We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy Bedding!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
A TripAdvisor Member
“Filthy Bedding!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2005

We'd been looking forward to this late-November 2005 vacation in Minden, but ended up dreading each night. Here's why....

Upon checking in around 9pm, we found that the bedding had not been changed from the last guests. One bed had dirt all over the sheets--as if a dog had slept in it--and the other had a mark across one side that looked like bloody drool. The bathroom had been poorly cleaned (if cleaned at all) and there were cobwebs and bugs in one corner.

When we called the front desk to ask for new sheets, figuring we could put up with the rest until the housekeeping staff arrived the next morning, we were advised that there might not be any clean sheets because the hotel was full. Finally, some sheets were found, but only two (not enough for the two queen beds). We picked the sheets up from the front desk as it was late at night and no one was available to bring them to the room. We put the sheets on one bed and borrowed sheets from local relatives to put on the other bed.

During the entire three night stay, the beds were made, but sheets were NEVER changed and none of the cleaning was done other than emptying the waste baskets. In addition, we found our key to be disabled each evening, requiring a nightly visit to the front desk to have it reprogrammed.

When these events were brought to the attention of the manager, we were informed that they were doing the best they could. We were given a verbal apology and told we could take it up with the Board of Directors.

We did, eventually, receive a letter of apology after sharing this experience with Best Western. It seems like this stay shouldn't have cost over $75 a night. We'll think twice before considering staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    21
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
20
11
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2005

Dirty sheets! We anticipated a good 2-night stay in this $81.00 a night Best Western but instead found one of our two queen beds had very dirty sheets. We called the front desk but unfortunately the night manager was alone and could not change the sheets. She did offer some clean sheets which we put on the bed ourselves. The next day we spoke to the hotel property manager who could only offer an apology and after our request a 10% discount off the room. Another family that was traveling with our group also had one bed with dirty sheets and their son chose to sleep on top of the bedspread. Normally I would be excited to splurge a little bit on a Best Western but after this experience I may as well stay at the $49 a night motel down the road.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minden hotels

Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2005

Nice comfortable place to stay. Friendly. Reasonable. Several restaurants within walking distance. Stayed a couple of nights with friends as we were doing the Death Ride cycling event nearby in Markleeville, CA. We found this an ideal and convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxter1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2004

This was a great place to stay for a few days. Beautiful views and a wonderful place to eat just steps away. Mgmt was very accomodating because we didn't have a refrigerator in the room although we had expected one. They brought one in for us plus a microwave!

Nice, clean, quiet place and reasonable too.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2004

I had chosen this place to stay whilst gliding at Soar Minden as an alternative to the 'Holiday Lodge' on US 593. I am certainly glad that I did, as I was told that the 'Holiday Lodge' had recently suffered a cockroach outbreak. The Best Western at Minden is good value, clean, has an outdoor swimming pool and the staff are friendly. I had to send a fax to the UK, and it was no problem for the owner to be called at home to resolve this matter and ask a very reasonable $3.50. The continental breakfast was very good, and overall I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2003

If you want the convenience of a motel (instead of the Carson Valley Inn) and a low room rate, this is the place. The rooms are modern, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. Just across the parking lot, you'll find an excellent Chinese restaurant, a great ice cream shop, and a coffee shop. It's just a short drive down the highway to the casino at the CVI.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
2.4 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
22.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1795 Ironwood Dr, Minden, NV 89423-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® & Suites in Minden, NV is located in beautiful Carson Valley – historically the staging arena for adventurers as they prepared to cross the high mountain passes on their way to the gold fields of California. This hotel offers easy access to Carson Valley Museum and Cultural Center and Western Nevada College and a host of outdoor activities including water skiing, snowmobiling, parasailing, hiking, fishing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minden
Minden Best Western
Quality Inn & Suites Minden/Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing