We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, a little noisy, good location, overall good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for a long ski weekend and found it to be overall a good hotel. Not quite Embassy suites, but close enough and the price point makes up for the minor shortcomings:
- Rooms are very clean, but seem a little smaller than Embassy suites. Also, the sound proofing does not seem quite as good. One can hear cars on the parking lot, neighbors talking in the room next door, foot steps (ski boots?) from upstairs and door shutting from the hallway.
- The beds were not too comfortable. The King bed mattress was very hard and did not work for me as a side sleeper, but my wife loved it and I had to evade to the sofa bed. That was softer, but also not very comfortable.
- Breakfast was good with nice selection of eggs, meat, cereal, fruit, bread and bagels, waffles, juice, coffee, but was very crowded during our stay. That meant lines and bumping into people at the buffet and trouble finding a spot to sit.

The location was the best part of the hotel, so a little more detail on that (from a ski trip perspective):
- There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area and everything seemed fairly new and safe. For skiing, we found the Sierra Trading post outlet with great deals on brand name clothing and equipment right across the freeway next to Whole Foods. A few miles North is Walmart with amazing deals on basic ski gear. There are too many restaurants and other stores to mention. You can find pretty much anything you want within 5-10 minutes drive. Make sure to check yelp for reviews on the restaurants.
- The closest ski resort is Mt. Rose, about 6 miles down the freeway and another 10 miles up Mt. Rose highway, which seemed reasonable well driveable without chains even in light snow, about 1/2 hour total. Best deals are online, in particular multi day packages for lessons and lift tickets. There is also a small snow gear rental just a few miles before the resort, $20 for adults and $15 for kids for the set per day, which is a little cheaper than the resort itself.
- There are a couple of good (and free) sledding areas nearby. The first is Galena park about 5 miles before Mt. Rose. This has smaller slopes and is best for little kids. About 5 miles past Mt. Rose is another great sledding area with football field size slopes and steep mountain slopes if you dare.
- Another 5 miles down Mt. Rose highway leads you to Lake Tahoe with breathtaking views along the way and nice restaurants in Incline Village, Kings Beach, etc.
- If you want to go gambling, the closest Casino the Atlantic is about 5 miles away, Reno downtown 10 minutes, with plenty of parking. Reno is not as flashy as Las Vegas, but you can lose your money at about the same rate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerFromSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

First I wanna say Dominique at the front desk is the best! Super friendly and accommodating . Really clean hotel , and rooms. Rooms are spacious and well laid out with nice furniture and flat screen tvs. No odors whatsoever in the rooms or throughout the hotel. Breakfast area was spotless and the food was excellent, and FREE! Free breakfast is always a must when I book a room. I stay at all different brands but I must say I really like homework suites, good job Hilton!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassetta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

If your looking for a place to stay that looks nice has great food and drinks, its included with your rate... super comfy beds and AWESOME STAFF i would highly recommend this place 100%! Love everything about it! I stay at Homewood suites all over the world its one of the best hilton chain hotels. :)

Room Tip: room, #407
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Good stay I have stayed here several times over the years. Nice clean hotel nice staff. In a business district which is nice away from casinos. Breakfast isnt what it use to be basically a continental breakfast some hot foods eggs and potatoes all seemed to be microwaved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is your place! Homewood Suites are located right off the 395 in a quite business area (very centrally located). They're relatively new and very clean and the rooms are amazing! Their rooms are one bedroom suites with a well-appointed kitchen (very modern) including a dishwasher, microwave, full-size refrigerator, and granite counters. There are flat screen TVs in the living and master bedroom. The bath is compartmentalized allowing someone to take a shower while the other can brush their teeth.

If you're visiting Monday through Thursday they offer a full buffet dinner and breakfast is offered every day, and they are actually very good!
The other plus is that they will accept small pets.............YAY! This is absolutely the only hotel for us in Reno.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms facing east will offer mountain views (although the f...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Star333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I had a great one bedroom suite including a kitchen. The shower and toilet are separate from the bathroom sink, although the sink area is part of the bedroom. Nice kitchen including a dishwasher. There's a sport court for basketball and tennis (the fence is very close to the court lines). I like that the room windows open (fresh air is good). There is much freeway and road construction going on in this area. The easiest access from 395/580 north was the Kietzke Lane exit. Restaurants, stores, etc. are at least one mile away so a car is needed to get to most everything. I usually stay at Hilton's but have never stayed at a Homewood Suites before. The breakfast is comparable to a Hampton Inn - a couple hot, pre-made items and the usual assortment of yogurt and breads.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a view of the freeway and related noise. If there are rooms at the front...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbgb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is usually my hotel of choice when I come to Reno for business. It's located in a newer and quieter part of town. The rooms are spacious and the hotel is in very good condition. Breakfast is always adequate and the nightly reception is also a nice touch if you don't feel like going out for dinner. The last time I was here I had a long flight delay and the manager allowed me to stay till 4PM without charging me for an extra day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
4.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
4.8 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno

Address: 5450 Kietzke Ln, Reno, NV 89511-2061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reno
#5 Family Hotel in Reno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range: £112 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Reno Nevada hotel is centrally located just minutes from downtown Reno and Reno-Tahoe International (RNO) Airport, located near numerous local businesses. We do everything we can to make our guests comfortable. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno Nevada hotel features a business center, complimentary Suite Start® hot breakfast buffet daily, and a complimentary Welcome Home® Reception on weekdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Reno Hotel Reno
Homewood Suites By Hilton Reno Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing