We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Stay.”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Minden for 6 nights in August on business travel. This hotel is brand new, and looks it…construction remnants still around it, but I am sure they are in the plans to be finished off. My check in was very efficient, and managed by a friendly gentleman. Rooms are large, with all new furnishings—despite this, I had trouble with my dresser drawers, they did not seem to be aligned properly to open easily.
Amenities abound here, some of the nicest I have seen, and generous as well. Every day my supply of shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and make up remover packets was replenished. I am sure if I used 3 shower caps in a day, these would have been replaced as well. It was a nice touch, and I felt well taken care of. The only bad thing about it is they are those standard issue Holiday Inn Express tubes that are so difficult to deal with. The showerhead is tall enough to stand up straight under.
Breakfast was great, eggs with meat, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurts, some mornings we had those pre-fab omelets. My favorite part…every night when I came home from work, freshly baked cookies were waiting!
There is a lovely pool and spa, windows looking out on the gorgeous mountain views. It will look even nicer when the construction debris is gone. I used the washer/dryer, it’s a buck for everything you do…wash, dry, buy detergent, buy fabric softener. The machines worked well, and it was a clean area.
The free wireless internet could be a weak signal at times--but it did always work. The business center features a desktop computer and a printer.
My rate was not bad…you can get cheaper rates for some of the local no-tell motel/casinos, but this was a clean, new facility with a generous free breakfast included—an amazing value in itself!
I would return without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    60
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
32
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CA, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The hotel was spotless. It opened in June of 2009 so things were new. Sheets were crisp. Each bed had 4 pillows on it. Two were firm, two were soft. The breakfast was continental plus microwave omelette's and sausage. The pool, spa, and fitness center were clean and well stocked with water and towels.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twowheelindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldWide
Level Contributor
264 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Travelling with a large dog can be difficult. After a very long, hot ride I found a Holiday Inn Express in Minden, NV---as a gateway to Lake Tahoe. The place is almost brand new, but they take dogs, soooooooo we checked in. HIE charges a premium rate for the area.

I thought the service (front desk, housekeeping, breakfast) was weak throughout. It was like the STEPFORD WIVES of motels---u ask a question ---and u get a glassy eyed stare as an answer. It was the little things that ticked me off--i could go on ad nauseum.

The brand new hotel has some of the crappiest wireless i've ever encountered in the 100 nights a year that i travel. Even the ethernet connection was bad.

It looks shiny and new, but inside its rotten.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DogDoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We visited the Lake Tahoe area each day, but were so glad we stayed at this hotel. Service was good, the beds are very comfortable and because the hotel just opened this summer, everything was wonderfully new! The 20 minute trip from Stateline into the Carson Valley (Minden) was beautiful and well worth the drive to stay at this Holiday Inn. A very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storksuprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This is a new property and very well planned. Comfortable furnishings, very nice lobby and a good execise room and pool. Parking is very good and well lit. Desk staff was extremely helpful and was able to make some positive recommendations about restaurants and routes.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAndersGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.6 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.3 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#6 of 6 in Gardnerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Address: 1659 State Route 88, Minden, NV 89423-4600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Minden, NV is Carson Valley's newest, 100% non smoking, modern hotel located at US HWY 395 & State Route 88. Our hotel offers 81 guest rooms, including 20 suites also featuring a spectacular honeymoon suite with unrivaled Sierra Nevada mountain views. Rooms are luxurious and elegantly appointed with rich wood furniture, 32'LCD flatscreen TVs, lounge chair with ottoman, work desk and ergonomic chair and the latest amenities. All rooms include a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Suites also provide a pull out sofa bed and wet bar. Complimentary Smart Start Buffet Breakfast is served daily. The hotel is equipped with complimentary wireless and wired HSIA. We also offer an indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness room, business center and meeting spaces for up to 75 persons. The Hotel is a short drive from casinos, Kirkwood Ski Resort, Heavenly Ski Resort, and Nevada's state capital, Carson City. The beautiful Carson Valley is famous for its outdoor recreation including hiking, fishing, biking, swimming, ATV trails, and nature watching all just minutes away. It is also home of the first Nevada settlement Genoa.Our neighbors include Carson City, 11 miles, Reno, 40 miles, and Virginia City, 30 miles as well as just 12 miles to Lake Tahoe. Stay Smart and relax at our beautiful hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Minden
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing