We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and casino”
Review of Carson Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carson Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and casino”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The Carson Valley Inn is located on a huge campus and offers next to the hotel / Caisson also a separate motel and gas station. The Check in runs absolutely professionally and quickly. Very quiet, spacious and clean room. The two restaurants serve a varied, depending on menu selection. The casino is quite large and diverse, but has non-cluttered.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigF_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    90
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
64
103
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My daughter had wanted to go swimming, so we checked out the pool and the hot tubs. It was great! There were a ton of kids around, in both the hot tubs and pool, so she was thrilled. The pool isn't too cold, and the hot tub temps are perfect. Our room was fine, the coffee shop was good, and we'll definately return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliethegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Cigarette smoke from the casino permeates throughout the hotel. We had 11 others in our group and two of us had our credit card numbers stolen by hotel staff. Date of stay was 4/09.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtrchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We were enroute from Virginina City to Sparks NV and needed to layover and chose the Carson Valley Inn where we had stayed before.

This is an independent casino hotel and has a very friendly attitude for its guest many of whom seem to be returning guests and local regulars.

Room was large, clean and well appointed - we stayed on the third floor in a King.

Resturant was good comfort food served cheerfully and at a reasonable price - portions are large .

Overall an excellent value and I would come back - as we did this time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I have been attending "group" golf outings here for 12 years. "I shall return"! as the hotel casino does a terrific job to make guests welcome in every way! I've headed up golf group outings here and the only comment I hear from the golfers is when do we return next year. The staff, rooms, service and food are all above average. Don't pass up a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CU4NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,665 reviews
304 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,814 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The Carson Valley Inn has done a very good job of remodeling their casino - lots of fun games to play, good lighting, and good service. You are always greeted with a smile; the staff is one of the best in casinos, making sure you are enjoying yourself and if you want a drink - you have one in moments. I find the service great any time of day - for example, 10 in the morning, 5 at night, 8 at night, 4 in the morning. This shows consistency in service - and a good time. They do have free drawings, bonus plus days, and sometimes you win free gifts (shirts, caps, nice bag, etc.). All in all a thumbs high up for casino. There is oftentimes live music at night. Given the area, the crowd tends to be middle aged to seniors (i.e. its not a young youth scene - although locals tend to enjoy coming here as well as visitors.).

In terms of food - Katies is a local favorite; it is often full on the week-ends with a short wait time. Lots of options on the menu - its somewhat like a Denny's but with much cuter atmosphere and good service. Portion size is absolutely HUGE - meaning if you eat it all you had a real pig out. We generally have food for another meal. They also have a high end steak and fish restaurant, nicely decorated, with good food and again good portions. If you plan a day out, Jobs Peak has sandwiches that are good - and picnic stuff for the day. The service there is super friendly. If you do play in the casino, you quickly get points you can use for food.....(also if you are a frequent player, you often get discount coupons in the mail.).

There is a swimming pool on property; easy in and out - and friendly door service. A special hi to the "tall guy" - who is often at the door. he is so nice (sorry I don't remember your name - but you always make our day when you are there. Thanks.

The rooms are large - now, if you want modern, its not. It is however hugely enjoyable stay - with the ability to open the window to get fresh air in the room; tv with movies and cable (lots of stations); large bathroom; comfy beds. The new owner plans to revamp the rooms in the future - but unlike others, we find the stay very comfortable. Enjoy the time in the rooms. And very very very clean - comfy. If you see a bug - well darn - you are very close to the mountains and close to the desert; so just say hi!

In terms of location - very convenient to both Tahoe area (less than half hour drive), Reno (less than hour drive); and 10 minute drive to Carson City; half hour to 40 minute drive to Virginia City.

If you are a club member, as we are, you are treated extremely well. As mentioned all get great service; nice gaming; good vibes - but if you are a club member you are invited to special events such as the fall dinner where it was a great meal with beer and wine and great service.

In short, its a great place to go in the area -if you are looking for swank, its not. if you are looking for a great place to go, it definitely is. Carson Valley Inn is doing a fabulous job and as they continue to remodel - has done a fabulous job. Cheers to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Our friends have been travelling to this Inn for years and had told us how much they enjoyed it. We went with 4 other couples and stayed here while on a golf trip. It is just a wonderful little place that I found to be very clean and suprisingly comfortable. The beds are older and kind of low, but very nice with a good choice of pillows. I never heard anyone else in the halls or in other rooms. The shower pressure was nice and strong and the toiletries were nicer than other hotels. They have 2 hot tubs and an indoor pool which is nice and warm and quite large. The casino is small and didn't smell like smoke since they installed a new ventilation system. It was the first time I have come home from a casino hotel and my suitcase of clothes didn't reek of smoke. The only downside to this hotel is the age of the guests, which tends to run a little older than I feel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOMBO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
338 reviews
3.9 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Valley Inn

Property: Carson Valley Inn
Address: 1627 US Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423-4323
Region: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carson Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson Valley Inn is a full service hotel/casino located in Minden, Nevada 15 miles south of Carson City and 20 minutes from world class skiing at Heavenly at Tahoe. We are 25 minutes from the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. The Carson Valley Inn has been completely remodeled in the last 5 years. Our casino features table games, live poker, 600 slots and Race and Sports Book. We have two lounges, one with free live entertainment nightly. Our main hotel features a pool, spas, business center and fitness facility. WE have free Wifi. For our value conscious guests we have a motor lodge adjacent to the main hotel. We also have an RV Resort featuring full hook-ups and shower facilities. There is a laundromat. Restaurants: In CV Steak, enjoy great dining, exceptional value and a comfortable atmosphere perfect for a special occasion, casual gathering with friends, or a let's-not-cook-tonight escape. Katie's Country Kitchen, our 24-hour coffee shop has a comfortable atmosphere, generous menu selections, and value-packed specials that makes this restaurant a favorite among locals and hotel and RV park guests. Katie's Nightly Dinner Specials. Stop by Job's Perk for morning coffee, pastries, sandwiches, afternoon snacks and wine. The Carson Valley Inn has 6000 square feet of meeting space and TJ's Corral is our concert venue featuring some of the biggest names in country and rock & roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carson Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Valley Hotel Minden
Carson Valley Minden
Carson Valley Inn Minden/Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing