We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel hosts are very friendly and helpful. The newly remodeled rooms are spacious and spectacular. Most of all I loved the newly remodeled spa, includes beautiful and modern feel of the heated coed jacuzzi, steam room, and dry sauna, they were all worth trying; but if u get a facial or massage there, which I highly recommend, then all the amenities are accessible at no extra charge !!! A huge plus !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieLimChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent experience at the Grand Sierra Resort. We are extremely proud of the quality of our property and the outstanding service levels our team delivers on a daily basis. We hope we can serve you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,999
    3,254
    1,333
    502
    325
See reviews for
3,573
3,537
826
1,524
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Travel to Reno often and enjoy staying at The Grand Sierra Resort. Always stay on the top floors of the Summit Tower, pictures of the other rooms do not look good. Been to Reno seven times this year and stayed at Grand Sierra Resort five out of my seven trips. Claudia , who serves breakfast in the café is always friendly and attentive. Even though I do not drink coffee, it is nice that there is a Starbucks to get chai tea. I got to get used to Starbucks closing so early, I guess I am used to the hours of the Starbucks in Times Square.I hope when the spa is done being remodeled hotel guests will be able to use the steam room without having to purchase a spa service. I would not mind paying a fee to use the steam room. They are putting money into the hotel so it should be really nice when finished. On my last trip I seen Escape, it was a really good show. The driving range for hitting golf balls is unique and also a lot of fun, I hope the smoke from the forest fires clears up for my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us .We appreciate you posting your review to TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to read that Claudia took great care of you. Thank God wildfires are gone; most definitely for your next visit the air will be nice and clear. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The current management has done a fabulous (that's the only word to describe it) renovation of what was the old MGM Grand. From the lowest floor to the upper guest room floors the place has been thoroughly modernized.
Lobby, restaurants and casino areas are actually well designed and executed to be inviting to people.
Guest rooms are modern,clean and comfortable. No problems at all during a 3 night stay.
Surprised to see this sort of update in Reno!

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Hello Andy, thanks for sharing your experience at GSR with TripAdvisor
we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and noticed all of the upgrades! Over the last year, the property has invested more than $25 million in renovations. There's still more exciting attractions to come. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My girlfriend and I both enjoy coming to the Grand Sierra Resort,due to its location, the closeness to downtown without the parts of downtown, most out of towner's want to see. Also enjoy the atmosphere and the pay tables on some of our favorite Slots and Video Poker/Keno. Seems as though winning here is taken very seriously. When you win here it feels like you are a true blue blooded gambler out in the old west. Not quite, that drastic, but in all honesty if you are coming to Reno Tahoe for a great casino with a great sense of winning and, a ton a ton of activities for all ages. The Grand Sierra is the place to stay hands down. Great staff, great food, great shows, loose machines and even fun for the whole family at; the movie theatre, the fun quest arcade, gaming center(with laser tag, and indoor carnival style games) One of the biggest if not the best driving range in town,outdoor concerts, huge ballrooms for events, a go-kart track and ultimate rush thrill ride. Plus with all of the events that come through the Reno/Sparks/Lake Tahoe area you cant come into town at a bad time. Plus close vicinity to the airport and downtown casinos you wont want to go anywhere else!
Come down and check out the new and improved Grand Sierra Resort and Casino!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyB789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for posting your review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino. We are happy to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed many of our great amenities, and that your experience was a positive one. Please visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

When ever I travel on an airplane which means I have to go to an airport, so I figure why not Reno's. I love Reno anyway because it lowers the stress of flying. Taking it one step further, I love the stay at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino after returning from one of the those stressful flights. Grand Sierra's room have been up graded to fantastic when it comes to hotel accommodations. I love the comfort and quiet. The king size bed I usually get is outstanding and I melt to sleep. No more stress after returning from the airport. I love the food, fun, and activities that go on at the Grand Sierra when I awaken from the rest I've received from my hotel bed. The Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is hard to beat when it comes to relaxation. The staff are equal to the task of accommodations. I look forward to staying there every time I plan a trip.

Room Tip: There really is no need to second guest this resort and casino. You love it on everyone of your exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed many of the great amenities at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino. We are currently undergoing a $25-million remodel as a commitment to provide our guests with the best amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Went to Reno for Labor Day Weekend and stayed at the Grand Sierra Resort for 1 night. The hotel is super nice and big. The check in process was quick and easy since we arrived late. The only room they had available was a smoking room on the first floor, which was fine. Looking at the website, it said they recently renovated the rooms but when we walked inside ours that was not the case. I guess I assumed ALL the rooms were renovated. The room was #163 and it was pretty big which was good, but the carpets had stains and the bathtub and shower were old and could use updating. The pillows were so stiff that my husband and I both woke up with stiff necks. This resort is very nice but these rooms need some major updates and renovations. We will most likely try this hotel again but try and get one of the newer renovated rooms.

Room Tip: get one of newer rooms located on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donishia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your last visit to the Grand Sierra Resort. We take pride in providing each guest with a good experience every time they visit. I would appreciate it, if you would take the time to email us at social@grandsierraresort.com so that we may contact you to discuss this further. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Don't stay anywhere else. You won't be disappointed here where they have classy rooms and superior hotel staff. The summit tower rooms are great - super comfortable beds, large bathroom, microwave, safe, and flat screen tv made our stay so relaxing. The casino dealers are so friendly and helpful. The renovations to the casino bar and sports book are really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the summit tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 808choosytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello, thanks for posting your review to TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you had an exceptional resort experience at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino. We look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.5 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit
Grand Sierra Resort And Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing