We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland Food and Noisy”

Miguel's Mexican Food
Ranked #53 of 917 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Bland Food and Noisy”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This restaurant has been here for donkey's years. Service is excellent. Prices very fair. The food however is very bland and mild. Blindfolded, I wouldn't have known it was Mexican. I am not into overly hot dishes but this was just not flavorful. It was also extremely noisy with the background music turned up too loud and then everyone trying to talk over it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon33191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    42
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sad! We picked this place as the place had high reviews on trip advisor, but this was sad! The shells were horrible! Do not, Do not come here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still Hasn't Improved”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I decided to again try Miguel's since we hadn't been there since 1998 at which time it was not good. Service was excellent but that's the only positive. I ordered a 20 oz. regular margarita and it was almost like drinking water. The complimentary salsa was spicy so we asked for a less spicy salsa and I swear that it was heated spaghetti sauce. The chips provided were warm and tasted fine until they cooled and then tasted like cardboard. I ordered a cheese enchilada and chile relleno and the word "different" comes to mind and not in a good way. My husband ordered a tostada and said it was "okay". The place was quite busy and appeared to be loyal clientele but they apparently know the good tasting things to order?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSandDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If cheese is your thing, this is your place!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We lucked into a street parking spot and had lunch for 4. The service was spotty (two different people serving us, but neither checking in or being at all attentive). The food was flavorful, but very cheesy. We has chicken enchiladas, a chile relleno, and onion enchiladas with a nacho appetizer. We were stuffed to the gills when we left!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Focus on dessert”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We noticed this restaurant on TripAdvisor and we took a chance on in. Despite the average rating of 4 stars, it turned out to be quite the place. Iris was our waitress and she did a great job. Ask for her.

Helpful?
Thank Simi_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Miguel's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing