We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok,could be better”
Review of Carson Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carson Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Reviewed 21 August 2011

When the hotel was run by the original owner, it was like family run. They made you feel
at home. Now the hotel has a new owner, run by some large cooperation .
It once was a nice hotel to come to but the new owner needs to bring the hotel back
up to the high standards of the original owners, the carpet shows wear a tear, the king mattress we slept on was really worn out, the springs kept moving around and poking me. I
told the front desk , they will inform the manager . Have not heard from them since.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The wash area had a long counter with the sink on one side. How great to be able to have toiletries out with space leftover. Entire room was very clean. However, the walls were very thin, so thin a person could hear someone in the next room blowing their nose. Just remember to bring your earplugs!
Staff efficient and personable.

Room Tip: Stay to the back, north side of the lodge. Furthest away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annelee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My family decided to stay at CVI while we were in town for my grandmother's memorial service. We have been customers of this establishment for MANY years, but had never stayed in the hotel previously. We selected rooms in the Motor Inn. The first room that we were given smelled of smoke, although it was advertised as non-smoking. We called the front desk the next morning to discuss the situation. We asked that we be moved to another room, which they were able to accommodate. Once we arrived in our new room there were several things wrong with the room - the air conditioner didn't work, the coffee maker didn't work and one of the light bulbs were burned out. The maintenance department quickly fixed the broken coffee pot and light and assured us that the air conditioning was also fixed. The air conditioning still wasn't operating properly and we called maintenance once again. They came and said that it was working fine. Since we were out of our room all day, we assumed the air would be working and fine for sleeping that evening. But we returned to the room and found that we had to manually turn on the fan and then about 15 minutes later the we could turn on the air conditioning, but once it went off, none of it would come back on. So we had no air for our second evening.
We we called the front desk the next morning, Elizabeth or "Liz" as she went by was very rude and said that we will need to speak with her manager directly because there was nothing wrong with the air. Again we were gone all day (to my grandmother's memorial service) and when we returned, we had a extremely long and rude message from the manger - Matt Carter. My mother called him back and he proceeded to not even let her talk - but rather yelled at her about how she wasn't going to get a free room and there was nothing wrong with the air. Basically accusing her of lying about the whole situation. Keep in mind my mother had just buried her mother earlier in the day. My mother asked who his manager was and he was he was the boss. Then he proceeded to give us the general manager's name (with whom I have a call into currently).
I have worked in a service industry for over 12 years and would NEVER talk to any customer or treat anyone with such disrespect! This is an outrage and I hope that people will consider this feedback before staying at their establishment in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way from camping in Yosemite to a resort in Tahoe. The surrounding town is cute and the few people we met were really nice. We made the BIG mistake (what were we thinking?) or hauling our luggage with us to the check-in desk. By the way, they have a tiny little sign to indicate that reception is accessed through the back entrance-do not enter through the casino unless you want a long walk. Once we got there, we found out the great rate we got on the separate "motor lodge" room was for a reason. When we complained about the lack of signs telling us where to park for easy access to reception, the receptionist blamed the fact that we didn't make the reservation with them, but with Expedia. Like that money was somehow not as good to them? We had to go get the car, reload our luggage and child (she was kind enough to get a valet to help us with this) and drive down the street, past a gas station, past an RV park to get to the motor lodge. I laughed at the thought of using their pool located in the main building back down the street-it was in a separate hotel! The lesson here is an old one, you get what you pay for. The motor lodge had no elevator so we had to haul our luggage up the stairs. The room was quiet, basic amenities, clean,and the free WiFi made my husband happy. I was happy with the coffee maker. The gas station next door had a well stocked store. We filled up the car (50 cents cheaper there than up in Tahoe) hit the McDonald's at the corner for breakfast and got out of Dodge. Overall, if you know what you're getting into, this motor lodge is OK for the money.

Room Tip: Motor lodge rooms are a hike down the street from the main bulding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAtoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Escape the congestion of Reno and head south to incredible beauty beyond Carson City. In June 2011, snow covered the peaks of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Cattle grazed and ranches dotted the edges of the valley. The Carson Valley Inn is perfect for a vacation with recreation [golf at excellent courses nearby], rafting in the Carson River, an indoor pool shaped like the state of NV, excellent dining in the CV restaurant, more casual dining at Katie's. The inn has an RV park and motel. The casino has all of the games and slots anyone might like to play. Easy access to South Lake Tahoe.

Renovated rooms include a heavenly mattress, iron/board, and hair dryer. The workout room is small. For exercise, I recommend walking the streets of Minden - a lovely town with well-kept homes, flower gardens, and ancient trees.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanETucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have stayed here in the past and wrote it off our list. BUT, they've remodeled the rooms and the casino. Now it's a wonderful place to stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The price is right if you ask for the casino rate ($49 per night). Had a family party for my mother's 88th birthday and they made it perfect. If you've stayed here in the past, give it another try...the improvements changed the experience by 100%

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phyllisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at CVI. We stayed two nights in one of their newly decorated non-smoking rooms on the top floor. The decor was a bit dark but was clean and comfortable. It is a small hotel/casino and staff are very courteous and helpful.

The only complaint is the smokey casino. Nevada hasn't figured out that non-smoking won't really hurt the bottom line.

Room Tip: Stay in a newly decorated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imcookn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
81 reviews
1.5 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
825 reviews
4.9 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
21.4 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Valley Inn

Address: 1627 US Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423-4323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carson Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson Valley Inn is a full service hotel/casino located in Minden, Nevada 15 miles south of Carson City and 20 minutes from world class skiing at Heavenly at Tahoe. We are 25 minutes from the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. The Carson Valley Inn has been completely remodeled in the last 5 years. Our casino features table games, live poker, 600 slots and Race and Sports Book. We have two lounges, one with free live entertainment nightly. Our main hotel features a pool, spas, business center and fitness facility. WE have free Wifi. For our value conscious guests we have a motor lodge adjacent to the main hotel. We also have an RV Resort featuring full hook-ups and shower facilities. There is a laundromat. Restaurants: In CV Steak, enjoy great dining, exceptional value and a comfortable atmosphere perfect for a special occasion, casual gathering with friends, or a let's-not-cook-tonight escape. Katie's Country Kitchen, our 24-hour coffee shop has a comfortable atmosphere, generous menu selections, and value-packed specials that makes this restaurant a favorite among locals and hotel and RV park guests. Katie's Nightly Dinner Specials. Stop by Job's Perk for morning coffee, pastries, sandwiches, afternoon snacks and wine. The Carson Valley Inn has 6000 square feet of meeting space and TJ's Corral is our concert venue featuring some of the biggest names in country and rock & roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carson Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Valley Hotel Minden
Carson Valley Minden
Carson Valley Inn Minden/Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing