We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money, pay an extra twenty dollars and stay at a place thats better....”
Review of Vagabond Inn Reno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Reno
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money, pay an extra twenty dollars and stay at a place thats better....”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The room was clean. The ac machine is ancient. Two buttons were broken = ghetto. We had a room that had a little extra room with two bunk beds. I was not aware we would be getting a little creepy room when I had booked. The bunk beds were twin size beds that had a separate door which I found a little creepy and scary. It looked like a room that you kept kids in! CREEPY. Anyways, the towels are hard and smelly. The sheets look ancient and old. The television was super small. The furniture looked like they bought them from a thrift store. The rooms need an upgrade. For the money I paid for this place, I expected more. I will not and do not recommend staying at the Vagabond in Reno. Next time, I will pay twenty dollars more and stay at a much nicer place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
19
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We were in town for the evening, and got in late, so we decided we would stay and drive the 2 hours home in the morning. We stopped at a drug store for the essentials and headed for the Vagabond.
We were offered a room at the back, althought the rest of the lot was not full, and upstairs, although the bottom floor was obviously not occupied.
The room had only a 19 inch TV (when's the last time you saw one of those?), it had no microwave, the coffee pot was broken.
Because the rate was almost $100, we did not anticipate need to purchase shampoo or soap, but the single bar of soap did not last through the first shower, and the shampoo "packet" was not enough "soap" to make it through the second.
The towels were thin & scratchy, the bed uncomfortable. The walls are thin, and you can hear the neighbors TV & Shower.
At 2am, the smoke alarm battery gave up the ghost & started beeping.

At $39-$49, you expect this type of "Joint", at almost $100.00.... just keep driving.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchOvenDIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reno hotels

95126
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2008

all i can say is that it was a great stay and staff were verry friendly.i would stay anytime!!=)

  • Liked — the staff and pool,breakfest,most of all my room!!
  • Disliked — nothing everything was great!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2006

This was the worst hotel stay i ever had in RENO IN MY LIFE. and I have been going to RENO for many years approx 5 TO 6 times a year. I have NEVER stayed at this hotel till 10/7/06 and will never, ever stay there again. First we were given a room with guest already in it and here is the SCARY PART the computerized door KEY WORKED and unlocked the door. As we started into the room we realized that there people a sleep in the beds and this was 11PM at night. We when back to the office and was given another room that did not have a good working A/C, poor plumbing and what looked like hairs in the bed between the sheets. We again went back to the office and given another room with a promise of comp from the night mgr in the morning. However when we were checking out they could not find our paper work. After explaining to the day mgr about nightmare we had checking in the paper was found under the 1st room in which they had checked out using our comp and was told that we were not entitled to a comp. Lucky the night mgr had come back to the desk because they forgot something and we got the comp. But this was a very BAD, BAD, BAD, JUST A BAD exprience for us. Also the hotel was run down and the beds were very uncomfortable they sack in the middle.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance in reno hotel space has become very limited
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank THEFATCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VagabondInns, Director of Tour and Travel/Sales Training at Vagabond Inn Reno, responded to this review, 12 June 2007
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your stay at Vagabond Inn Reno. I apologize on behalf of our company for the unfavorable stay you had recently. We strive for excellence in all areas of our hotels, offering the best value for clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service. Please be advised that management/ownership have been made aware of the issues stated and are working as a team to correct them. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

After reading some of the reveiws, I was pretty nervous about this reservation but needed a place that accepted pets (add'l charge). The first room was great but the toilet began to overflow and we were immediately moved to another identical room. The hotel had no vacancies (same as other Reno hotels)so we were quite pleased with this. The staff was very busy with all the guests and probably could have used additional help. Called for extra towels and ended up going to the office for them to save them the trip. The room was clean and non-smoking as reserved. Lots of people outside the rooms but they were friendly as I traveled with my dog. With the A/C on we didn't hear any outside or upstairs noise. Breakfast was bowl of fruit, OJ , coffee and prepackaged danish rolls. Enough to get us down the road for free! Pool was working but didn't use. Looked nice. Easy to find from Hwy 395. Stayed one night from 7:30 pm until 7:00 am. Would not be concerned about a future stay. Nothing fancy but got a good nights sleep.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable beds, accommodating staff
  • Disliked — A bit overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — Good if traveling with pets
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 July 2006

My husband and I visited the Vagabond Inn for a 1-night getaway. We chose this particular hotel for their pet-friendly policy since we try to take our furry friends with us whenever possible. We didn’t realize that what they meant is that they treat their guests like animals as well.

In general, we don’t have anything particularly good to say about our stay. We requested and were promised a single king bed, non-smoking room in a quiet section of the grounds. First we were assigned a double queen room with a non-op air conditioner (think 90+ degrees) in the rear of the hotel facing what could arguably be considered the most ghetto apartment building in the USA. To make up for putting us in the oven room, we were then moved next door to another double queen room in the same noisy area (at least we now had a/c). Let’s be clear about what we mean by noisy. We had boombox cars racing through the parking lot through the wee hours of the morning. We slept in 1-1/2 hour increments, constantly being startled awake by 10pm hotel staff moving furniture out of rooms, midnight wrong number phone calls,. 1:30 am neighbors loading up their van for a night on the town, 3am mariachi music from the “projects” behind the hotel, 4:30 am horn blowing, etc. We couldn’t wait for morning to come so we could get the heck out of there.

To be honest, we didn’t bother to waste our breath giving feedback to the obviously indifferent hotel staff. Instead, we chose to forewarn those who come after us so that they can avoid the same mistake. Good luck. There are better values out there than this place.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 August 2004

Our reservations were for the Atlantis Motor Lodge but they overbooked & sent us to the Vagabond Inn to spend the night, it was late, 10:30 PM. My husband is disabled & uses a wheelchair, we asked for a wheelchair access room. It had the international symbol on the door, but he couldn't get in the bathroom with the wheelchair! The room was the very last room in the far back corner of the property across from low rent housing apartments. Very scary neighborhood! We turned on a bedside lamp & it didn't work, so I tried the other lamp & smelled smoke so I shut it off. I tried to call the office but the phone cord had been pulled out of the wall. It was very late so we just went to bed. We heard gun shots, sirens, yelling & car horns all night.
The next morning we complained & checked out early they gave us a $5.00 coupon towards our "Next Stay". I DON"T THINK SO!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Airport Plaza Hotel
Airport Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Reno
790 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Reno - Virginia Plumb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Reno

Property: Vagabond Inn Reno
Address: 3131 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-4505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Reno 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Reno
Vagabond Inn Reno Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing