We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Casino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rail City Casino

Rail City Casino
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Sparks
Attraction details
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Casino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

too bad we found this gem on the way out of town. When we come back to Reno it will be our first stop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Superdnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    36
    9
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun with friends...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a great time at the casino. Lots of fun... My husband and I meet friends in reno and visited several clubs. Fun was had by all...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia City, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Buffet and Fair Slot Machines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Beat buffet in Reno/Sparks for the price. Good salad bar and fried chicken is delicious. As with most slots, it is up and down, but on the whole they pay out according to what is put in them. Nice, friendly atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
383 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Welcome Relief From The Mega-casino Glitz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've been dropping by this place for decades when visiting the Reno/Sparks area, even from back in the days when it was the Plantation Casino. If you're looking for a glamorous, glitzy mega-casino environment, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a fun place to play or hang out, where people seem to be enjoying themselves and the staff is friendly, this is a pretty good choice.

On this visit, I enjoyed a decent meal in the coffee shop, where I ordered off the menu rather than selecting the buffet. Food and service were good - plenty of food, fast, friendly service. There are other dining and drinking options available as well, although I did not sample any of those so cannot comment on them.

The casino appears larger on the inside than it looks from the outside. From the outside, it looks more like a locals joint than anything else. Once inside, it feels like it sprawls a bit and as if it has a floor plan that was just randomly thrown together - which, I guess, is part of the fun. There are plenty of slots and gaming devices, as well as a small pit with good blackjack games. Unlike many casinos in the area, this place allows doubling down on any two cards in their single deck blackjack and still offer a full 3 to 2 payout on a BJ. That makes the game more fun for the player and shows that this place is willing to give the player a good run for their money. I like that.

I'm not a glamor and glitz guy - I just like to have a good time, hanging out where people are not pretentious and are simply there to enjoy themselves. This place is a good venue for that.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Was meeting a friend for lunch and both decided to try Rail City 's brew house. What a find. It was great. Food good, friendly and great value. The Ale house is the best in the area. The casino atmosphere is electric. Lots of folks just having a good time. Will start to use this place as my casino. The promotions are not to be believed and the best par, as we found out, easy parking, nice place to meet up for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlajus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rail City Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing