We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and have fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Spend six nights there early July.
Worth the time. Room was okay bit dated but clean and tidy.
Plenty of choice with food, had breakfast at Grand Cafe which was very good. Attended concert at Grand Hall. Would certainly stay there again.
One recommendation would be for house keeping to change bed sheets at least once during a longer stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BrianNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello BrianNz,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review for GSR. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Also, thank you very much for the recommendation. We will definitely look at our processes for improvement. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,907 - 12,913 of 14,350 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Erlinda Brion

I always have a great experience at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino. Their hospitality staff is always very helpful and accommodating. My casino host, Ron Pedrotti is awesome! His customer service is impeccable. He always makes me and my family feel welcome. I would highly reccommend staying at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erlinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hello Erlinda B!
Thank you for sharing your “excellent” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you always enjoy your stay with us! We pride ourselves on service excellence and are pleased to hear we delivered just that. Ron is an outstanding host and we will be certain to recognize him for going out of his way to ensure you and your family feel welcome. We appreciate your personal recommendation and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

i have to say this place is amazing. i have stayed here several times before pre and post burning man so never had a chance to actually enjoy the hotel's amenities. i recently stayed here with my family (husband, 7 year old son and mother) over the Canada Day long weekend and we had a fab time. we stayed in the summit which has very nice,clean, large & modern rooms. we don't gamble but had more than enough to keep ourselves entertained. our days were spent lounging by the pool in the lovely cabanas. there were so many other activities for us to do as a family as well: go-karting, bowling, and a driving range. there is a great selection of restaurant choices too (thai, mexican, steak, buffet) and my son, in particular, loved the breakfast buffet. on the saturday evening we had an opportunity to check out the new mega night club. WOW! we felt like we were in las vegas. it certainly exceeded our expectations and we absolutely loved the decor and visual effects behind the DJ booth. perhaps our only complaint with GSR were the painfully slow elevators for the first 2 days we were there. they did manage to speed up on our last day so we left on a very positive note. Overall, would totally recommend and it's fantastic for families.

Room Tip: Stay in the Summit tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Debiko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hi Debiko007!
Thank you for sharing your “fantastic” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you were able to bring your family to Grand Sierra and enjoy our wonderful amenities. Our beautiful pool offers a refreshing place to spend the day, and we are glad you were able to spend time relaxing there. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our luxurious and wildly popular Summit rooms. We are thrilled you were able to attend our special VIP sneak-peak event in LEX, our new nightclub. We are excited to hear the club exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I flew from Australia to Reno with a three hour layover in LA so my body clock was out of whack. This is certainly the right place if you are looking for a 24 hour bowling alley within the accommodation, and fifty lanes at that. Reliable and quick airport transfers on offer and a solid option with good mid week out of season rates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello Peter H!
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! Grand Sierra offers entertainment and amenities 24 hours a day. We are pleased you enjoyed our 50 lane Bowling Center as you adjusted to the time difference. As a seasoned traveler, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Worst experience I've had. We Stay here all the time for the past 5+ years. We stayed this past weekend july 3rd to the 6th we went home a day early came home the 5th. First they gave us the wrong rooms they gave us the gsr rooms (Don't Get the GSR Rooms the Summit Rooms are way nicer) we were suppose to get the summit rooms we get them all the time (we booked it a month in advance) and then they said they are all full and cant do anything but i looked that day on my phone about the rooms we are suppose to get and showed they were available. Manager/Supervisor was very rude did not even offer anything. Then we get up to our rooms.. the worst a/c in a room ive stayed in ever, they worked on it and it was the same even the maintenance worker said the a/c sucks.. After that we left our rooms very early like 7am and come back at 5pm and rooms were not even cleaned had to fight with housekeepers for almost 1hr and a half to do our rooms.. And one of our rooms we had to run down to front desk 3 times to get new keys to get in to the room then the next day the whole key card door lock completely goes out not even security could get in. They don't even respond or try to help at all about a bad experience especially a long time customer.. Shows how they care about long time customers.. Overall the worst time ever in years going here. Got to switch back to peppermill or atlantis now I guess!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent room and clean. Check in line had about 20 people ahead of us - but amazingly it took only about 5 minutes to get through the line! Impressive. The Elements buffet was superb - lots of choices and great service. The food at the Mexican restaurant was great and the salsa bar was nice!

Room Tip: Beautiful room on the 11th floor overlooking the pool and beach volleyball court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wayway52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello wayway52!
Thank you for sharing your excellent review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed by our Front Desk team at check-in. Elements Buffet and the Cantina are both wonderful dining choices and we are pleased you were able to experience both restaurants. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent the night at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino and had a wonderful time. Our room was great with a view of downtown Reno.
Ate at Charlie Palmers with friends and had the best dinner and service...our casino host, Darrel Williams always makes sure that my husband and I are well taken care of...thanks, Darrel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Cindy H!
Thank you for sharing your “good times” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your room with a view of Reno. Charlie Palmer Steak is fine dining at its best and we are thrilled to hear you and your friends enjoyed your experience there. Darrel is an outstanding host and we will be sure to recognize him for taking good care of you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Reno Hotel & Casino
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,074 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
2.1 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: £55 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit
Grand Sierra Resort And Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing