We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible exotic animal sanctuary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animal Ark

Animal Ark
Ranked #9 of 124 things to do in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incredible exotic animal sanctuary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We recently attended the Cheetah Run at the Animal Ark outside Reno, NV. In addition to seeing the 3 cheetahs run, we toured the rest of the grounds with other animals in cages. We saw a tiger very close, a mountain lion, a lynx, wolves, owls, raptors, and other animals. The animals are well cared for yet kept as wild as possible. Seeing the cheetahs run was exhilirating! They are beautiful animals that love to run and chase their prey yet are very endangered. The staff was very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. Visit if you have the chance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    49
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Washboard Dirt Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The health and variety of animals is so very worth the drive. Price is under $10. per person. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Really glad we made the trip after thinking about it for many years. There is also a playground for young children. Sodas and waters available midway through the self guided tour on the honor system. Just great all the way around!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Animal Ark is an interesting place. Many of the animals came to the Ark because they needed to be rescued. It is a long drive from Reno but it is worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BadgerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Animal Ark helps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Animal Ark takes in wild animals that are lost, hurt, mistreated or just in need of a home. I great place to take the kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Educational and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very friendly staff. The animals look like they are cared for very well. It was a nice side adventure for our stay in Reno.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Animal Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing