We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest security ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for two days my grandma came to visit she is very old and doesnt walk well she told me a security guard named garrick came up to her and told her to sit while he gets a wheel chair I met him when she came to the room and he was so friendly and refused to take any tip it was refreshing and made my whole experience GRAND keep it up
*mike CA

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyCA1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi mikeyCA1980!
Thank you for sharing your excellent review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Security team to be the “friendliest ever”. Officer Garrick is an outstanding team member and we will be sure to recognize him for creating a positive and memorable experience for you and your grandma. We are pleased your experience was GRAND and look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,252 - 13,258 of 14,809 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This property was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the restaurant's food was above average, and I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and will definitely stay again.
The rooms were large with 2 queen beds, refer.and coffee in each room. The bed was very comfortable with high end bedding. I especially liked the night light in the bathroom. Big shower with lots of water pressure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Barbara S!
Thank you for sharing your “great” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, as we pride ourselves on service excellence. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the restaurants as well as your room. We are honored to have earned your personal recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a great stay-cation weekend. Dinner at Charlie Palmers was amazing and the room was outstanding. Room was very spacious and clean. Room was very large and being on the 26th floor have us access to the Concierge. I normally don't think much of a free breakfast, but the choices were really good and good was fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello Glock35!
Thank you for sharing your “fantastic” review on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to have been your hotel of choice for your great stay-cation. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in Charlie Palmer. Our Concierge floors offer access to our beautiful Concierge lounge and we are thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Attended a conference in this hotel and Hot August Nights was a bonus! The staff was exceptional and the 24 hour cafe has great food as well as the salsa bar in the Cantina! I enjoyed a mani and pedi at the spa and Melissa was a great asset to the spa experience. The resort is laid out where children are welcomed and do not have to be in a casino atmosphere to visit all areas for family. We had a bowling tournament in the 50 alley venue and it was so much fun. Will return someday for Hot August Nights, the free concerts and fun atmosphere!

Room Tip: Stay in the summit towers. Microwave and refrigerator and large rooms! We were there 10 days and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello Roger S!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you received excellent service from our team members throughout your stay. Melissa is an outstanding team member in the Spa and we will certainly recognize her for making your experience memorable. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your tournament in the Bowling Center. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My housekeeping staff person, Sandra Bac, was great. She was friendly, helpful and reliable. She ensured that the room was kept clean and that everything was in its place. Her complete service made the room enjoyable. She should be personally commended for her hardwork and dedication. I was a member of a delegation from the A. Philip Randolph Institute which is a national organization. I was impressed with her service. It was better than most of the five star hotels that I have stayed in during my travels. Promote her immediately. Use her work as the benchmark standard for housekeeping in your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Sandra Bac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonDough91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Good morning JonDough91,

Thank you for reviewing the GSR on Tripadvisor. Customer Service is our top priority, and we are delighted that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for mentioning one of our team members; we will make sure that she is recognized accordingly. She is truly a great asset to the team! We hope to welcome you back again to the GSR!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I stayed in a Grand Suite which was very well appointed and maintained. The housekeeping services were excellent thanks to the service provided by Xue Lan. This is my third business trip to this hotel in the past 12 months and while other hotel services were lacking, overall I felt at home, when I returned to my room at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Request the "Summit" side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Nanacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Good morning Nanacy O,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review! We strive to provide great customer service to all of our guests, and are delighted that you mentioned one of our valued team members. We will certainly make sure she is recognized accordingly! We hope to see you again for your next business trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have never eaten at such a lowdown, take your money buffet!!! It was one of worst places to eat ever!!! I took my Daughter and her children, the food was AWFUL!!! The ice cream AWFUL and all the rest.
Will never return!!!!

Room Tip: Do not go there to eat!!1
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
2 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 63 in Reno
6,851 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 63 in Reno
4,204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
1.9 mi away
Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: £49 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit
Grand Sierra Resort And Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing