We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reno Fun Train - Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reno Fun Train

Reno Fun Train
Ranked #53 of 125 things to do in Reno
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Key Holidays of Walnut Creek, CA operates the weekend Reno Fun Train and midweek Reno Snow Train only in February and March. This special charter train departs from the SF Bay Area to Reno and includes choice of Reno Hotel, meals on train, dance car, piano lounge,strolling minstrels and more.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reno Fun Train - Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had an Excellent Flash back in time party on the Reno Fun Train! 1950's Special Railcars.
Met lots of great party people on the Train, seems like everyone was in a great mood. Left Sacramento, chugged throught the beautiful Mountian seenery and listened to some wonderful music. We especially enjoyed the Dome Car, double decker with windows all around and terrific food, and drinks. Sooo Fun!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reno Fun Train!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

What a great time. The St. Patrick's train was a blast. The staff are wonderful and so helpful. they go out of their way. Excellent customer service. The people are fun and the band was outstanding. Can't wait to go again next year.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Blast! Deadbeats Stay Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The St Patrick's Day Fun Train was incredible! We met a ton of people on the train, danced, listened to the band in one car and a blues guitairist in another car, and saw spectacular scenery in the "Dome Car". I loved the
1940s-1950s eras special railcars. The hosts and hostesses were great
and the entertainers as well. You SHOULD DRESS UP to have the most fun on these "themed fun trains". They give you a choice of hotel options,
most of which are within a couple blocks of the train station but they still
provide hotel transportation. The Automobile Museum is a great thing to see on the Saturday you are there. "Key Holidays" provides a simple lunch
up and on the return and you can buy snacks and beverages on board.
Most people brought their own beer, wine, bottles, and plastic glasses and ice are provided. There is an option for an upgrade to gold class cars, but
I enjoyed exploring the various other cars. Photographers even take shots of this train from the side of the tracks for its historic cars and the big teddy bear strapped to the front of the engine ! Dress up and be prepared to have a great trip ! (21 and older as this is not a family trip).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

What fun!! We went on the St. Paddy’s Day weekend. Lots of folks in costume and partying but they were fun folks, no one was rude or so loud as to be bothersome. Great on board entertainment –a wonderful Zydeco band (who played at the Emeryville and Reno stations before boarding as well) in the dance car and a pianist in the bar car. A very talented fellow who did card tricks and the best Elvis I’ve ever seen traveled between all the cars, entertaining passengers. The entire staff was wonderful. We were spoiled by our car attendant, Mary. She kept the bathrooms and the entire car clean and made sure we had everything we needed – ice, water, coffee, drinks, pillows, etc. Enjoyed the view from the passenger cars as well as from the dome car, even though there wasn’t a lot of snow to see this late in what’s been a dry winter. The entire staff was very knowledgeable about the train and the terrain we traveled through. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip and will definitely return.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DoreneH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benicia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Train Really is Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

I have been taking the Fun Train for many years and have always had a fabulous time! The customer service both on the train and at Key Holidays is exceptional. Everyone always goes out of their way to be helpful. The gentleman that wrote the Fun Train is No Fun obviously doesn't travel much or he would know that the airlines cancel flights all the time and don't even give you a refund but a credit toward a future flight. Of course it is disappointing when you have travel plans and then they fall through but "things happen" and sometimes you just have to roll with the punches!

Helpful?
8 Thank BeniciaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reno Fun Train also viewed

 

Been to Reno Fun Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing