We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, clean, easy to get around hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good value, clean, easy to get around hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our room was quiet, clean, good value and non-smoking. Mattress was wonderful and comfortable. Buffet was closed ate at cafe food was good. Easy to get around the hotel. The check-in desk clerk gave my husband wrong advice about secure internet service. Luckily, he could use our connection that was private. Hotel is not a secure network and the night desk clerk apologized for the inconvenience.
Unfortunately, that part of Reno where the hotel is located has gotten kind of seedy and don't recommend walking at night.

Room Tip: Nonsmoking towards the back away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemgirl612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,850
    6,188
    2,143
    570
    368
See reviews for
4,696
6,973
1,130
1,537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed in a corner spa suite. Thank goodness it was for only one night! Hotel and the room are starting to seriously show their age. A/C rattled and shook all night as well as dumping the smell of cigarette smoke into our non-smoking room, door was hard to close and locked us in for 10 minutes when we were trying to leave. Valet parking and Bell service are their usual hit and miss proposition. Wireless internet does not work, even after you pay the "upgrade fee". Although we only paid $89 for the room it wasn't worth it. Spend the extra money on the Peppermill or the Nugget!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepreshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 2 nights here last weekend while visiting my inlaws. To begin, Reno is not my favorite place; I dont gamble and I'm allergic to cigarette smoke. That said, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The lobby is attractive and not too smoky, the staff is friendly, and the selection of restaurants is ample. The rooms are dated, but the bed was comfy and I loved the morning delivery of the local newspaper--nice touch! I recommend the Silver Legacy for its value, its amenities, and its location. BTW, don't miss the downtown ballpark!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Decent place - a large and sprawling property with a 180-foot-high dome in center - certainly the most unique looking hotel in Reno.

One restaurant was really great - Fairchild's Oyster Bar- went back 3 times to have their signature pan roast - wow!

Now personally I would rather be at Lake Tahoe than Reno - but if you are in Reno for business, this a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

First of all the entire downtown area is dirty and filled with closed businesses and vacant buildings. I don't recommend walking outside after dark, as you will probably get mugged. There is no police or security presence at all and transients run amuck. The only security guards are placed at the elevators to prevent thefts and robberies of guest rooms by transients. There are warnings in your rooms to " bolt lock your door for your safety". The hotel is in dire need of a makeover. I still do not know what the hotel's theme is.

The pool is a joke. Its the size of the one in a backyard. The Jacuzzi seats 4 people. The water was cloudy. The private spa was nice and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holzieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverLegacy, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Legacy Resort and Casino, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Hi holzieb,

Thank you very much for posting a review of the Silver Legacy Resort Casino on TripAdvisor. Our guests' satisfaction in their stay is extremely important to us, and so we were concerned to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you felt unsafe in Downtown Reno, and though we cannot control the security outside of our property we assure you that we have a strong security staff protecting our property including our parking garage; we have an abundance of security cameras throughout our property and security staff is always very near even if an incident were to arise. On another note, we are glad you enjoyed our spa.

Again, we apologize that your stay with us was less than the great experience we hope for our guests to have, and we hope to get the chance to improve your impression of the Silver Legacy Resort Casino another time.

Sincerely,

Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Reno, NV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I recently stayed at the Silver Legacy for a week with a friend. We attended a conference and extended the stay for a few days for relaxation. Our room was a spa suite with a large bathroom, very clean and spacious. I enjoyed the amenites -- the in-room coffee maker was a Keurig, and the toiletries were very nice. The bed was very comfortable, and staff were very respectful of the "do not disturb" sign. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

If there was one thing I'd improve, it's the dresser space, which was too tight for two people for a week.

This Reno hotel and casino were far more lively than the place I stayed in Las Vegas the week prior, also for a conference. I had heard that Reno had slowed down, so I was pleasantly suprised. I would stay at the Silver Legacy again if I travel to Reno.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a spa suite for a more spacious room (and in-room jacuzzi).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegiH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Check-in is agonizingly slow. Made even more so because two of the girls working chose to talk to a group of guys for 10 minutes instead of helping the long line of people waiting to check in. However, the girl that finally checked me in was very friendly and accommodating and even immediately offered me a late check out when she heard I had an evening flight.

The lobby is nice and clean and not even too smokey for a casino.

As far as the rooms go, the bed isn't very comfortable, nor are the pillows and the "comforter" is nothing more than a couple of sheets around a thin blanket (in fact, I ended up pulling the "comforter" off the second bet to stay warm). However, it appears the carpet is pretty new, and the room was clean. The wireless in the room only works on one device and is really slow.

You can't be too picky when you're paying as little as it costs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Property: Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501-1138
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#7 Family Hotel in Reno
#9 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Silver Legacy Resort And Casino Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing