We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, adequate food, uneven service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Charleston Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Charleston Lodge
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, adequate food, uneven service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This review is for the Mt Charleston Lodge Dining Room, not to be confused with the Dining Room at the Mt Charleston Resort, which is a more modern establishment located further down the hill in a less appealing setting. I had breakfast here with an old friend and camping buddy. It is worth eating here simply for the setting. There is a nice large outdoor seating area though we ate inside as there were no shaded tables available there. The food was adequate, except for my biscuit, which was hard as a rock. Service was uneven. Our waitress was not very attentive, however there was another gal that kept my coffee filled and our plates cleared, as well as a friendly young fellow that brought out our food. The only reason I left a decent tip was that I figure that they must share the tips. Our waitress didn't earn her share. All in all, this establishment can only be recommended for the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keltytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    44
    16
    16
    17
See reviews for
24
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Definitively for those willing to take the time to get away from the strip and enjoy nature, and at the same time enjoy good service and food at their restaurant. The cabin my wife and I stayed was the second towards the inside of the canyon area #15 (second to last away from the road, sort of) and it was very quiet. We woke up to the singing of numerous birds early morning, a very relaxing and soothing experience. We both really enjoyed the jetted tub after our hikes, it was simply very relaxing to do that ; then, sit on the chairs at the deck and relax some more.

Room Tip: Away from the road as locals come and go specially on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALDO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Ok, most people go to Las Vegas for the glitz and glamour of the strip, and so do I. But I also believe in seing the entire area to get a better idea of the places I am visiting. The Mount Charleston Lodge is one of the places you don't want to miss. It's a short drive outside of Las Vegas but the scenery is magnificient. As you descend off the desert floor and up into the mountains the entire landscape begins to transform into beautiful mountains and forests. In the summer it's a cool refreshing way to see the valley. At over 7500 feet, sitting on the outside deck having lunch or dinner, the view is awesome. In the summer it's 30 degress cooler and in the winter it's cold and crisp. The inside fireplace is romantic and cozy. The bar is nice and the food is very good. If you are so inclined to stay over night, the rooms at the lodge are nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The cabins have a retro feel, in the best sense of the word. Our cabin was filled bright and airy. It was very comfortable, with a wonderful large deck overlooking the Spring Mountains. The deck has a porch swing and table and chairs- perfect for an afternoon picnic! The cabin set up affords quiet and privacy. The Lodge offers great meals and an outdoor deck just a short walk away. The cabin is the perfect getaway. This is our second stay -and I'm pleased to report the cabins are consistently well maintained.

Room Tip: TIP: Cabin 17 -the Lovebirds cabin is charming and secluded. It provides great privacy and great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

this is a great location for a family getaway or Staycation during the winter school break if you are in Las Vegas as a local or want a break from the strip. We stayed one night with two elementary aged children. We stayed in cabin 9,which I believe is one of the largest they have. It is located near the office and parking lot but is set back far enough from the road so there is no noise. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the cabin and the amenities. I was not expecting much to be honest, but was impressed as the cabin had two elaborate four poster beds, a two sided fireplace, two large sofas, a flat screen TV for DVDs, a jacuzzi tub and large dining table. The cabin also has a nice balcony/ deck with porch swing and chairs. We enjoyed the serenity, proximity to the Lodge for dinner and beautiful views of Cathedral Rock. The kids enjoyed sledding in Lee Canyon near the Las Vegas Ski and Snowboard resort. You can't beat the fact that it only takes 30 minutes from Las Vegas and you are a world away! Bear in mind this is a rustic setting so the furniture is scuffed and hodgepodge, don't expect more and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Cabin nine is spacious for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ann572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

12/15/2013 Drove up for lunch, and see the sights. We have never been there before. Views were gorgeous, The service was lackadaisical. Food was very good. Music and vocals by a lone guitar player was right out of the 60's ballads. It was very nostalgic and all in all a very pleasant drive and meal.

Recommended *****

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was the ultimate letdown. My boyfriend and I booked a cabin several weeks in advance to celebrate our anniversary. We took off work, rearranged our schedules, bought snow chains, and supplies for the trip. It took us over an hour to get up to the mountain where we were greeted by a handwritten note on the office door stating their closure due to a power outage. No phone call, no alert on the website, no guest service to speak of. Devastated and in tears we were forced to head home, anniversary plans ruined. Upon calling the resort several days later we were informed that someone had tried to call us several times in advance. We had no missed calls or voicemails of any kind. So not only are they refusing to make up for the neglect in any way but are also lying about the effort they put in to help salvage a special weekend for us. Customer service at its worst, and we've been in the hospitality industry for more than ten years a piece. Shame on the staff at Mt. Charleston. We are Las Vegas locals and will be sharing this information with our social networks. Weather aside, you failed miserably at your job.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
42 Thank Kgoddard21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Charleston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Charleston
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliffs at Peace Canyon
#61 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#54 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
The Resort on Mount Charleston
#1 of 1 in Mount Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Charleston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Charleston Lodge

Property: Mt. Charleston Lodge
Address: 5375 Kyle Canyon Rd, Mount Charleston, NV 89124-9234
Region: United States > Nevada > Mount Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mt. Charleston Hotel Mount Charleston
Mt. Charleston Lodge Mount Charleston, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing