We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PLEASANTLY SURPRISED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Reno
1 review
“PLEASANTLY SURPRISED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked and stayed at the Sands Regency during Hot August Nights. What a diamond in the rough. Excellent parking, friendly outgoing staff, speedy check-in with a complimentary beer while we waited in line. What a wonderful touch. Very spacious rooms certainly not the most modern rooms in Reno however very clean, comfortable and affordable. Dining choices were perfect and very affordable. Steak and lobster $18.95 worth every penny. Mel's Diner happens to be on their property great fit especially for event. Will most
definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisawhite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    365
    285
    144
    193
See reviews for
201
359
168
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

First the good....the room was clean and nice with easy access to the casino and restaurants and was near the downtowm strip. I had a great prime rib dinner at the Copa and good breakfasts at Mels. The Pipeline bar in the casino was a great place for a drink and to play some video poker, I even won a couple hundred bucks!
The bad...there was one bartender at the Pipeline Bar who worked to Thursday evening shift while we were there. A younger college guy who was a decent bartender but a jerk. I had to listen him talking trash about one of the locals who was playing games at the bar, then after the shift him and a cocktail waitress sat and power drank a bunch of shots and complained about how he didnt like the person at "his" bar.....if it was not for the other bartenders, especially the guy who came on after him, that night would have been ruined by his bad attitude.
This place would have gotten a 4 or maybe a 5 star rating from me if not for the bad bartender.

Room Tip: We heard the "smoking" room are not as nice as the non smoking and that it is worth leavin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here during the Hot August Night weekend, and had a great time. Check in was easy, and they had lots of parking for the hotel guest. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. They had a varity of gambling options, and the restaurants were all good especially Mels Diner. The service from the reception desk, hotel staff, parking lot attendant,etc was excellent. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who likes a quiet place to sleep at night and good old fashion service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is very outdated in the furnishings. The carpets were stained and ratty. The plumbing fixtures could use replacing, but at least they did work. (just had to "learn" their quirks) The towels were on the weak side, but the bed and pillows were great. We did get a good nights rest. The restaurants and food were descent and reasonable. We did miss the coffee, tea, etc. in the room as well as paper pads and pens to write with. The room was very basic, nothing you'd want to brag about. Was close to other hotel/casinos-within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S2708WZmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

THe prices were great, the pool with its live music on Friday nights and Sunday nights is a bonus.The service in the hotel and all of the restaurants, we ate at 4 of them was great, the food was good and affordable.

Room Tip: choose the 11th floor room 1135. Its a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

But certainly not the inflated price for Hot August Nights. My wife and I stayed while visiting Reno family (not for H.A.N.) and found the Sands is now very run down. Although the reception desk was friendly and helpful, the room had stained rugs, showers were difficult to adjust, and the room was noisy when the air conditioner was on and quickly unbearably hot when AC was off. Standard weekend price was $45 night, but for Hot August Nights(custom car event) they raised the price to $129 night. Definitely next time I will research (and book early) at another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009Benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reno hotels

Somes Bar, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was charged $ 199.00 for one night. The room was somewhat shabby, but bed was nice. They do not even have coffee in the rooms, nor do they have a fridge or microwave..Super 8 is better than SandsRegency, and you get as much if not more at Motel 6. SandsRegency is very disappointing, and for the amount of money they charge, it is a huge rip-off . Pathetic !!

Room Tip: Go to motel6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoolmarm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Property: The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel Reno, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing