We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much fried” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trader Dick's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trader Dick's
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Too much fried”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Ate here at happy hour while staying in hotel. Ordered a variety of appetizers and all were deep fried and tasted somewhat similar. Also ordered a shredded pork slider which was very large for a tapa but I found the sauce much too sweet for my liking

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldgypse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folsom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not inciting to return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

During our trip before last, we stooped there for a drink. My mojito was nothing to write home about. The service was not as good as elsewhere at the Nugget. Not worth going back to

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank THJ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little bit of the tropics in the desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Ate at Trader Dick's and enjoyed it very much. I had Crispy Mongolian Beef with fried rice and I have to say that it was excellent. Enough spice to add flavour but not so much as to be too hot to enjoy. The decor is fun and the staff were very nice. They have a nice variety on the menu that I'm sure would offer something for everyone's taste. I would definitely eat there again when in Reno.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShareTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting Historic Picture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Polynesian food and atmosphere in the Desert. Inside John Asquaga's Nugget in Sparks, Nevada. First dinning experience there in 1970 before they moved to their present location "under" the I-80 freeway. Wonderful food and exotic drink choices, with a tropical feel. There have been some changes over the years in the menu, but you'll not be disappointed. Trader Dick's is still the best in Northern Nevada.

Helpful?
Thank Tann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Sea Bass was delicious so were the lamb chops. Only complaint is that for 30$ a plate you only get a 3 lamb chops and a potatoe. My husband was hungry an hour after he ate. At this price it should include soup or salad. However the atmosphere is great, the tiki style drinks are yummy too. If you go on the weekend they have a live band, or a guy playing and accoustic guitar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desertangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trader Dick's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing