We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Despite Reno experiencing a great reduction in tourism Cal Neva has made improvements. Last time we were here one of the bed frames were broken. When we mentioned this to maintenance it wasn't viewed as any thing on their fix in the near future list. That was a year ago. This time the beds were comfortable. Coffee maker, very quite fridge, temperature, cleanliness were all a great step above from our last experience. Hallways were quite. We would stay again. Of course having comp nights helps in that decision. We also really like the casino staff. They are usually very friendly. Remember to tip when you win! Karma!

Room Tip: We always ask to be away from the elevator due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and my fiancee just recently stayed at the Club Cal Neva Hotel for the second time. The first time while we was staying are key card failed to unlock the doors and my fiancee had an accident while waiting for 45 minutes for the maintaince staff to let us in. So after one and a half years with two night comp rooms in hand we thought we would give Cal Neva another chance for my birthday weekend. On May 9th 2014 we checked in. Room appeared to be okay except one of the elevators was brokedown. We arrived at approximately 4 pm and went out for a little while. We returned at approximately 7pm showered and changed and went out for the evening. At approximately 3 am on May 10th my birthday my fiancee went back to the hotel room from the Cal Neva Casino to retrieve some of her money she had in her purse to gamble with. Upon getting onto the only elevator working a black male ran from the elevator as it opened up almost knocking down my fiancee down. Upon reaching the 12th floor she tried her keycard multiply times at our room. Upon getting ready to leave thinking why won't her card work once again, the door opened up and a women came out of the door way. My fiancee was confused thinking that maybe this wasn't our room, but upon looking into our room she actually seen it was our room our stuff was strungout everywhere. My wife confronted the lady which appeared to be a prostitute by her attire what are you doing in our room. She then pushed her back and made her stay in the room until she was able to call security while waiting she seen a crackpipe and a marijuana cigarrette on the nightstand. Approximately 5 minutes later and two phone calls they arrived at the room to detain the lady that broke into our room. Reno Police Department was called and she was arrested for tresspassing and burglary. While the police was onsite we discovered $980.00 was missing from mine and her money her cell phone and 3 packs of Marlboro cigarettes. Since the incident I have been playing phone tag with the Risk Assessment manager Ashley. Today May 16th 2014 I spoke with her and told her that I felt that their establishment was liable for all our property as well as any of there guest should feel secure staying at thier facility. She told me that she wasn't going to compensate and/or reemburse any of our losses. Oh yeah except another night in hell hotel and 100 dollars free play really right now. Clearly this establishment doesn't care about their patrons and lets just whoever run free within there hotel and rob people. I now am in the process of filing a complaint with the Nevada Better Business Bureau and I want the public to be aware of Club Cal Nevas shady business ethics towards there customers. PLEASE DON'T EVER STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our room was broken into by theifs. All of our money and cell phones and personal property was stolen. Casino risk management Ashley farmer is saying the hotel is not responsible. I actually caught a woman in our room and held her there until police came. Do not stay here

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank milliondollarruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were there to see a show playing at the hotel and figured the convenience of staying on site coupled with the nightly rate we couldn't go wrong.

The grounds are well kept, the rooms fit the bill but it is clearly obvious the hotels hey day has passed. The staff at check in and out were very courteous - even offering us a complimentary upgrade to a lakeview room due to the low occupancy rate.

We were there during the winter months so we were unable to take advantage of the pool or spas but our room was large and clean, good shower pressure and most importantly the drinks were stiff and reasonably priced.

Would stay again if circumstances were right - show at hotel, one night stop over spot - but this is not a destination hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Club Cal neva is old and it shows do not confuse the place with a resort it is for the most part a low class locals dive the hotel even doubles as a residential hotel, the staff is rude if you complain they will act as if you did something wrong, after fifty one years of being in business they have done no visible major renovations which says they do not care , Cal Neva is without doubt the worst hotel casino in Reno.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lazarus i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

5 of us stayed up there for the weekend of 1/4/2014----1/6/2014. Well trip started ok until our friend got robbed in his room on 1/5/2014. Hotel Security/Hotel Manager/Casino Manager all blew it off like it wasnt a big deal. We knew the exact times it had to happen and with some easy investigation on there part could have determined if it was a outside party or part of there Staff that came into the room. All parts of Cal Neva wanted to put this behind them like nothing had happened and it was not a big deal.We asked that maybe they would compensate our friend for his loss, and Cal-Neva was firm that they wouldnt do that either.
Pretty difficult to recommend this flea bag Hotel/Casino and Staff to anyone for future use.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank James F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Fun enviornment, didnt game here but it had alot of games available. the food was very cheap and very good. Play keno while you dine. friendly staff. Will be back for sure, have heard great things about the steak resturant, cannot wait to try it and also game there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.0 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Club
Plaza Resort Club
#19 of 64 in Reno
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89501-1410
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing