We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Just wow.”
Review of Kingsbury of Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsbury of Tahoe
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to book Penthouse 71 for a week. Simply put, spectacular. A HUGE space--3 bedrooms and 3 full baths, a giant kitchen, expansive living room, dining room and TWO decks (one of which has a view of the lake). The condo was clearly newly renovated--everything was just like new. The bed was incredibly comfortable and my husband and I wished we had it in our own home! The linens were soft and clean; as a matter of fact the entire place was immaculate. We loved the rustic yet luxurious decor--so many special touches that took our stay to the next level. A washer and dryer, a high quality outside grill, flat screen TVs in 2 out of the 3 bedrooms and living room, a jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom,a fireplace in the living room, top of the line appliances, all manner of dish ware/pots and pans, a Murphy bed that's indistinguishable in the living room, large windows in every room...I really could go on and on. We enjoyed using the kitchen every day and there were more nights when we chose to cook in just because we loved being in the condo so much. Everything worked perfectly; the only teeny weeny thing I can say to the contrary is that it takes a minute for the hot water to come on. So what?! When you're staying in this place you feel like a fool for complaining about something so minuscule!

The resort has many things to offer like a gym, racquetball court, game and billiard rooms, DVDs to rent, board games to borrow, a great and attentive staff (thanks, Pat and Lizzy), sauna in the gym, hot tub (slightly off the property) and ample parking. In other words, this place really lacks of nothing. On top of it all, it is right off of Heavenly (less than a 5 minute drive to the Stagecoach and Boulder lifts). I will say that Kingsbury is a bit of a trek from South Lake Tahoe and a grocery store (there is a Safeway about 15-20 minutes away), so be sure to stock up when you arrive so you don't have to go back and forth a lot. There is a small market about 5 minutes away, but it doesn't have much of a selection and it is overpriced. Also, beware that the ride up to the resort is quite windy with a couple of switchbacks, so drive slowly and be careful especially in inclement weather. And a recommendation for folks susceptible to altitude sickness: plenty of Pedialyte on hand. It made the trip so much more enjoyable...truly! 3 liters was the right amount for my week stay in Tahoe. Don't laugh! It works!

A flawless stay in a gorgeous place (inside and out). If you can get the penthouse at Kingsbury, do not think twice. Because if you don't do it quick, we'll be right on your heels waiting to pounce on another opportunity to stay here...you think I'm kidding but I'm not!

Room Tip: There are two penthouses on the property. PH 71 is better than 72 view wise, but you'd be lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

What a lovely surprise. Safe, lots of room, friendly staff, clean, great location for skiing the Nevada side of Heavenly -- best snow in Tahoe. DD rentals on site and puzzles and games for guests. Perfect get-a-way. We loved it and will return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ChaZeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernley, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

we met our daughter, son in law and two grandchildren for a Christmas celebration
we had two bedrooms and a murphy bed in the living room. The kitchen was well equipped.
It had a hot tub but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed with two other couples in one of the Penthouses at Kingsbury of Tahoe. It was a very nice place with 2 amazing bedrooms and one ok bedroom. Two had their own bathrooms and the smaller one shared the bathroom that was off the kitchen area. The décor was beautiful and comfortable. There was a nice big island in the kitchen and a large dining room and dining table. The kitchen was well stocked with all we needed. The patio was very nice but it was cold there when we went so it didn't get used much. We stayed in the Southern unit (there are 2 penthouses) The Northern unit has a bit of a view of Lake Tahoe. The Southern Unit not so much. But one of the bedrooms does look out over the eastern valley towards Carson City. There was regular bus service right across the street that takes you down to the Casinos. The hot tub was across the parking lot and not convenient at all so we didn't use that. The staff was very helpful about hikes and restaurants. You do need to remember your key though, because they lock the outside door in the evening and if no one is in your unit to call, you will get locked out. I guess it happens frequently.

Room Tip: Next time we would try to get the Penthouse unit on the North Side so we could see Lake Tahoe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TVSlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked last minute through an owner's listing on Craigslist. Drove up the 8 hours from So. Cal and was totally delighted when we walked in. It is VERY spacious, perfect for our family of 4 (mom, pop, 2 teens). Very clean, of course, the free wifi is great. I can't believe how large the unit is (we have #42). I would DEFINITELY stay here again. We plan on skiing our hearts out for the weekend and then driving home, but I wish we were here a whole week after seeing what we landed!!! :)

Room Tip: don't know if other rooms are better or not, but our rooom (#42) has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were here from 12/7 to 12/14 for some snow and did we ever have a snowy week! The staff members here were welcoming and friendly and offered suggestions and directions. The decorum in our unit (64) was tasteful in comfortable. A fireplace would have been nice but was not there. The road is 1 way in front of the property so to get down requires a drive around the mountain. Some updates are needed but overall we had what we needed and would go again.

Room Tip: The top floor would have the best views but our unit had a view of the valley which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here when it wasn't ski season but the gal at the front desk was so helpful and eager to tell us all the other wonderful things to do and see in Lake Tahoe. The condo was fabulous and it was a nice break from hotels on our 2 week road trip. Beatiful views!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
3.1 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridge Pointe Tahoe
Ridge Pointe Tahoe
#6 of 9 in Stateline
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge Tahoe
The Ridge Tahoe
#4 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsbury of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsbury of Tahoe

Property: Kingsbury of Tahoe
Address: 335 Tramway Dr, Stateline, NV 89449-9812
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Stateline
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsbury of Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsbury of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsbury Of Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Kingsbury Tahoe
Kingsbury Of Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing