We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room renovations don't mask the bad condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Casino
Ranked #110 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Honolulu
Level Contributor
213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“room renovations don't mask the bad condition”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed because I received a free room and had not stayed downtown for a number of years. I normally stay on the Strip, so I needed to downgrade my expectations. Stayed on 2 separate trips in the south tower. The rooms were indeed renovated, so the beds were nice - flat screen TV small but OK. Walls still seemed a bit thin because I could hear a couple arguing next door, and a guy snoring on the other side. Please note that they do not give you blankets, so you need to call the front desk and wait 30 minutes for housekeeping to give you a lame excuse for a bed comforter. The room a/c unit seemed noisy, as was the bathroom fan. Drains were slow. Now that is the good. The parking lot is filthy and a bit scary, as the hotel parking lot is next to the greyhound terminal. The parking lot elevators were not working the first night I checked in late. The front desk is on the complete opposite end of the casino from the parking lot, so I learned the second time to check in first, then only lug my luggage from the parking lot to the nearby south tower. The casino always seemed like a ghost town on a Tuesday and on a separate Sunday night. There is a security desk near the elevators that you need to show your card key to access the elevator but it was never manned. Besides the renovated room, the only upside was the 24 hour McDonald's and 24 hour subways. Heard that Hash a go go and the pizza stand are pretty decent.

Room Tip: The south tower is the most convenient to the parking lot and the rooms in that tower were definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know what we could do to make our property better for our guests. We have heard your request for better comforters and we are working on getting better, thicker ones for our guests, we have also ramped up security, and are going to be doing some improvements to the parking garage. The elevators have been an issue but, we are working closely with our elevator repair company to iron out all the kinks with them. We sure hope you'll come back and give the Plaza another chance. We are always working on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    1,482
    946
    475
    440
See reviews for
985
1,547
421
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have stayed at the Plaza twice in the past year, and we enjoy it more each time. The new renovations are very nice, and the rates are good. The on site restaurants are fantastic - The Hash House (5 star) should NOT be missed!!!!! The negative reviews do not seem to be from the same hotel we enjoy.............. the staff is pleasant and helpful, and the Casino is a lot of fun! The beds are fantastic!!! There are certainly many more expensive hotels on the strip, but if you enjoy Freemont street and the true Vegas experience - this is the place to stay - clean, affordable and great service.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Fremont Street - the lights at night are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you Karen for such a nice review! We agree, Hash House is awesome! We hope you will be back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The homeless hang out here, in the "gym" (which consists of one treadmill, and two ellipticals, one which was broken and some weights), the front lobby they sleep, sit in the area for morning coffee from McDonalds, and roam the elevators - because no one is sitting at the elevator to check keys. My first room the TV only received 6 channels, when I called I was told to not to expect channels I would normally get at home. Please do not assume I get Direct TV at home, and also please do not assume that I watch Foxnews (which was the only news channel that tv received - the others were info-mercials) I was furious and emailed management, who right away called me asking what they could do to rectify this. I REALLY did not want to switch rooms, such a hassle to repack then unpack - but I agreed. However, my new room wasn't ready before 11am so we left and had to switch when we returned at night. Do not bother calling the front desk, you'll be put on hold for 20 minutes until an operator answers just to put you on hold again. Usually I stay on the strip when I come to Vegas, and thought this time would be fun to stay on Fremont - and at the newly renovated Plaza Hotel! I'm always one to support new growth, and trying to re-identify. My stay was pure torture, and I am beyond elated to have checked out, and head home. Last night I even called for new towels, and some k-cups, it took over an hour for them to be brought up (after I sat on hold again for 20 minutes), and since we still are on east coast time we were in bed when the guy knocked. So it took me a little longer to answer the door, my fault. But when I thank you for the stuff, acknowledge that, and say you're welcome - don't just shove it in my hands, drop a k-cup, and take off. I am not sure why this is just snowballing unto us. We travel a lot, I travel personally a lot, and the service was terrible. No words can express my sincere disappointment. Then, while we are checking out we're hit with resort fees - 2 separate ones for each day.

Also, do not, I repeat do not go to the Exposure Salon for any kind of hair treatment, or any treatment at all, On the day of our wedding (yes, we got married in Vegas during this horrible time) my wife got her hair and makeup done. The stylist ran late, and we were told it would take an hour and half, it took two and a half hours - we were late for the ceremony, missed our ride from our friends who wanted to see our ceremony but had to get home to LA. We also had to take a $40 taxi ride because the ride had to go. My wifes eyelash extensions fell off before she even made it to the room (I have a time stamped photo of the eye lashes in my hands). When called to say she wanted her money back because her hair and makeup were not complete but we HAD TO GET TO OUR WEDDING - they told her too bad, she seemed happy. Hello, did you expect her to just leave at not pay? The manager there - Matt - told me he was "choosing his words very carefully when speaking to me, and that he stood by their work" He also said "Listen, sir" surely not a way to address a customer - and he wouldn't give me his managers name, and told me to contact hotel management for that.

I PLEAD with you, stay far, far away from this place!! You will be treated as a nuisance and lesser human being. Spend the extra $3 a night and stay at the Golden Nugget, or the D, which appears at the time of writing this review is $11 a night?! Crazy, and so much nicer. I've reached out to Plaza management, and it has been 12 hours and still no response regarding this terrible experience. If I do hear from them, I would be happy to post their response. But as of right now, they don't care - they took my money, and abused me in the process.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi Lee, thank you for your post. We are working diligently on remedying many of the issues you had on your stay. We are ramping up security, and We will be forwarding your review to the salon. We appreciate your insight so we can do what we can to improve our guests experiences. We do hope you will reconsider and give us a chance to make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

There are better places to stay and gamble downtown. The only real reason to go to the plaza is if you are signing up for the players card for the first time and get the $100 rebate or if you are going to the Hash House A Go Go. Despite the renos the hotel still appears to be worn out. The room was very basic and you can get better down the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

looks, location aside, this is the bomb!
Within a stroll of the newest vegas happenings!
Second time at the smoke filled casino hotel, that said, I was upgraded to a "mini suite" that was awesome! Upgraded? on a holiday weekend no less! Yippy! Wet bar,fridge($20 extra a night normally), walk in closet, wall mounted TV ( itsy, bitsy, 32"?, just a bit small for the size of the room, which was HUGE)Furnishings are WAY nicer than you would expect
FYI on getting upgraded.....
BE NICE!
DRESS NICE!
ACT LIKE YOU ARE AT YOUR GRANNY'S!
don't
1)haul your kitchen/fridge behind you
(make you ice chest LOOK like a piece of luggage)LOL
2)be rude, even if things get bad
3)TREAT the person behind the counter with respect!

Fantastic eats abound.....
POP UP PIZZA
Hash House A-go-go
The bad......
Little things, rips in wall paper, huge scratches on the doors,light bulbs out, just maintance issues, really
As a friend once said, "We just can't have nice things"
Sort of sums this place up, nice stuff in a double wide!

Room Tip: be nice, even #rd rooms in the south tower face the strip, great view from rooms above 12th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fancysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Rich uncle's double wide? Haha! We are glad you liked staying at the Plaza and appreciate that you are encouraging guests to be nice. Most are for sure, but it is a great reminder. Hope you come back and stay with us really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We read that this hotel had been updated, so we booked it and the rates were on par with other fremont street propertys. Casino is as dumpy as before the remodel, freshened up the initial reservation desk area, kind of walled off the exsiting McDonalds, added newer tile, Etc. The rooms got new beds and fresh paint, the furniture is contemporary but not useful, The bathrooms are the same, a bigger person would have a really hard time getting door closed to sit down. Super smallest ever been in. Walls are paper thin, Elevaters are original Equip, hallways got new carpet, all room doors are the originals with new paint and Electronic door knobs. First night the room stunk of previous patrons hair products on beds and pillow cases, 2nd night the local gang lords were argueing it out in hallways from 4:00am till sun-up. 3rd night the soda machine quit vending and the sink in the bathroom quit draining. Not a complainer, have stayed in vegas like 15 times, dont put much into the rooms, just require clean,quiet,decent accomadations..They missed this remodel by a Las Vegas Mile. Wont stay again,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renobob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi renobob- since your review we have fixed the vending machines and added more security staff. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutter, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was concerned based on reviews, but our entire group was staying here. I was pleasantly surprised. From the moment I pulled up in front of The Plaza, I was treated with respect and consideration. A man opened the door for me. The hotel desk personnel was extremely helpful and informative. The valet that parked the car helped me with my luggage to the door. He was very friendly. Everyone in this establishment greeted me with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable. My only objection was the train yard when the freight train came through. Some things can't be helped, tho. Also, The Plaza is across the street from the Fremont Street Experience. Yes, my husband and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Patty, we are so glad you had a nice experience at the Plaza. We look forward to you staying again! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#127 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#94 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#104 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#105 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Property: Plaza Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 S Main St, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101-6370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing