We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative Underground Mine Tour”
Review of Ponderosa Saloon

Ponderosa Saloon
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Informative Underground Mine Tour”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The saloon includes a six dollar underground mine tour and being as the entrance was at the back of the bar, I wasn't expecting much but my expectations were exceeded. It was not only bigger than I expected but the tour guide made this is a five star attraction for me. The guide not only looked the part but he was very informative and entertaining. Definitely recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“I had no problems with it!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I see many complaints, but how often are you going to be able to visit a mineshaft with a tour in the back of a bar? A little piece of history, interesting as how this town became to be, and why complain about the cost of a tour that cost you the same as the beer that you bought when you came into this place? For a few bucks, you should see this place. Something to remember and the history is great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockiroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Underground Mine Tour”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Went to this saloon to see the mine tour. The saloon has many exhibits of the old west, from guns to gems labeled from where they came. The tour is $6.00 per person, a reasonable fee for a mine that only took out a little over $400.00 in its day, making more on the tourism industry now! The tour was average, nothing great... The whole town of Virginia City seems to be in disrepair, maybe past its hayday. Now I understand why locals weren't excited when we stated we were going there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hmmmm”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

cool guns in glass cases in back. wonder if we should have done the other mine tour. this was interesting though and it's amazing how they keep the history alive in this town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield, illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Very informative tour of a mineshaft. Mark did a great job of telling us about mining and it's history and did it in an entertaining manner. The exhibits in the bar were varied and worth seeing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponderosa Saloon also viewed

 
Virginia City, NV
 

Been to Ponderosa Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing