We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great presentation of the history”

Culloden Battlefield
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.55*
and up
Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
More Info
US$529.09*
and up
Diana Gabledon's "Outlander" Experience - Private Full Day Tour
More Info
US$727.50*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Invergordon to Culloden, Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This battlefield marks the site of the historic 1746 battle between the Duke of Cumberland and Prince Charles.
North Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great presentation of the history”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The battlefield is highly atmospheric and the GPRS handsets describing the day of the battle are incredible. The acted presentations and the new visitor centre are great. Definitely recommend it for all history buffs and those with children. National Trust members are free.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YORKSHIREFAMILYHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,883
    612
    150
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great look back in history”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Great look back at the historic battle, nice walk with signs along the way, although quite expensive to get inside at £11 for adults! Dogs can be taken on the walk also. Shame to miss this whilst in the Highlands.

Helpful?
Thank ClaireGeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A highlight of our short holiday”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to culloden. It was interesting, informative and plain emotional to think back to a time when hand to hand combat was the norm. The battlefields are free to wander, however it's well worth the time and money to see the exhibition. One of the best £11.50 I've spent. Staff were exceptionally friendly, even taking our coats to dry for us when it was raining. And it sparked an interest in me to find out more about the history of Scotland. We spent 2 hours in the centre and I probably could have spent more. They have free speaking tours around the battlefield too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank geordiegirlNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent very well done visitor centre and experience. Our two 7 year old children were kept engaged throughout. The cafe was good too.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“One of Scotland's top attractions”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The history of the U.K. and indeed the world changed in one hour with the battle of Culloden in 1746 when the British Army led by the Duke of Cumberland defeated the Jacobean army of Charles Edward Stuart (Bonnie Prince Charlie).
The state of the art visitor centre takes an hour to go through. Don’t miss the 5 minute immersive film show where you stand in the middle of the action.
The free audio guides are GPS controlled and switch on as you tour the battle site.
Informative, educational and atmospheric, a ‘must see’ if visiting the area.
Free entrance to the battlefield site. Visitor centre entrance fee £11.00 for adults, free for U.K. National trust members.
Tone's Tip – Free car parking if you take your U.K. National Trust car sticker, otherwise £2.00.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Culloden Battlefield also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Scottish Highlands, Scotland
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Culloden Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing