We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Local History”

Dangberg Home Ranch Historic Park
Ranked #4 of 6 things to do in Minden
Attraction details
Genoa, Nevada, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some Local History”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A bit hard to find but worth the effort. The Dangbergs were founders of settlements in the Carson Valley. This Nevada State Park venue takes you back in time with good exhibits and narrative of early life in and around Gardnerville.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Difficult to find”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you want to see this attraction, you should schedule a tour; don't just show up and try to locate the ranch. It is not well-marked, and there was no signage that I could see. Google their website and set something up. Otherwise, just enjoy the vast openness of the Carson Valley

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Historical Ranch Tour”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not only have I toured the Home Ranch, I volunteered there for several months. The original owners kept everything, including cards and letters from the late 1800's from family in Germany! There is an extensive collection of clothing and toys as well. Sorry to say that none of the equipment in the home is in working condition. Mark Jensen is a great tour guide and very knowledgeable about the family. At this time only porta-potties are available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank billnevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Worth seeing once.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not bad if you see once as there is not much to it. Have to drive through private property on a dirt road in order to get to it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NevadaHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to get a little history...and then share with visitors!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

First, we went out on a tour with friends and Mark was our guide at Christmas time. He gave us an awesome sense of the history of the ranch. Of course the ranch was also decorated for Christmas and that truly gave us a sense of what it much have been like to live and work there. Then, we've taken visitors and other friends out for concerts and then the melodrama this summer. What a kick! Fun and different, you can't beat taking your own chairs and cooler full of food and drinks out for a couple hours of enjoyment with a group of like-minded folks! We've enjoyed every event we've been out for and we really appreciate that they keep it very affordable!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Always-Goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dangberg Home Ranch Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Dangberg Home Ranch Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing