We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a huge hotel intent on keeping you indoors in its bars, restaurants and casinos. As smoking is allowed, the casino levels can be quite unpleasant, but if you smoke or aren't there to gamble, it's fine. Rooms high up have great views and escape the cigarette-smoke fug. Service was very good, rooms and facilities decent. Breakfast excellent no matter which restuarant you choose.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can afford to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    986
    468
    156
    148
See reviews for
721
1,238
165
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I've been to Harveys Lake Tahoe many times, but this time I tried the Premium Lake Tower view, which is spectacular. Many places to eat, play golf, and plenty of casino gaming. It's more enjoyable when you win some $money : )

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank y2ktigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
346 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

There are a lot of reviews saying the place is old and needs updating - all true. However, I didn't get a terrible room - so they exist. It's older and tired but the rooms are decent sized and everything works. The bathroom was quite large.

My biggest complaint was that the air conditioning didn't work. The maintenance guy explained that "the sun heats the room." Yes - that would be a true statement - it would also be true that the a/c doesn't work and if it did the room wouldn't be so hot. He replaced the air filter - the one he took out was dated more than a year ago.

The truth is that it's an old property and it's just barely hanging on financially so maintenance isn't going to be a priority.

The staff are fine. The valet is quick and efficient.

Funny enough even though they were only half full a late check out costs $20 per hour - nothing is free in a casino.

I liked the casino better than Harrahs. If you don't get your expectations too high it's fine.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Arrived at Harveys with 3 in our group. We wanted to upgrade to a "LAKE VIEW" room. They offered us a 1 bedroom Suite for +$250 per night upgrade. We could only get it for 2 of the 3 nights but we decided to do the upgrade and downgrade room on the last night's stay.

Suite #1800

1) The view was amazing. There are windows surrounding 2 sides of the suite. You enter the suite and have a half bath immediately to the left. A small wetbar with a small dining table with views of the Lake. A living room with sofa, older flat panel TV and a POLK audio surround system. There is a balcony with 2 chairs and you have AWESOME views. French doors lead into the master with a large bathroom with steam shower and jumbo sized jetted tub. Now I have to say the decor - was horrible. Other than the bedding in the master (1 KING) it was outdated and reminded me of grandma's house in the mid 90's.

@ check in they said there was a sofa sleeper and there was not. So we ended up taking 2 rolling beds and felt every SPRING via when it was built in the 80's.

Bottom line the view was amazing, the room was spacious, the master bed had a really nice mattress, but the decor and outdated TV was not great. NOT worth the upgrade cost.

We were downgraded the last night and that room was much nicer. Updated and had nice views of the pool from the 9th floor

Room Tip: GET LUXURY CLASS ROOMS - DECENT VIEWS from 9th FLOOR and are updated. Bedding is nice and bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davextr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We pre-paid for 2 nights and thought we were would get a decent room since it was $300.00 for the 2 nights. (same weekend as Freakers Ball that was across the street) check in was fine, and the front desk was pleasant. Our room was in the mountain tower on the 4th floor. There was an unpleasant odor in the hallway, but we chalked it up to someone smoking in the non-smoking section of the tower. The room was tiny and the furniture was old and tacky. But that wasn't the worst part; The stench! OMG! Of whatever cleaning agent mixed with, cigarettes, spilled drinks, body odor and whatever else was fermenting in the rug and bed linens was wholly disgusting. We immediately called the front desk and requested a room change. The only way we could change is to upgrade (and pay) Needless to say, we had no choice. We moved immediately to the Lake Tower which was luxurious in comparison. But a $20 resort fee for use of fitness room (which was closed and u had to go to harrah's if u wanted to use their fitness room) and spotty wifi is a ripoff.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor in the mountain tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chazel134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for three nights, mid-week and the hotel was far from busy. If they had 25% occupancy I would be surprised. Part of that might be their pricing, which was too high for the time we visited. We booked a mid priced room and had a lovely view of the roof and their HVAC units. The price of $69.00 a night would have been reasonable for the time of year, but they add a sneaky fee of $22.60 per night, which they tout as a "resort fee." Quite a joke for the so-called ammenities you get: internet on one (1) device, trip to the gym. etc. Just be honest and say your rate is $91.00 a night. There have been some upgrades to the rooms; carpet, beds & tv, but the wood work and bathrooms are from the late 60's. That being said, everyone from the staff was very polite and helpful during our stay.

Harvey's is in an excellent location, especially for those of us that like to park our cars and see the area on foot. There is a vast amount of shopping and dining, just south of the hotel in Heavenly Village, which makes up for the hotel. While the hotel boasts a Cabo Wabo and Hard Rock, neither is up to the standards of their standalone cohearts. Be aware that when you visit this time of year (mid-October), it is in between seasons. Most of the summer activities (except biking) have stopped and the Heavenly gondola is idle for maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from Harvey's today and not sure why so many are complaining about the rooms. We had room 1408 in the Lake Tower and thought it was nice. Two queens, and two chairs and a table by the large windows overlooking both lake and mountains. Even with two beds the rooms still had plenty of space. Also loved the bathroom with seperate room for shower and bathtub, commode, and vanity. Check in was quick and all employees of the hotel were friendly. I agree the resort fee is a bit steep but I suppose you would pay more just for parking at many properties. We used our Rewards Card so payed only the resort fee. I expected a basement room since it was comp'd but room exceeded my expectations. The only reason for the one star deduction is the casino. Don't expect to win. Unbelievable payouts, but it all fairness, it was no different at Harrahs and MontBleu across the street. Drink service is also bad. On the occasions when someone actually comes by, you may be waiting for about 20 minutes for your drink. This is too long when the machines don't pay enough to keep you sitting at one for more than 5 minutes. Never received our drinks a few times due to the long wait and having to move on to try another machine. Ate breakfast at Cabo in the basement, kinda a weird location. It was alright, but don't expect the thick cuts of bacon than I was looking forward to with breakfast. Had a burger at Hard Rock, not great. Next time we will eat off site.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwilbourn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Property: Harveys Lake Tahoe
Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing