We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic look, classic fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nugget Casino Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic look, classic fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Nugget has it's rooms being renovated and I have had the luxury of staying in both remodeled and classic decor. The older rooms may seem dingy but I take it as classic and enjoy the bigger size. The decor resembles an older couple that decorated this room in the 70's and kept it that way. It's ok if you enjoy classic or appreciate older decor. The casino was somewhat small and I did not have much luck on the slot machines. Tables were business as usually but I did enjoy the dealers and bosses there. Rosie's is an excellent restaurant if you don't want to break the bank but still want to get a good meal. Standard diner food with great hospitality from the waitresses that look like they've been there since it was built. All in all, The Nugget was a great experience and I would definitely like to revisit for a cheap trip.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VagabondsEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janugget_pr, Public Relations Manager at Nugget Casino Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great 4-star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you're looking forward to visiting us again soon!

Best,
Lauren G.
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    1,044
    749
    350
    355
See reviews for
1,225
1,103
312
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Nugget in Sparks, and we are really glad we did. The kids had a blast in the arcade, and the buffet was amazing. Yet again we enjoyed their gigantic indoor pool. The staff is always very friendly, and we feel very welcome when we stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We selected to upgrade our room to a Jacuzzi suite, and it was well worth the extra money. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janugget_pr, Public Relations Manager at Nugget Casino Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Jennifer,

Thanks for choosing us for the second time! We appreciate your business and that you took the time to write us such a nice review!

We're glad the kiddos enjoyed the arcade, the pool and the buffet. We've been lowering our prices to make the Nugget a more affordable vacation destination.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Lauren G.
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

It breaks my heart to give any of the businesses in Reno a poor rating, keeping in mind how depressed the economy is in that city and most places are trying to stay afloat. But, keeping an
average travelers interest in mind, I do have to say this is perhaps the noisiest hotel I have stayed in my life. Even though, I was on one of the highest floors, the combined noise of the freeway, the rail yard below and the airport nearby was almost torturous for me. Luckily, I was there for a single night, so one sleepless night was affordable.

The other point I would like to make is in spite of very poor occupancy rate and my request to the front desk clerk for a nice room with a good view, she ends putting me looking into a garage. Wonder what part of the request she didn't understand, but asked for the manager to change my room and he gladly complied.

Other than that, it's a nice property and I do understand there is just so much investment you can put in a struggling economy like Reno's.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dosco39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Mountain, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Nugget in 2 weeks and it was just as pleasant as the first. Rooms very clean and comfortable, the restaurants are great, and the staff throughout are very friendly and helpful. Great value for your money. We will go back next time in Reno.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a higher floor there is less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I spent two great nights @ the Nuggets at a fantastic price. We spent $29 per night (not including taxes and a resort fee) The room was fabulous on a non-smoking floor in the East tower. The restaurants we tried were also great. We ate at Rosies twice for breakfast, the price was fine and the food was very good. We ate once at the SteakHouse, we both had the Filet special (2 for 1) and it was one of the best Filets that we have ever had. The waiter was especially memorable, he dotted on us as if we were his only table.

We used the pool/spa both nights and were pleased that they were indoors. A bit crowded, I think many had the same idea we did.

Altogether, an experience that we will duplicate again soon for a quick get-away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2001, 20 stories up does not completely save you from the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Nugget provides fast friendly service. It is a great value and a comfortable stay. Although you do get a little road noise and railroad noise it is not at the level that is a problem. Rooms and common areas were very clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful. A great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SacramentoTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Creek, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our first time staying at the Nugget. We had a great experience - room very clean and comfortable. We ate at one of the restaurants (Rosie's) where we received excellent service - wait staff very attentive and food was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janugget_pr, Public Relations Manager at Nugget Casino Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for the great 5-star review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Lauren G.
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparks
3.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Western Village Inn & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#6 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Casino Resort

Property: Nugget Casino Resort
Address: 1100 Nugget Avenue, Sparks, NV 89431-5750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nugget Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nugget Casino Resort is located in the heart of Victorian Square in Sparks, Nevada, The Nugget offers hotel accommodations, casino thrills, dining, nightlife and entertainment that are nothing short of extraordinary. With a modern, full-service casino between two soaring, 28-story East and West guest towers, we are committed to making sure your stay at our Northern NV hotel is comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing. Sophistication and style, with stunning views of the sparkling Reno city skyline and Sierra Nevada Mountains, await you in each of our 1,400 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Step off our complimentary airport shuttle, breeze through the doors of our exceptional hotel in Sparks, NV, and enjoy infinite diversions that include: 24-hour casino gaming and eight restaurants, 110,000 square feet of meeting and special event space, a year-round atrium pool, a fitness center, and two live entertainment venues. Despite the impressive list of amenities to our name, it is actually our warm, friendly service - above all else - that sets our historic hotel casino apart as a truly special place in the Reno area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Nugget Casino Resort soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nugget Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Ascuaga`s Nugget Hotel Sparks
John Ascuagas Nugget Hotel
John Ascuagas Nugget Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing