We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Reno”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Cal Neva is by far the best deal in Reno. The hotel rates are reasonable, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is the most friendly that I have encountered anywhere. The casino also have great value, with liberal slot machines, $3 blackjack, $4.95 Steak and Fries, and staff that will go out of their way to help. This is a must play location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff-Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Neva is everything I expected! A great place to gamble, eat (best bang for your buck in Reno is the Top Deck Rest. and the hidden gem is the Steak and Pasta Shoppe), drink, sing (yes they have karaoke),stay, bet sports, weekend beer pong tournaments, anything you could ask...Yes the Neva is a older property but if you looking for value and fun, the Neva cant be matched! if you head tor Reno you gotta stop by the Neva, guaranteed great time!! GO NEVA..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rivercatken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I really don't care what anyone else says. This place rocked!

First of all, the hotel was reasonably priced. The rooms were clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. John - presumably the hotel manager - was very helpful and accessible all weekend long.

The casino though was the best reason for staying here. $1 beers and $3 blackjack? I think I was at the blackjack table for about 6 hours while my wife pounded the penny slots. She finally had to drag me out of there at 3 a.m. because she was hungry.

The Top Deck Restaurant has great deals when you're trying to soak up all the $1 beers at 3 a.m. They have a value menu that has $5.99 Prime Rib and Fries and a $3.99 Night Owl menu that you can't beat. But I recommend the prime rib. Just as good as anywhere else and costs about 2/3 less.

You can usually find great deals anywhere you go, but rarely do you find a place that has great value and the kind of excellent service you find at the Cal Neva. From the hotel to the casino to the restaurants, a lot of the staff remembered our names and were always friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this place to any of my friends. By staying here, we were able to get the most out of trip and won't soon forget it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Earthquake95118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great price, clean rooms. In the heart of Downtown Reno. Food in Casino was VALUE $5.99 Prime Rib. $3 Blackjack and lots and lots of Penny machines. Dealers were awesome. John in Hotel was very helpful and Valet was quick. Great stay and 100% Value. Also Free WIFI.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank ManU12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Looks shady....yes. Interesting characters in the casino....yes. A bit run down....absolutely. Yet this place was the hidden gem in the Reno area. Right across the street from Harrahs, this casino has the best beer price in town! $1 gets you a tall boy budlight. Thats right a $1! The slots are pretty loose too. I didn't win big, but I didn't go home broke. I would recommend for a good time if you like a whole in the wall hangout!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank specialkay1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Take a 50s hotel, throw in a ton of smoke and dirt, mix in the worst of the worst that Reno has to offer and you have Cal Neva. This place is so nasty and the service is lacking. Restrooms are in terrible shape. There is no possible way that these guys pass any inspection. Stay as far away as possible.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
6  Thank renoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Despite Reno experiencing a great reduction in tourism Cal Neva has made improvements. Last time we were here one of the bed frames were broken. When we mentioned this to maintenance it wasn't viewed as any thing on their fix in the near future list. That was a year ago. This time the beds were comfortable. Coffee maker, very quite fridge, temperature, cleanliness were all a great step above from our last experience. Hallways were quite. We would stay again. Of course having comp nights helps in that decision. We also really like the casino staff. They are usually very friendly. Remember to tip when you win! Karma!

Room Tip: We always ask to be away from the elevator due to noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.0 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Club
Plaza Resort Club
#20 of 64 in Reno
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Address: 38 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89501-1410
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing