We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The best feature of the hotel is the pool and jaccuzi. Beautiful tiled pool, just the right temperature and lots of sun. Nobody at the pool when I visited! Happy hour at the lounge overlooking the Truckee River was awesome! Room was just okay. Frosted windows? What's up with that? I've always loved the views from Reno hotel rooms. None this time. Carpet was filthy. Bed very comfortable and nice bathroom. Did not use room service or spa services. Had a great rate through Groupon, don't know that I'd pay full price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    202
    86
    36
    37
See reviews for
133
256
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa clara
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here during labor day weekend for Rib-fest. If you're like us and dont book the nugget soon enough, this is a great alternative. Taxi or bus is very easy to get where you want to go. The hotel is great. It has a very new feel to it. The casino is failry small, however it has all of the basic slots/tables and is nice if you dont want to feel like your playing at grand central station.

The spa is very over priced and the people working there are terrible! The girl working (or being too busy tweeting on her phone to work) kept telling us that she didnt have any towels available for the pool. Yet everytime some metro showed up with shiny gold swim trunks, or some straight off the red carpet wanna-be, she was able to produce several towels. After asking for towels 4 times and finally having a 5 minute drag-out with her, she confessed that there was a stock of towels that she wasnt supposed to give out. My wife and i spent the rest of the afternoon observing who she felt were worthy of getting a pool towel and who weren't.

Anyway-if you're looking for a place to stay for a reno activity and gambling without use of the pool or spa this place is great. If you're from L.A. and believe your life is an episode of Entourage you will LOVE it here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitewater75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainier, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We booked this hotel because of a Groupon special I bought. We planned on staying three nights using the special for two and paying for the third (staying Sunday-Wed.-the special was only good for Sun.-Thurs. nights). The initial booking was fine but then I tried to add an additional night and that process became a nightmare. When I first called I was told that they were unable to add Saturday night due to something about the "rate". So I called the next day and was told that I could book Saturday night and the person I spoke with would take care of it. After a couple of weeks I was reading other reviews on TripAdvisor and noted some recommendations that I wanted to include so I emailed the hotel and found that they did not have us down for Saturday night and actually had us booked for dates I don't recall booking. Various emails were exchanged in which the person I was emailing stated she would take care of it and then a final email stating she couldn't make the change but her manager probably could and she would have h/h contact me. After a couple of days not hearing from the manager I contacted the hotel by phone and left a message on the machine, which was not returned, so I again phoned. I talked to another person who said they could make the changes and would email me a confirmation. After not receiving the confirmation I called again and was told the changes had not been made. I finally suggested that the problem may be the special rate and that this person should book us at the normal rate for Saturday and another night and use the special rate for the other two nights. When the person I was speaking with did what I suggested he was able to book us a room for Saturday night. I again asked for an email confirmation but once again did not receive it. I called the next day to ensure that the changes had been made since I had been told several times that they had only to find out that had not been, but this time everything was set. I again asked for an email confirmation but didn't receive one. Rather a frustrating start. However, when we arrived we were very pleased with the hotel, accomodations, and staff. We really liked that it was relatively small and not geared for children, in fact I don't recall even seeing a child. We had breakfast in the cafe (I'm not sure that's what they call it) and it was delicious and reasonably priced. The casino is small but we did relatively well on the slots. The pool is very nice and both times I used it only one or two other guests were there. The beds were comfy and pillows good-my son usually complains about hotel pillows but not this time. The room was quiet and comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handtoGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
434 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently were in Reno, and I had not been to the Siena Hotel & Casino in probably 8 years ... the last time I had been there was about 8 years ago, and the place was filthy ... and I told myself at that time I would never go back.

Well, I did ... and I am glad I did. The place has been given a complete face lift. The casino is now bright with color and lighting, and is clean. The dealers, pit bosses, waiters, waitresses, etc. are friendly and fun to be around. This is a definite plus on my Reno trips now.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

While I have nothing bad to say, it wasn't what I expected when I booked the room. Our primary reason for picking the Sierna rather than another Reno hotel was what had been a really nice wine bar "Down Under". We could have a great wine selection and some small plates of food. However, despite all the promotion of the wine bar in their internal literature and signage, we were told it is now open for "special events only." It may be very picky of me, but because of that and because they didn't disclose a $7.50 "resort" fee until final checkout, I will not stay there again.

I give the Sierna credit for comfortable rooms, a good location, but it is nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed at Siena for two nights in July (23-24). After I checked in and went to my room I found it not completely ready. On my way back to the check-in desk I was met by the very apologetic employee who offered me another room - a real upgrade for the same price. I was not in a hurry and I offered to wait but the employee insisted that I deserved the upgrade, so I went and enjoyed the rest of my stay. This was actually the third time that Siena has provided me an upgrade (with no additional cost), and the first two were without eventful precedence. I don't even think anymore when I go to Reno about where to stay. Siena is in a great location and does not have the overwhelming presence of a big casino-hotel environment. I'm from Las Vegas.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xbertlab702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Recently renovated (again), and very tastefully done. Very nice interior and exterior. Near the new baseball park in Reno, and several excellent restaurants. Rooms overlook the river, and bar/restaurants are very solid. Service is very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Address: One South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Siena Hotel)
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#13 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away isn’t about holding back. It’s about indulging, rewarding and savoring every moment. As Reno’s only non-gaming, non-smoking, full-service branded hotel, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel offers a different kind of setting – one with state-of-the-art everything, incredible riverfront views, exceptional fine and casual dining, luxury accommodations, a rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, impressive wine cellar, first-rate meeting facilities, and an exclusive bocce venue to take your escape to the next level. Located in the heart of downtown Reno and on the banks of the Truckee River, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel is your ideal home base to explore the incredible Sierra Nevada setting, mere minutes from a thriving Midtown, happening Riverwalk District and endless outdoor activities. Explore nearby Lake Tahoe. Soak up the region’s rich western history. Or plan to attend one of the Biggest Little City’s many acclaimed special events, such as Artown, Hot August Nights or the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival. This is getting away the right way. This is Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel – redefining Reno, one guest at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing