We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40 years of great food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miguel's Mexican Food

Miguel's Mexican Food
Ranked #57 of 905 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“40 years of great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been going to Miguels for years & years. Every time we try a new Mexican restaurent we always ask ourselves why when Miguels is the best!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CindyLee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Recently visited this restaurant based on its above-average reviews but found it to be very mediocre. Couldn't help but notice they cater to their "regulars" who walk in and seat themselves at the tables of their choices. We were seated right next to the entrance. When the server asked for our order and we requested for just a moment longer to decide, as punishment, she elected to ignore us for quite some while after that - even though the restaurant was not busy. Just as we were about to give up, a much nicer wait staff member noticed we had been abandoned and then got things rolling again. We decided to order various combo plates, two of which had chile rellenos in them. Much to our disappointment, the chile rellenos were obviously made with green chiles from a can. Nothing authentic or outstanding about any of the food we were served. That, along with the disappointing service we received, will likely cause us to skip this place in the future. Plus side, food was served hot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShickaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gringo Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Miguel's gets great reviews but I found it to be predictable and boring. The food is bland, including the salsa. Chips were good. Service was fine. It was packed on a Friday night with lots of families and children. The atmosphere is festive. I'd rather go to Boito's or Tacos del Rey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug89523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food in Reno- Go Figure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visiting my son in Reno and decided to get some Mexican food. Checked TripAdvisor and queried "good" Mexican food in Reno and Miguel's came up with high reviews. Went there for dinner at 5:15 and the place was packed which is a good sign. Waited 10 minutes to be seated. Ordered a total of 2 margaritas which were very good. They actually had alcohol in them and you could taste it :). My dinner order was a side order of beans, tortillas soup, Chili Colorado and Flan. Everything was VERY good. The soup was excellent and the Chili Colorado was very flavorful. The service was quick and courteous. I spoke with the female owner who was directing her staff like a Field General :). Not in a bad way, just very precise and orderly. I watched her work the room, talking with customers and maintaining control of the restaurant. I told her of my excellent dining experience. She was very appreciative. This is a family run business which should do very well. I would definitely recommend this eatery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PuggleLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average- bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Went for valentines day with my girlfriend. Other than taking 1 drink order and bringing our food. We never saw our waiter again. We couldnt even get a refill on our soctor pepper. I ordered a bee enchilada and I must say that Taco bell does better. It was bland and only had crappy ground beef! Not even shredded! They will have to make some huge changes if they want to stay afloat. Anyways I will never go back. Hacienda in Reno is MUCH BETTER

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyboy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miguel's Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Miguel's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing