We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick getaway”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent room and clean. Check in line had about 20 people ahead of us - but amazingly it took only about 5 minutes to get through the line! Impressive. The Elements buffet was superb - lots of choices and great service. The food at the Mexican restaurant was great and the salsa bar was nice!

Room Tip: Beautiful room on the 11th floor overlooking the pool and beach volleyball court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayway52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello wayway52!
Thank you for sharing your excellent review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed by our Front Desk team at check-in. Elements Buffet and the Cantina are both wonderful dining choices and we are pleased you were able to experience both restaurants. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,499
    3,493
    1,407
    544
    353
See reviews for
3,857
3,822
891
1,653
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent the night at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino and had a wonderful time. Our room was great with a view of downtown Reno.
Ate at Charlie Palmers with friends and had the best dinner and service...our casino host, Darrel Williams always makes sure that my husband and I are well taken care of...thanks, Darrel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Cindy H!
Thank you for sharing your “good times” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your room with a view of Reno. Charlie Palmer Steak is fine dining at its best and we are thrilled to hear you and your friends enjoyed your experience there. Darrel is an outstanding host and we will be sure to recognize him for taking good care of you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Was offered a complimentary room. Check in was easy and pleasant. Was given a room on the 16th floor. New hallways and rooms updated. Six elevators but only one working. Once in the room, TV remote not working and sink faucet not connected to counter top. Called for the TV remote and was given a new one in less than 5 mins. We fixed the bathroom faucet ourselves, from under the sink. A/C in room worked well. New decor was better than old decor. No safe nor refrigerator in room. Mattresses may not have been updated and felt unfirm. Room and bathroom very spacious. Toilet flush very noisy. Nice shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeep_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Jeep_Rick!
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate the detailed feedback you provided about your room and have shared your review with our Housekeeping team. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our remodel and your experience at check-in. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For the past year we have spent quite a bit of time at the Grand Sierra. We enjoy the atmosphere, the employees, the restaurants, the casino games, pool, the rooms-in short almost everything. We would like to acknowledge one of our favorite employees, Sunny Patel, the Slot Floor Manager. She has been exceptional. She always says hi and calls us by our first names; she always has a smile and cheerful personality; she always asks if there is anything she can do for us-she is very attentive, alert and always thanks us for coming to the Grand Sierra. She is a refreshing joy and is one of the main reasons we come as often as we do.

Irene and Robert

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Robert S!
Thank you for sharing your “extraordinary” review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your loyalty to the Grand Sierra! We are delighted to hear you enjoy everything Grand Sierra has to offer. Sunny is an outstanding team member and we will be sure to recognize her for going above and beyond to create a warm and inviting atmosphere for you while you are here. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are locals who eat in the Grand Cafe in the Grand Sierra Resort at least once a week. We ask for our server by name, Jaclyn Lindgren. Jackie is always cheerful and a delight to speak with. We always receive our food in a timely manner and Jackie always makes sure to check back to be sure our food is good and to make sure we have all we need. Because of Jackie and the quality and variety of food at the Grand Cafe, we wil continue our date nights at the GSR. The atmosphere is delightful and the staff terrific. Jackie makes our dining experience fun and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 116KateG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi 116KateG!
Thank you for sharing your fabulous review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your loyalty to the Grand Café and Grand Sierra! Jacklyn is an outstanding server and team member and we will certainly recognize her for her continuous dedication to excellent service. We are thrilled to be your choice for date night, and look forward to your next meal with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The parking lot was full, construction was going full bore, and the check-in line was amazingly long--it was Wednesday. Seems we hit it for Rodeo week in Reno.
Unfortunately, the computers at the GSR were down and had been for several hours. Extra staff was brought in to help with the situation. When the President serves you water and apologizes and the VP works to check in folks you know they are really trying to make things right. The line went fairly quickly and met some nice people in the wait.
The new decor is pleasant but nothing to be overjoyed about. The rooms we had was a King; it seemed to have all of the furniture pushed to one area leaving giant voids in the room. Odd to say but too much space for the furniture and inadequate seating for two. Hoping this is a trial run and they get the decorating kinks out of the rooms.
The breakfast buffet was ho-hum. Seems it has fallen in the quality of yesteryear. It was included in the room price so I guess we can't complain.
The pool area was in the process of remodeling and due for completion soon. Since I am slow in writing, it is probably completed at this date.
All in all, a decent experience.

Room Tip: The pool side tends to have noise during the summer months. Avoid if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello grammawa44!
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! We genuinely appreciate all feedback we receive from our Guests and apologize you experienced a wait at the Front Desk during check-in. We have a commitment to excellence here at Grand Sierra that starts with our executive leadership and is felt by every team member. We are glad to hear the line moved quickly. Our pool upgrade indeed has been completed and it has become quite a popular spot for our hotel Guests wanting to enjoy our warm Reno summer. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Love Grand Sierra Resort and Casino. It is my favorite place to visit when I am in Reno. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. There are varieties of great restaurants to eat for the whole family. Love to gamble so I find GSR has many choices of machines and tables I love. If I need to take a break...........I can go shopping or go bowling without leaving the resort. There are many fun things for the children can do as well. A great place for the whole family as well for us gamblers. The staffs are all excellent. Ken Matsuzaki, is one of the reasons all my friends and I keep returning to GSR. An excellent executive host. He is not only very friendly and personal but very helpful even to everyone he meets. An extraordinary employee. Keep up the great job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello June K!
Thank you for sharing your “excellent” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you loved your stay with us. Grand Sierra truly does have so much to do under one roof and we are pleased you were able to enjoy so many of our wonderful amenities. Ken is an “extraordinary employee” and we will be certain to recognize him for his friendliness and helpfulness, and for making your experience so memorable. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
2.1 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit
Grand Sierra Resort And Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing