We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Very Nice For The Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Found a great deal for a quick get away and was pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of things to do: bowling, swimming, mini golf, race carts, golf driving range, video games, and a movie theater. The breakfast buffet was really good and the room spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi chrismcast!
We appreciate you sharing your “very nice” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you took advantage of one of our many deals and were pleasantly surprised. Grand Sierra truly has so much to do all under one roof, and it sounds like you enjoyed many of our amenities. We are pleased you enjoyed the Buffet as well as your room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,937)
There are newer reviews for Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12,530 - 12,536 of 13,945 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It was my first stay at GSR as we normally stay at Boomtown when we come into town to do some off-road riding. It was my birthday trip so we went big and got a suite. The room was very nice and offered great amenities. We decided to have a nice simple dinner so we headed to the cafe where we were seated with James as our server. He was very great and attentive and took care of our odd requests. It was a great experience overall and mu fiance and I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrohmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello astrohmeyer!
Thank you for sharing your “Great” review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled your first experience at Grand Sierra was great and you were able to celebrate your birthday with us! Our suites are luxurious and spacious. James in the Grand Café is an excellent server and we will be sure to recognize him for taking care of your every need. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Grand Sierra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Grand Sierra has large clean rooms and helpful staff, but I think their biggest crowd pleaser is their Dinner Buffet. On Thursdays, they have Beef Ribs, tender with BBQ sauce, a favorite of my family, plus so many other items, you are sure to be pleased with their many fine selections. We eat out a lot and this is good quality food, not cheap stuff like other casinos serve. We highly recommend trying it out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello Sandy D!
Thank you for sharing your “Best Buffet” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to be your hotel and Buffet of choice! Elements buffet has a wide variety of amazing food, and we are excited your family enjoyed the Beef Ribs! We are thrilled to have earned your personal recommendation and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a group in for golf. Ken Matsuzaki set up our tee times and was great help. Everyone in the group was well taken care of and there were no problems. Had the same experience last year and will do it again next.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Geoffrey S!
Thank you for sharing your excellent review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you were back again this year to enjoy your golf trip! Ken is an outstanding host and we will certainly recognize him for making sure you were well taken care of. We look forward to your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have been to many buffets in Reno including what others think is the best buffet (Atlantis); however, while i am not in love with staying at the Grand Sierra Resort, I can say their breakfast, lunch, and especially dinner buffet is 5 stars. The food tastes homemade.The pork ribs were yummy. I was really surprised. I ate there approx 4 times. The dinner is very generous and the food was simply well made and presented. Jessica and Ron run the buffet. Both are very competent and interested in feedback about any potential issues. Again, top rated food for this hotel. If you are a local you should check it out too as i believe there is a special deal of you. Price worth it if you are hungry. ONE LAST THING: the desserts were outstanding with a chocolate fountain, and the desserts take great not fake and icky. I will be back again and again.

Room Tip: I don't really know.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIlll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Jllll!
Thank you for sharing your 5-star review for our Buffet! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all 4 meals you had at the Buffet, and we appreciate your detailed review! Our culinary team works hard to ensure all items are fresh and tasty, especially the desserts! Both Ron and Jessica are excellent team members and we will be sure to recognize them for making your experience memorable. We look forward to your next visit with us and subsequent meals at the Buffet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

we had ken matsuzaki, VIP host at GSR to reserve our weekend tournament at wolf run and coyote creek. he got us good rates at both courses with mid morning tee times.

we also got a suite with two adjoining bedrooms and all of stayed on the same floor with discounted weekend rates.

ken also went out of his way to get our refreshments and have them iced in two coolers.

all of our members enjoyed staying at GSR and the great hospitality treatment we received.

we will return next year as well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stanyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi stanyama!
We appreciate you sharing your excellent review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you and your golf group enjoyed your stay with us. Ken is an outstanding host and his attention to detail is well noted. We are pleased to hear he made sure your cooler was ready to go so you could enjoy your time on the golf course. We will certainly recognize him for his efforts. We look forward to your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank for a great time in Reno! Ken Matsuzaki (Executive Casino Host) is the man!! for making are golf and gambling very easy for 14 friends. We told Ken what we wanted to do in Reno. Then he gave me a list of golf courses, shows and resturants, that I could chooose. Ken made all the tee times, shows and restaurants reservations.

Next year we will be back because of Ken!!! Thanks again....Tony Mar from Seattle

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Tony M!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Ken is an outstanding host and we will certainly recognize him for going above and beyond to ensure your trip was exceptional. We look forward to your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,885 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.1 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: £52 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit
Grand Sierra Resort And Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing