranked #42 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and myself went to Las Vegas 3 years ago and stayed at The Venetian. This time we opted for The Mirage- what a dsiappointment. Absolutley no comparison, from the customer service, size of room, we were really disapointed. Our stay was for 5 days. It started with the member of staff checking us in. We were informed they had mixed up my surname and Christian name, and it thereofre appeared we were not booked in, she was just totally unhelpful. I remarked afterwards to my husband that if I took that attitude with customers I would expect to be out of a job. This was reflected throughout the whole hotel and clearly the staff need sessions in customer service.

The fridge in the small king size room was locked throughout our stay- 4 requests to various staff to open it failed, in the end we gave up and bought a polystirene box from Walgreen for $4 - a cheaper and easier option. We could not access the Wi Fi for our lap top, again 4 requstes for help ended in a blank wall, so we gave up.

Our two attempts for a sun lounger by the pool were absolute none starters, with queues formed with people waiting for vacated ones...

On the positive side the rooms were kept clean.

Sadly not a hit and definately not to be recommended, with so much competion, The Mirage needs to up its game.

Room Tip: We were charged an extra $10 plus tax per night for a king size room overlooking the strip, which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMirageHotel, Social Media Specialist at The Mirage Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We are really sorry for all the poor experiences you had while you were visiting with us. We are at least proud of the fact that after all was said and done, you had a beautifully cleaned room to retreat to. As for everything else you experienced, please know that they fell very far short of our expectations, as well as your own. We have shared your feedback with the leadership of each of those areas and can assure you that steps will be taken to improve the items you listed for future guests. We hope that you visit Las Vegas again in the future and that your experience does not prevent you from giving us one more chance to make this right. If you choose to stay elsewhere, we wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us so we can improve the way we do things here at The Mirage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,452
    5,943
    2,009
    658
    353
See reviews for
3,579
7,263
520
1,871
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was actually a little disappointed with this hotel. I was expecting something a little bit more high-class, but instead felt like they cut corners. My experience started out poorly at check-in, which is the longest check-in I have ever experienced- anywhere. The room itself was ok (although one of the main lamp's bulb was out); the bathroom was very small and very unimpressive. The lighting around the mirror came on at different times, as if it were burning out. Small things, but really damper the experience as a whole. The internet was terrible, even just trying to check email, which is inexcusable considering you're charged extra daily for it. I would recommend bringing grab-and-go foods with you when you want something fast to eat, as it is very difficult to get quick food at or around the hotel (this is probably true at most of the hotels). There is a McDonald's across the street, but the distance to the closest crosswalk makes it worthless. I would recommend choosing a hotel as if it is a resort where you will spend most of your time. It takes a lot of time to get anywhere, even just to get from your room, through the casino, to the strip. The shape of the hotel is a disadvantage because if you are on the far end of one of the three arms of the hotel, you have a long walk to the elevator- not convenient for running back up to the room to grab something. The pool is well set-up, although it does get very busy. My husband and I opted to rent a car for the day to drive to Hoover dam, and there was a car rental at the check-in desk, which made things amazingly convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMirageHotel, Social Media Specialist at The Mirage Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We are so happy that you chose The Mirage to visit on your first trip to Las Vegas. I hope that after your experience, it won’t be your last visit with us. First off, we are sorry that you had some of the experiences you did. We totally understand that your expectations were not met on your first trip and we want to assure you that our expectations for your trip were not met either. Please be assured that your feedback was forwarded to the appropriate leadership to ensure these experiences are not passed on to other Mirage guests. We are just really sorry they happened to you. We will also let Avis know that having them as part of our front desk, it facilitated a great drive out to the Hoover Dam and from the sound of it, an enjoyable time. Thanks for your honesty and we hope to see you again soon – check in on us to see if we made right everything that went wrong with your first trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

It's not flashy or new, but The Mirage is a solid mid-Strip value. It's generally much cheaper per night than Bellagio, but the recently revamped rooms are arguably just as nice...why pay for the name when you can get the same thing for less?

I stayed in a Tower Deluxe room for a week while attending a trade show. The Tower Deluxe rooms are largely identical to the standard rooms, but are located on higher floors (24th and 25th) and feature dual vanities and a separate jetted tub and shower (both upgrades from base rooms). I found the room to be modern and stylish without being over-the-top, and form never won out over function....I especially appreciated the his-and-hers closets flanking the bed. The bed was very comfortable, and noise wasn't generally an issue....although thicker doors would be appreciated.

The only truly annoying thing about the room was the shower nozzle itself, which must have been set permanently on "water saver" mode, since the aerated stream it shot at your body felt like tiny needles. Very painful.

As with most Vegas hotel-casinos, the walk from the Strip to your room is somewhat daunting, and is characterized by unnecessary twists and turns designed to provide maximum exposure to the gaming area. But while you're down there, a burger from BLT Burger never disappoints (nor does the eye-widening Krispy Kreme bread pudding), or you can always opt for the value option of a massive corned beef or pastrami sandwich at Carnegie Deli (shared, of course).

Checkin and checkout were both quick and painless.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank benzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and would not go anywhere else. It is just the right size, not too big, or that small, in a prime location on the strip with an amazing lagoon pool unlike any other. The rooms are modern and there are plenty of lovely places to eat. The wildlife habitat so houses dolphins which are fascinating to watch.
Overall an amazing resort, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vianneamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed there in March for 6 nights, amazing wiev from the 24th floor ocer the Strip in 2 directions. Lots of good places to eat and surprisingly kid friendly (pool & the Habitat) Location on the Strip is outstanding) Would love to stay ther again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeemuToi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were in a premier view room. Very clean tidy and spacious room with two queen size beds. Very good location, right next to Caesars Palace, the Venetian etc. and the Fashion Show Mall. Went to the Beatles love show - Cirque du Soleil, couldn't recommend this enough, it was amazing!

the volcano show outside is awesome to watch too. nice pool area but drinks were fairly expensive. check in wasn't too long, not as long as queues I had seen in other hotels, such as the Flamingo.

possibly less choice of food restaurants than other hotels. BUT BB Kings Blues bar was so good we went there twice! amazing live music and tasty food.

nice little free tram to the Treasure Island to save ur feet a little bit!

overall I am definitely planning to return to Las Vegas, probably to Mirage again as its great value for money, or to The Venetian which looks amazing too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This truly is a nice hotel, however, when compared to some of the other, newer properties, it really is pretty 'average'. The standard rooms are on the small side and pretty sparse. One huge irritation is the doors. They are way too thin and slam very hard. Made me feel like I was sleeping in the hallway. Oddly, the windows in the rooms open outwards at an angle, just a little. There's not a lot of fresh air in Vegas, and opening the window basically lets in the stink of the strip. The Mirage was one of the first 'mega resorts' in Las Vegas. Now, it's been truly overshadowed by the much larger resorts popping up all around it. Honestly, they need a serious remodel and their customer service totally lacks. It's not that this is a bad place, by any means, but it no longer competes on the same level as the newer places. A little attention to detail, would go a long way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMirageHotel, Social Media Specialist at The Mirage Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for the feedback about your visit. I am sorry for your recent experience with us. You have identified that after opening 23 years ago as the World’s First Mega-Resort, there have been a bunch of mega-resorts that have been built around us. That is no excuse for the customer service shortfalls you experienced or some of the other environmental issues you shared. We wanted to let you know that your feedback is being shared with our leadership at The Mirage to ensure to the best of our ability, these experiences are not shared by others. I hope that you choose to visit with us again to give us a chance to make this right but if not, at least know that you played a role in contributing to the prevention of this experience for our future guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Caesars Palace
Caesars Palace
#39 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24,620 reviews
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mirage Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mirage Hotel & Casino

Property: The Mirage Hotel & Casino
Address: 3400 Las Vegas Blvd. S., Las Vegas, NV 89109-8923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mirage Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 3044
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the exotic - a world tantalizing to the imagination and the senses. The rooms are enticingly transformed. The villas and lanais are exclusive and private. The AAA Four Diamond service is excellent. Dining is sumptuous. The nightlife, dazzling. Experience the Grammy® Award-winning Cirque du Soleil® production of The Beatles™ LOVE™ and laugh with Terry Fator and His Cast of Thousands. Discover our Secret Garden and royal white tigers. Enter our Dolphin Habitat to meet Atlantic bottlenose dolphins. Feel the night heat up as you move between thrilling hot spots. Our enviable center-Strip location makes us an ideal spot to stay and play. The first. The best. The undisputed hottest rooms on the Strip. The Mirage. Vegas Starts Here™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MGM Resorts International, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Destinology, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mirage Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mirage Hotel Las Vegas
The Mirage Hotel And Casino
Mirage Hotel Las Vegas
Mirage Las Vegas
Hotel Las Mirage Vegas
The Mirage Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing