We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property and Amenities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cordova
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Property and Amenities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here for the first time and would definitely go back. I stayed with a friend who got a room for three of us from her friend who is an owner. (The owner got a Bonus Time offer and the deal was incredible!) We stayed in Building 11 in a two bedroom, two bath unit, which had recently been renovated. It was VERY nice and fully furnished with EVERY little thing you can think of. Aside from the fully furnished kitchen with new appliances, there was a fan, a humidifier, a small heater, extra sheets/pillows/blankets, a gas fireplace, gas BBQ, flat screen TVs in every room, a small wet bar and Sleep Number beds in both rooms! Yes, sleep number beds and they are awesome!! The property itself has lots to do (playground, basketball court, heated pool, several hot tubs, tennis court, billiard room, lounge/bar, small grocery store, video rentals, etc) and would be perfect for large groups or family trips as there is something for everyone.

We also had a great experience with the hotel staff as everyone was extremely nice and accommodating. The gas fireplace went out twice and each time we called for service, someone was in our room in less than 10 minutes and had it fixed. The free shuttle service to and from the casinos was on time, clean, and convenient, and saved us from driving down the windy road in the dark or paying $25 for a cab ride!

Room Tip: The resort is at the top of the mountain (hence, the name) and therefore, some buildings/rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoFro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    263
    88
    69
    41
See reviews for
288
219
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a great property with an amazing staff. Nina at the front desk was amazing with my parents in helping us get up to the mountain from Reno. We came during the last weekend of the ski season =( but this being our first trip up here were really just checking things out. We will be back next season. The room was upgraded and all the rooms on the property our being upgraded for next season. The restaurant was closed everyday but one day, but the deli and general store was open. The only down fall was not having a car, while the public transportation up and down the mountain was great everything had to be planned to the hour so just going to the super market took 3 hours because we missed a bus. Just bring a car.

Room Tip: All the rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken14jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Overall, we had a wonderful time at The Ridge Tahoe. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It's situated right in the Tahoe/Kingsbury mountainside at the Heavenly Ski Resort at about 7600 feet. It's a little tricky to get up to (about 5 miles up the hill from downtown Tahoe), but still a nice location. Beautiful views of the valley overlooking Carson City, but no view of Lake Tahoe itself. We stayed in the Neagle Building. Very nice. I guess it was "recently renovated." I guess that means within the past 5 years. Spacious 2-bedroom unit, with nice floor plan, HUGE deck/veranda, and Sleep Number king size beds (a very nice surprise). Walls are OK, but ceilings are paper thin. The family above us had two kids who played like a thundering herd of elephants each day. VERY ANNOYING!!! We talked to them: it helped a little, but not much. Lots of things to do. We snowshoes; our boys snowboarded; we took in the MS DIXIE boat ride and the Heavenly Gondola; and visited Virginia City. One of the best features is a shuttle bus that takes you down the hill into town at the top of each hour (and back up the hill on every half hour). Great idea when you want to hit the casinos or shops for a couple hours and not worry about driving (especially after a few drinks). Overall a great stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

The ridge- plaza building.

Straight off I was very impressed by our room. For the rate paid it was very good value for money. 2 double bedrooms each with own bathroom and TV, a huge living room with gas fire, fabulous views of the Carson valley and a full kitchen. There was even a washing machine and tumble drier along with plenty of storage. Perfect for a family.

We had a car and stocked up on supplies for the 8 nights we were here so did not have to eat at the expensive restaurant or buy anything at the exorbitantly expensive shop where milk was 3 times the price of Safeway!

The reception area and front desk is the biggest weakness of the resort. It took around 20 minutes to checkin and then you are directed to concierge desk for car park passes and a hard sell on timeshare presentations, as well as a lot of drivel about money off vouchers. When jet lagged and following a long flight this is just unhelpful.

I had 4 encounters with the front desk during my stay none were particularly useful of successful and I left feeling that my stay was improved by not dealing with the staff.

I was impressed with how non operational keys were dealt with, how some noises neighbours above us were handled and how a broken light was fixed. These things matter and were handled well.

The under cover parking areas were also very good.

The spa and pool in the club ridge building were not very clean, always packed and generally rather run down. It was more like a public pool and changing area than a spa or top notch spa.

There was a spa and sauna in my building which I used daily and which was generally deserted and so cleaner.

The much trumpeted lift serving the stagecoach ski lift was useless. Firstly to access required use of a shuttle as the uphill walk would render even the fittest exhausted given the gradient and altitude. Then the steps needed to be negotiated with skis and there are a lot of them. and all of this required the patience of a saint given the queues.There was also a shuttle to the lift directly but I simply took our car. Easier simpler and faster.

The room temperature when we arrived was very high and so we opened windows. There was no aircon to speak off just a mobile device in each room. It was not required but I wish we had found the humidifier sooner. I can't begin to think how hot it will get in summer.

So, great accommodations, some poor staff and overpriced shops and facilities.

It still gets 4 stars as the rooms were great and beyond check in, you really do not need to engage with front desk.

Could be so much better though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I recently stayed at the Ridge View property, which is a part of the The Ridge Tahoe complex. I was there with my family for a spring skiing trip.
This property has a TON of deferred maintenance. the outside looks like it has not been painted in 15 years. The rooms are dated and do not even have flat screen TV's
We can not control over the heat in our unit and it was overly warm. I called and they sent maintenance who did NOTHING.
Thee beds were so uncomfortable that we left 3 days early.
The front desk told me that they are going to "completely refurbish" this property starting this spring. we will see.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_400, General Manager at The Ridge Tahoe, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Ridge View. I am truly sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apology.

It is true that each unit is undergoing a major renovation as we speak. Each of the kitchens and bathrooms will see new and beautiful alder cabinets and the old tile will be replaced with solid granite countertops. Each bathroom will see new tubs and showers again with granite surrounds, new sinks, faucets, toilets, lighting, and more. Basically both the kitchens and the bathrooms are being completed up-dated.

Because we are an ownership property, we cannot take the building down during the summer period due to the popularity and advanced reservations. Because of this, we will come back in the spring of next year to complete the soft good renovations which will include all new furniture as well as ne HD flat screen televisions. Certainly by the end of June this year these units will be greatly improved and up-dated.

With regards to the heat, I can only apologize this isn't a complaint we've often heard and I am surprised the guys in maintenance weren't able to take care of this for you, not good!

Guest experience is very important to us, if we might have the opportunity to have you back following the work we are doing we would very much appreciate this. I am certain we can deliver the type of vacation experience you both expect and deserve. Again, thank you for posting, all feedback is viewed as a gift and opportunity for improvement.

Sincerely,
Dan Garrison
Senior Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Lovely accommodation. Enormous apartment in the Tower Building. Nice friendly staff. The only issue is its a little isolated if you don't have a car, which we don't. It's late in the season so you have to take it as it comes as far as the snow is concerned but we've got some good days in so far. Probably a good place for families as there are lots of facilities. The stairs from the funicular connecting The Ridge to Stagecoach can be a bit of a torment returning from an exhausting day's ski kitchen facilities excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed at The Ridge for business. My room was nothing special, but I think it was commensurate with the rate I paid. The view out my window was really nice though. I was on the 6th floor of The Plaza, facing east, looking out across the valley. That made up for any deficiency in the room. Just a few pointers/tips to note:
- Rooms facing East are likely to be good in the Plaza, Tower, etc, and nice to be as high as possible. West rooms might be good in the tower if you're up high enough.
- Front desk closes at 10:00pm. You need to get your room key from Security at the gate (don't just drive by) if you're checking in after 10. Better to get there before that.
- Front desk doesn't open until 7:00 AM. You can plan to use the express checkout if you have to leave before then.
- Fitness room doesn't open until 7:00 AM. This was a real drag for me, since the conference I was with started at 7:30. Coming from the east coast, it would have been nice if they could open at 5:00 AM, or at least allow key card access to the facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East are likely to be good in the Plaza, Tower, etc, and nice to be as high as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
3.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
3.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
3.0 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Property: The Ridge Tahoe
Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing