We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lip stick on a pig”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Casino
Ranked #110 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lip stick on a pig”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Very disappointed with the reopening of the hotel/casino. We are locals and decided to give the place a try. Upon arriving we found the exterior of the building filthy, the parking garage was filthy, the elevators from the garage to the hotel were filthy and the interior doors to the elevator all scratched up with graffiti. We waited over a half an hour in a line of two to get our room. Finally getting our key we spent the next 5 minuts looking for the elevator to get to the room in the south tower. The hotel elevator was old and the doors were scratched up like the garage elevator. When we got to our floor, the emergency exit sign was busted, the no smoking sign on our door had been pried off. The door squeaked terrible upon entering the remodeled room. The room looked really nice considering. There was a smell to the room that was almost unbearable. like the cleaning staff had dumped gallons of febreeze in it.. The light on the nightstand had no switch so we had to get out of bed, walk across the room to tun off the light and hope we didn't run into something on the way back to bed. There are too many things to write more negative comments on. It's really sad that the owners didn't take a little more time to complete the work properly before reopening the Plaza. As locals we try to support local business but this is one place we won't be returning to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank earle1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    1,481
    944
    475
    440
See reviews for
984
1,547
421
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

They are still actively working on the refurb here at the Plaza. If, and when, they finish the work this could be an outstanding property. The work that has been completed is beautiful. I'd say about 95% of my room was completed but what hasn't been done really detracts from what has been. They have this beautiful furniture, carpet, tile, and other fixtures from the never opened Fontainebleau installed next to crummy & dirty old peeling doors & fixtures. They had two nice new lamps on the night stands but it looks like they were designed to work on an outlet that is controlled by a light switch so there is no control on the lamp. The only way to turn it on and off is to use the plug. The other lamp didn't have an outlet anywhere near it. The elevators are still pretty funky including a great number of burned out floor indicators. If you can get a room cheaper than the Golden Nugget then it might be worth your while just recognize it is a bit of a construction zone still. I was on the 9th floor in the North Tower and the AC unit was a nice loud white noise generator. Another item not refurb'd. I agree with other reviews that that the parking lot is a bit sketchy. I think the fact it is over the Greyhound Bus station for LV isn't a big plus.

Room Tip: North Tower odd # rooms are on the back which is quieter. The lower even numbers front on the Fremon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHCG-JEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I had really high hopes for the Plaza. We booked one night (09/24) because the strip was way overpriced because of a concert. The parking lot/garage is sketchy. As we walked in through the casino I was reminded of why I hated the plaza on our first trip to Vegas. Low ceilings and the worst ventilation ever. We finally made it to the check in desk. While we were the only people in line we stood there for ten minutes while the three reservations people tried to figure out the computer. We were given a room in the south tower and off we went.

Oh boy, let me start by saying I really had high hopes.

This hotel is not finished. Exposed ductwork, holes in the walls, and blue painters tape was everywhere. The doors are original and they are gross. There was mold on the bathroom door. The hallway door had to be kicked at the bottom to close. There are no comforters on the bed. The lights do not work. The worst part was the stink in the room. I could only describe it as must and mold. When I woke up my eyes were super swollen.

My advice, if you are going to stay downtown, stay at the Golden Nugget. This place is a pig, and no amount of lipstick will change it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridget1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We just got home from our stay at the Plaza. I could not believe how GREAT this place looks after the remodel. BEAUTIFUL all the way!!! FIRST CLASS and as nice as the Golden Nugget.. Service was GREAT and you can tell that all of the long term employees that were called back are very proud of this casino and it shows. The new night club with the dualing pianos is AWSOME!!!! Just had a BLAST at the Plaza.. GREAT Place!!!! Glad to see one of the true LEGENDS In Vegas SURVIVE again....

Room Tip: All the "NEW" rooms are GREAT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JIMEVANS633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed at the Plaza in late August. Obviously the place is being renovated.

I've never stayed there before (although I stayed at the Golden Nugget before their renovation).

All in all it's a great downtown hotel. We (a friend and I, both male, early 30s) basically used it as a place to sleep, and a home base between the strip and downtown. Located right across from Fremont St., you can't beat the location.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants (save a Subway late one night - I think).

We had a two queen bed room facing Fremont Street. Big and spacious (for downtown), although the bathroom was pretty small (vanity was outside in the shared area).

The only downside was the ice machines had not been installed yet, so if you wanted a bucket of ice you had to go down to the casino bar. A hiccup, but obviously they will eventually put ice machines in.

One the plus side, all of the staff was super friendly, and we even went into the future steakhouse and took some shots and sneakpeaks of the view and renovation in there.

The casino was more lively than most downtown. Probably because it's 'new.' Never had a problem getting a cocktail. Just tip a buck or so each time, and she'll keep coming back, everyone is happy!

In the future, if I stay downtown, I'll stay here over the GN. The GN's casino is WAY too big and spacious. It was a chore walking through to get to any attraction/restaurant. Might as well stay at the MGM Grand.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallastexas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Tried to check in and they had no record of my reservation which was made through a third party. After getting the company on the phone I gave the receiver to the front desk supervisor who immediately began to argue with and berate the csr on the other end of the phone and abruptly put that person on hold. This after me spending 30 minutes getting that person on the phone live. Of course he hung up. Went through the process again and in thirty minutes I had my reservation finally recognized by the hotel. I complained about this unnecessary delay to the manager Traci who was as belligerent as an African Hippo trying to protect its section of the river to which she promptly replied with a threat to remove me from the hotel. I just let it go considering it was after one am but was very peeved. Have never been treated that poorly ever by anyone at a place of business. Got to my room and behold the lamps have no on switch. The service guy who came to my room stated you have to plug in the lamps by hand and unplug them by hand to turn them on and off. Very logical. Anyway the reservation is cheap but the rooms suck and the service is worse so consider you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Plaza, the newly redone Plaza Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. Let me start by saying, this place has enormous potential. Here's the reality for now....the bellmen, the maids, the casino workers are all very nice and I am sure really grateful to have a job in this rotton economy. The from desk workers don't seem to be quite so happy, they aren't rude but do not seem interested in what you may have to say, they are probably tired of hearing it because this place was not really ready to be opened. We were on the 5th floor, perfect view of Fremont Street, we literally could see all the way down the street and under the roof. Birdseye! When going to the room, we got off the elevator and there was a very peculiar smell, sour, whatever it was. We walked to the room but got confused, not all the rooms had their numbers on them, or they were missing numbers so when we got to ours I guess it should have been an omen that the only number left was 0!!! We had to ask a maid to be sure we were going into the right room. When we got in, yikes, non-smoking floor, but it really smelled like smoke, heavily. Oh well, it was for just one nite. The pics on the website show these gorgeous rooms, we didn't get all that gorgeousness in ours but the furnishings were very adequate, I just wish there had been some art on the walls and that we had a nice bedspread on the bed. I will say, the bed was very comfortable, better than the Aria. Good firm mattress, like I like. When we got back up to the room about 12.30, oh the loud music from a concert on Fremont St. We did get to sleep, don't know how, but when I woke up at 1.30 am, it was still going! Got back to sleep though and left mid-morning for the next 2 days at the Aria. Like I started out with this review, this place has so much potential and I will try it out again. The gambling was great, those machines at the Plaza were very loose and they gave me spending money for the rest of my trip. Maybe that's why it wasn't so bad.......

Room Tip: choose one away from Fremont St on the weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discoq01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#127 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#94 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Property: Plaza Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 S Main St, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101-6370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing