We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The word I would use is Adequate for CVI”
Review of Carson Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carson Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The word I would use is Adequate for CVI”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

There was nothing really wrong with the hotel, nor was there any outstanding feature of the hotel. The main problem for me is that the smell of smoke permeates the hotel. I am from California and I know the smoking laws are different in Nevada and so this may be why and it wouldn't bother a "Nevadian". The staff was very nice, the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bathroom was huge, lots of counter space. It was one of those kind of rooms that you can hear the shower from the room above in the wall, the loud water noise. Also the walking around from the room upstairs was noticeable. I would stay on a to floor if I went again to avoid this.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor to avoid noise from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelemoore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    90
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
64
103
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were visiting Lake Tahoe and found this location to provide lots of activities and amenities away from the lake. When we were ready to go to the lake it was a short and BEAUTIFUL drive! The room was newly remodeled and very nice with lots of electrical outlets to charge all your devices in the evening. The room was also a nice size (no tripping over the corner of the bed to get around).

We were pleasantly surprised by the restaurants on the property as well. We had expected to eat outside the hotel, but after the first evening at CV Steak and breakfast at Katie's we had all our meals there. The menus had a lot of diversity with something for everyone!

By far the best place to stay in the valley!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasbound2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Minden is a small town, there is little to do. Staying in this hotel will give you stuff to do at night. It is also very conveniently located next to nice restaurants and a winery. Food from the hotel restaurants was also cheap and not bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiredysG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have been coming to the Carson Valley on and off for 7 years or so to visit family. Up until the last few years, when the fine Holiday Inn Express joined the hotel scene, the Carson Valley Inn was just about the only decent hotel option while visiting family. And you got both what you paid for and the lack of decent local competition would imply: a smokey, smelly, worn and depressing casino hotel with decrepit furniture, cathode-ray televisions, and the very cheapest bathroom and amenities. Recently, no doubt to address the challenge presented by the clean, modern, smoke-free Holiday Inn, with pillow-top beds and complimentary breakfast, the CVInn has been renovating their property. Unfortunately, even as return guests we were unable to secure one of these renovated rooms on our recent holiday stay.
The room was advertised as 'non-smoking'. But when the CVInn promises that, it promises just that. The strong smell of tobacco smoke (and indeed, possibly the smoke itself) frequently wafted into our room from the main hallway. While the old bed and television has been replaced, even in the 'non-renovated' rooms, our room remained sub-par.
The staff and service of the CV Inn is friendly and competent enough. But if your main focus is on local recreation or a family visit and if you are even mildly offended by, or allergic to, cigarette smoke, I caution you to investigate other options. The Holiday Inn, as I mention, is a good alternative, though it does tend to come in more expensive than the CV Inn. You may not regret paying up for it, though.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently renovated rooms, away from smoking rooms and as far away from the casino...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCDcflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I ,and my friends, spend two days at this hotel. Best hotel in the area, stuff were very friendly, professional and helpful, rooms very clean nice remodeled and comfortable. Indoor pool, hot tub is a plus, we enjoyed swimming more at the hotel than hot springs, which is with in 5 min.Great Location close to everything.

Room Tip: 2 queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0la1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I have stayed here several times over the past 10 or so years. My most recent stay was in a deluxe room. It was spacious, updated with contemporary furnishings, comfortable bed and very clean. Staff accommodated my request for a late check out, however cleaning staff kept coming into the room even though my "do not disturb" tag was hanging from the door. Paper was provided each day of stay. This used to be a common thing at hotels, but for the past few years seems to be getting rare. It was a nice touch. Room tempature was a little warm and in room controls did not help much in lowering the tempature (air blowing was not cold).

At at Katie's, on site cafe, a few times. Food was good and reasonably priced. Beer selections at bars not expansive but decent.

Despite some small shortcomings, I recommend this recently upgraded hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had a small family reunion in Gardnerville, Minden and Tahoe on Sept. 17th. We booked a couple of Deluxe Queen Rooms at the Carson Vallen Inn - hotel side, and were very pleased with these wonderfully remodeled rooms. Comfortable beds, nice flat-screen TV, and very nicely appointed, functional appointments in the room and bathroom. The clear, warm late summer weather added to the visit. Huge delicious breakfasts served in Katie's Country Kitchen. Every employee was friendly and helpful, even with a great Country Star concert (Collin Raye) onsite on our Friday arrival date!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a remodeled room in the hotel and not the motor lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc6ijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
338 reviews
3.9 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
9.1 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Valley Inn

Property: Carson Valley Inn
Address: 1627 US Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423-4323
Region: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carson Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson Valley Inn is a full service hotel/casino located in Minden, Nevada 15 miles south of Carson City and 20 minutes from world class skiing at Heavenly at Tahoe. We are 25 minutes from the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. The Carson Valley Inn has been completely remodeled in the last 5 years. Our casino features table games, live poker, 600 slots and Race and Sports Book. We have two lounges, one with free live entertainment nightly. Our main hotel features a pool, spas, business center and fitness facility. WE have free Wifi. For our value conscious guests we have a motor lodge adjacent to the main hotel. We also have an RV Resort featuring full hook-ups and shower facilities. There is a laundromat. Restaurants: In CV Steak, enjoy great dining, exceptional value and a comfortable atmosphere perfect for a special occasion, casual gathering with friends, or a let's-not-cook-tonight escape. Katie's Country Kitchen, our 24-hour coffee shop has a comfortable atmosphere, generous menu selections, and value-packed specials that makes this restaurant a favorite among locals and hotel and RV park guests. Katie's Nightly Dinner Specials. Stop by Job's Perk for morning coffee, pastries, sandwiches, afternoon snacks and wine. The Carson Valley Inn has 6000 square feet of meeting space and TJ's Corral is our concert venue featuring some of the biggest names in country and rock & roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carson Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Valley Hotel Minden
Carson Valley Minden
Carson Valley Inn Minden/Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing