We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great either ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here over the weekend to attend a dog agility competition ...
The good: price - one of the lowest in town, plus no pet fee! Convenient location. Staff reasonably friendly. Aside from traffic noise, our room (101) was very quiet at night. And aside from the smell (see below) the room was acceptably clean, with comfortable beds.
The not-so-good - no fridge or microwave in room; I thought this was standard at motel 6. No parking in front of our room ... Parking seemed pretty scarce for the whole complex. Although we left them hanging to indicate we didn't need them changed, the towels were removed from our room and not replaced, necessitating a trip to the front office. Although our room was non-smoking, the bathroom absolutely reeked of smoke, with the stench becoming unbearably worse when we turned on the light/vent/fan. We ended up using the bathroom in the dark for the whole weekend to avoid stinking up the whole room. And, there really wasn't a very good place to walk the dogs.
Overall: I am becoming convinced that there just isn't anywhere to stay in Reno in this price range that is pet-friendly and not kind of scuzzy ... and given those parameters this place is not horrible by a long shot. The deal-breakers for us were the smoke stench and the lack of fridge/microwave ... because of those problems we probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Spent the night here while overnight in Reno. Chose this motel by price and decent reviews. Office staff was very helpful and pleasant. Room was small but clean. Bare basics... Tv reception was poor on many channels. Was apprehensive about how safe and secure we were ...seemed a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyCroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I have family here so have stayed a few times. Its convenient to walk to the casinos (Peppermill, Atlantis), clean, friendly and quiet on the pool side. standard Motel 6 features. Good price and great location for downtown exploring.

Room Tip: stay on the pool side, away from the intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Chose to stay here as opposed to all the alternative casino resorts which were much more pricey than I expected for Reno. Stayed here to attend a 5-day conference at the Peppermill Resort. I requested a room with a small fridge and microwave which was very convenient in that I didn't have to eat out three times a day. I really appreciated that. Room was clean with the very basics--towels, soap, and TP. Don't think there was even any tissue/Kleenex but I wasn't looking for anything fancy either. No issues with the staff. They were helpful when I had questions. I also paid a few dollars extra to have internet access so that I could work on my laptop. No problems with it either. I can't recall the exact price for 24 continuous hours of internet access but it was reasonably priced also ($4?). The motel is conveniently within walking distance (across the street and then a few steps beyond) to a grocery store, a park where I went running (about 1 mile around the pond), and to Peppermill Resort (less than a mile away which isn't a big deal to me and I like to fit in my exercise when I can). I had a room towards the back of the building away from the busy streets so didn't have a problem with that as per some of the other reviews. My only complaint was for the first couple of nights, some of the other occupants were a bit noisy but once the weekend passed, it was much better. Cant have much control over some of the clientele, I guess, given the price. The noise eventually subsided later in the night and I was well rested anyhow. As a single woman visiting, I didn't venture out at night but overall, I felt safe in that area during the day. There always seemed to people walking along or jogging so didn't have any concerns walking to Peppermill in the morning and evening before the sun went down.

Room Tip: Request a room not along the major cross streets. Some rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and checked in without checking location. This motel 6 is actually in the middle of a very trafficked junction with noise 24H and too far outside center Reno for comfort. Rooms are poorly insulated, small but everything works and at $35 a night and free parking outside, it just barely suffices.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortenDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have a 2 yr old and being from CA, we definitely wanted a non-smoking room. So we reserved a non-smoking room, and when we checked in, I specifically asked again that it is a non-smoking room, right? And the clerk said yes. We go to the room and voila, it's a smoking room. We were already so tired and it was a packed weekend so we were going to just suck it up. But I thought I'd give the front-desk a try. I said that I was very disappointed that she lied to me about the smoking room. She said she was very sorry and that I would talk to the manager in the morning to get a refund or she could give me a refund now. What good would that do, all the rooms in town were already filled that night, where could we go?

So we started to unpack but just a few minutes later, we couldn't take it anymore. I was literally choking, my eyes were blurring, and I was going to pass out, except the smell was so strong that I dont think I could've stayed passed-out as I would be choked awake. So I called the front desk again and said that I have a 2 yr old and whether they could perhaps let us take a room that someone else hasn't checked in yet. It took a few minutes but finally she found us another room, which we rushed into. It was literally like being brought back alive. Later that night, another guest tried to get into our room but we said it was ours. I think the front-desk changed shifts and they didn't update the room numbers. ANyhow, we got to stay in the non-smoking room.

The room itself was small, nothing fancy, just your basic amenities. I wish the fan would be self-adjusting. We kept having to get up to turn it off, then on, then off, as it would get too hot, then too cold again once we switched off. It was really stuffy, too. But it's a motel, you know.. we weren't expecting a whole lot.

Anyhow, as you can imagine, we finally got the non-smoking room that we thought we had reserved, so that's the good news. But the fact that we had to struggle to get them to honor what we reserved in the first place is obviously frustrating. I would almost swear that I would never ever stay there again (and further, given it a 0 star review if i could) had the clerk not righted the reservation, which frankly, she could've actually messed up / decided us on in the first place.

If you're looking for a cheap and ok place, this is it. Just remember to insist on real non-smoking room when you reserve/check-in, or they might give you a smoking one hoping that you don't notice. But for non-smokers, you will definitely notice, so be careful.

Room Tip: Make sure to insist on real non-smoking rooms if that's what you reserved. We were initially gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsuoying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this motel. Room was clean. Rooms we were given were on back side by the pool and seemed to be a quiet area. Bathroom was clean. I would comment that the tub was extremely slick. Overall I would stay here again. Great value!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#40 of 64 in Reno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Reno
Vagabond Inn Reno
#37 of 64 in Reno
51 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb

Address: 1901 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-3407
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb is located within walking distance to area restaurants and shops. Reno Tahoe Intl Airport is only 1.5 miles away. Enjoy our newly renovated modern rooms. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Reno-Virginia Plumb Hotel Reno
Motel Six Reno
Reno Motel 6
Reno Motel Six
Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing