We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly resort”

Mt. Rose Ski Resort
Ranked #5 of 136 things to do in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family friendly resort”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We've gone to Mt. Rose several times and have never been disappointed! The staff is friendly and helpful and the price is great for a family budget.

Helpful?
1 Thank NORA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    93
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice day”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We went on dec 15 and enjoyed very much the lifts, the personnel was very friendly, lockers were cheap and there was plenty of snow, the only problem perhaps was that it was very windy, as it is located in the highest peak in the area, so I recommend a good face cover, other than that has a lot of trails and pretty much good for all skill levels, and very few people, I didnt have to wait in lane, although the lifts might be a little slow.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HoracioHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
1 review
“Very unorganized and a waste of the whole day”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We decided to go to Mt. Rose Ski Resort because we read good reviews, but we were very dissappointed once we got there. We have two boys: 11 and 8 years old who were very tired and upset from waiting toooo long in lines. This resort is very unorganized, and they make you stand in line after line for hours which wasted the whole day for us. We arrived 10 am and the kids started actually skiing around 2:30 pm, and by 4:30, it was getting colder and dark, so we had to leave. They don't have enough employees to get you started quickly. If you are parents with kids, they you will have to stand in 2 different sets of lines; adults and parents. They need to have one line for adults with kids or somehow accomodate the parents with their kids to get them to at least pay once, so we didn't have to stand for too many lines. It was a waste of all the money we spent and most importantly the time we lost.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Omaima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Challenging peak”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I'm into hiking, not skiing. Mt Rose trail presents a good
challenge for a senior. Trail begins at 8,900' level and
traverses 4.5 miles with an elevation gain of 1,900' to
the summit of Mt. Rose (10,887') Scenic views abound
enroute, including lake Tahoe and Reno to the east.
DOT works hard to keep the road open year around,
which is a monumental task given the adverse snow
conditions at such an altitude. Modern and clean
restrooms are a plus at the trailhead. Get out and
enjoy the fresh air and good exercise for the heart!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank busybeaks16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is the locals ski area, so it doesn't get as horribly crowded as the international resorts. I suppose it disappoints the double-black-diamond crowd, but that's not me. Hardly 35 minutes drive from where I work! Not good for productivity...

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt. Rose Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rose Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing