We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Sushi, they mess up orders too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ijji Sushi

Ijji Sushi
Ranked #50 of 259 Restaurants in Sparks
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Great all you can eat sushi!!!!!!!!
Sparks, NV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK Sushi, they mess up orders too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have been here 3 times. Likely wont be back since there are better choices closer to where we live. 2 of the 3 trips they kept bringing out the wrong order. Maybe we just missed them at the wrong time. Otherwise, the atmosphere is good and the place is always packed - so they are doing something right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chit_chat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

You really have to experience this place. Over time they change up the menu and it just makes me look forward to visiting here. Always great fresh food and wonderful service. I rather drive here to eat over driving a block to the sushi place next to my house.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maegen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Florida
2 reviews
“Good sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Sat at the sushi bar with the all-you-can-eat option. Our first roll was from the menu, but everything else we left at the discretion of the gents behind the counter, who never steered us wrong. When they brought us a roll covered in fish eggs (which neither of us like), they were happy to take it back.

It's not cheap sushi, but it's well-priced and well worth the money. Good atmosphere, good food, and good people. We'll definitely be back next time we're in Reno/Sparks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Place for bento boxes, not sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I had the teriyaki salmon. Cooked to perfection. I tried their sushi on my next visit...not fresh enough for me. I'd adhere to just the bento boxes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetestfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All You May Eat is Best Option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Wrote 5 star google review when business opened in 2008, difficult time for new restaurant. Was fantastic overall. Owner Truman, and wife, full of character, kept place abuzz, added ambiance. Sushi was impeccably excellent, creative, well-portioned, fresh. This continued for three years.

Now five years on, mid-week 9 pm all-you-can-eat, visit, with son. Still very ok, all around. But not the restaurant I knew. We were hustled to keep an eye on 10 pm closing time, interrupted several times needlessly. My son lives with a sushi chef, knows how it can be. Detail here not so important, do note creative aspects are more limited, even with upgraded menu. There are more appealing long/hand rolls and nigiri. There is also wide selection of unusual seafood and fish to order. Servings were ok, quality was ok, and taste was not quite sweet. Please note Sparks, NV is not seaside/ Pacific Ocean. Owners were not present, but a good showing of clientele on this mid-week evening. IjjI's has a specialty/ staple ingredient for including in many rolls: baby scallops with tiny shrimp, in mix with mayonnaise-type binder. This signature ingredient is still good. AYCE includes baked hot green mussels in shell, this appetizer arrived as we left. It was good. Tuna, Ikura, Unagi, Salmon,Tobiko, Snapper, clam and eel were good, portions have declined, likely due to inflationary times. Baked long rolls (Godzilla-type) are very good.

Sushi chefs are friendly, wanting to help, waiters/esses are good and friendly. Maybe too relaxed. It's still has a family feel, in a way. No shortage of staff. IJJI's also serves Japanese cuisine dining, seated, added to the high-profile 50 foot wooden ~ meandering sushi bar. So, overall, IJJI's is still OK. I hope this was just an off-night; judging from other reviews, what is said here is probably a good summation.

PS- One year ago, son was in hospital. Went to IJJI's and begged for a reasonable take-out platter of sushi items. Wow. For $100, and in ten minutes, was handed a brown paper bag with three go-plates of the very best. Awesome product, and quantity, bless them! Hospital staff could not ignore scent of good treats,14 total surrounded son's bed for feast! IJJI's has ability to impress whenever they want, and in style.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ijji Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing