We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virgin River Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mesquite
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for an extended stay while we waited for our house to be move in ready. It was great for the money. Older rooms, but definitely clean and comfy beds. It is within walking distance to some other restaurants in the area. The River Cafe had good food and was very reasonable (good specials at night). Their buffet left much to be desired. The pool was nice and refreshing, and very clean. My only complaint is the front desk staff is quite rude. When we checked in and checked out it was as if I was such a huge inconvenience to them. It was the end of the world when I asked for a receipt... We enjoyed walking over to Eureka. The dealers and bartenders were much friendlier and the environment was cleaner.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a198993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I wasn't expecting a great room based on the price. However, the whole experience was beyond awful. We booked this room for a road trip. When we went to check-in, we realized that the person who booked the reservation had put June 30 rather than July 30. The front desk people treated us as if we were trying to pull a fast one on them. They finally figured out how to fix this and give us a room for the night. We were in the very back of the very back building. When we opened the door, we were greeted by the overwhelming stench of urine. We were going to put up with it, again because we weren't expecting much for such a cheap place. I sat on the bed which was like a rock. The breaking point was that my husband went into the bathroom and found a sign that instructed drug users to request a syringe bucket for disposal of their used needles. We were so disgusted that we just took off and didn't even ask for our money back. I would never advise anyone to stay at this disgusting hole!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is the only place that we have found that does not have a restriction on dogs weight or breed. They don't care what size your dog is. The rooms are old but clean. They don't have carpets in rooms where you can have a dog but that's great because there also is no smell from past guest.
The shower is not the best looking but the power of the shower head is better than most hotels we have stayed in.
The casino is small and does not pay very often. Slot machines are pretty tight. Employees for everywhere on the property were very helpful and friendly.
Will stay there everytime we are traveling thru with our dog.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bctap123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a very basic kind of no frills room but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Not every building has an ice machine and even after calling the front desk we never did locate one. Like most of them the Casino smelled like cigarette smoke. The food and the service were good in the restaurant. Not a 5-star hotel but for $27 a night we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Sorry. I disagree with the bad reviews on this one. If you expect to get a casino like a top of the line one in Vegas Virgin River Hotel & Casino won't be it. But if you want a nice, comfortable, economical stay in a well run hotel and casino you WILL stay here. I got a great deal online. My room was NOT bad. So it was an older room. Not all hotels and motels renovate each year. No, there was no bad smell in my room. The Internet -- very important to me -- was EXCELLENT. The buffet had a great selection and if some dishes weren't topgrade gourmet quality they were good -- from the Spanish slaw to the huge slices of turkey breast to the Mexican dishes I sampled. Service was FAST and EXTREMELY friendly. So while I could not give this five stars, using a brand new Vegas casino as the standard, this was a place where I WOULD stay again and again. And I travel a great deal. In terms of value, this was one of the best values I've gotten in a year. An older hotel that could use a facelift but it's present face isn't all that bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHotelManager, Manager at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We sincerely appreciate your wonderful review. Thank you and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our room smelled like dog s*it and the air conditioning was very loud..

We went to the $20 Saturday night buffet advertising crap and shrimp.

The crap was the lowest grade possible, tasteless and half warm.

While the shrimp looked good (2"), it was popcorn shrimp loaded with breading. The deserts sucked.

The salad bar was half good but failed to serve expensive vegetables like cilantro or green pepper slices.

If you enjoy great seafood, even Red Lobster puts this place to shame.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Happy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHotelManager, Manager at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We acknowledge your review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

See my review from last year. Our room was even more economical this year, only $27 plus tax. The other change this year is that wifi is free. Our room was identical to last year, basic but with everything we needed. We had the prime rib special ($6.99) at the restaurant. I expected a small portion for that price, but it was a full dinner, including potatoes, vegetables and rolls. The casino itself is sort of dated and reeks of stale cigarette smoke, but we’re not gamblers (we were in town to visit relatives) so we didn’t care. Still a good and economical place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSHotelManager, Manager at Virgin River Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for leaving this great review and for returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mesquite hotels
0.4 mi away
Eureka Casino Resort
Eureka Casino Resort
#1 of 9 in Mesquite
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rising Star Sports Ranch Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mesquite Inn
0.3 mi away
Highland Estates Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel, Casino, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin River Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin River Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 E Pioneer Blvd, Mesquite, NV 89027-4929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Mesquite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mesquite
Price Range: £22 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Virgin River Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 722
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Virgin River Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin River Hotel Mesquite
Virgin River Hotel And Casino
Virgin River Mesquite
Virgin River Hotel & Casino Mesquite, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing