We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and unit”
Review of Kingsbury of Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsbury of Tahoe
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent location and unit”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed at Kingsbury of Tahoe over MLK weekend in 2011 in a 2 bedroom condo with my wife. The rooms are huge and very well laid out. You can The furniture is nice and the condo looks to be recently remodeled. You can easily fit 3 couples in the condo with 2 of the couples getting their own bedrooms and the other couple getting the murphy bed in the front room. The front room which includes the living room, dining room and kitchen is huge. The outside of the condo is a little dated, but you can't even tell that once you're inside your room. The view is also amazing looking down on the valley. It is about a 10 minutes drive to stateline and maybe a 2 minutes drive to get on the slopes of Heavenly. I highly recommend this place and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom via RCI exchange so that we can ski at Heavenly Valley. The place was very spacious and appears to have been renovated recently. The kitchen had stone tile surfaces and new appliances. Furniture was not the highest quality but comfortable and the place was very clean. At most resorts there is a sofabed to accomodate the guests who are not in the bedroom. Kingsbury had so much room that they provided a queen size Murphy bed that would be more comfortable than any sofabed.
The checkin staff was very friendly. If you want to ski, the Heavenly Valley StageCoach Lodge parking lot is less than 5 minutes from the resort. One of the earlier reviews commented on the resorts remote location from the casinos and activities. Compare to other remote resorts the distance is not far and takes less than 10 minutes driving.
I would come here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We greatly enjoyed K of T. The property is well maintained. We stayed in a two bedroom unit that was so spacious and beautifully decorated. The beds were comfy and the view was of the valley to the East. Quite lovely. The staff was great. We had difficulty with our coffee pot and the staff was there in less than 5 minutes with a replacement.
We visited for Memorial Day week and hosted two couples on the weekend and an additional couple during the week.
The drive to Lake Tahoe was fine. We enjoyed a great restaurant, the beach and golfing too.
I know this is a wonderful acomodation for skiers.
The only drawback for us was the elevation which at times made me (only) a little light-headed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lanesppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Front desk attendant Courtney was wonderfully pleasant.
Freezer had an ice-maker inside which was a nice bonus to keep sodas cold in cooler.
Entrance to front desk, which is level with the parking lot ,is actually the 4th floor of the building, as the building is on a hillside. We had a 2-bedroom. They ask for all to remove trash before checking out which I didn't mind at all. We found the place relaxing. However, since we are used to memory foam mattresses, we have a hard time sleeping on anything else. There is one racquetball court with a basketball hoop. There is a small exercise room and a comfortable game room that includes a pool table. It is a walk to the pool as other places have shared access to the pool. Kingsbury at Tahoe is a major step up from The Lodge at Lake Tahoe; both managed by VRI. I give it a 4 out of 5 because there are no scheduled activities and beds are not as comfortable as we would like. Keep in mind that it is about a 3-mile climb up Route 207 from 50.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank integrity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The location if you aren't there in the winter to ski is less than ideal. It's about 2k feet above the main drag of South Lake Tahoe/Stateline. It's a 3 mile drive straight up the mountain. There is only one walkable restaurant - the Fox and the Hound. The fitness center was incredibly dated - one bike, one OLD treadmill, 2 OLD OLD OLD stair steppers and a weight machine.

The condos were clean, but could definitely use updating. The screen on the deck was completely blown out, but hadn't been replaced. The couches were old and worn. the bedspreads in the bedrooms were SCARY and very old.

No business center.

I would not stay here again due to location and required updates.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kcudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Arriving mid-May (Late September would work as well) we were able to avoid the summer crowds and still enjoyed 7 glorious sun filled mid 70's days! The view was great out the rear of the building to the Minden valley! We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom immaculate appointed condominium that could easily accomodate 6 people! All conveniences were available including full kitchen with all appliances and cooking utenciles, a game room, excercise room, swimming pool, outdoor grills and picnic tables! There was not a view of the lake but not a disapointment! Staff was friendly and helpful! Try and check in before 6:00 p.m. as late check-in becomes a little confusing? Lake Tahoe is breathtaking and Emerald Bay is unbelievable amazing and magical! Great restaraunt selections and plenty of entertainment options are available for everyone's tastes! You cannot go wrong with this combination!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rallenLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We stayed a few days at Kingsbury using our timeshare. We were able to rent the penthouse. What a view! The penthouse's are 3 bedrooms, and the 2 penthouses take up the entire top floor. The living room was huge with a wrap around leather couch. The whole East & South facing walls were winds. The views East were of the Carson Valley. There was a balcony off the East & West side. There was a view of the lake but a new building blocked most of it. :( The furnishings were very modern and clean. I didn't find the Kingsbury to be noisy at all. It was fun to read the signs about the bears. "make sure you close the doors because the bears WILL come in". Yikes! We didn't see any bears but did see some footprints.

Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank bigislandfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
2.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
737 reviews
2.9 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
879 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridge Pointe Tahoe
Ridge Pointe Tahoe
#7 of 9 in Stateline
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsbury of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsbury of Tahoe

Property: Kingsbury of Tahoe
Address: 335 Tramway Dr, Stateline, NV 89449-9812
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Stateline
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsbury of Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsbury of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsbury Of Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Kingsbury Tahoe
Kingsbury Of Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing