We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place and Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Virginia City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place and Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were passing through as part of our summer road trip and thought it looked like such a cute & cozy little motel very close to town, why not stay for the night...are we glad we did! Michele & Jim were just fabulous and very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable...we stayed in room 7 with 2 beds and although the room was a little tight, it was perfectly adequate for us...the town basically goes to bed by 6:00 pm but that was fine by us...very quiet and peaceful! I would recommend this little motel to any of my friends and family and am happy we found this little gem!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 with 2 beds...TV was quite tiny and only a chair to put your luggage on so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    13
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
41
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the second time that our motorcycle group has stayed at Sugarloaf. Jim and Michelle treat you like family. The rooms are nice but I would recommend one of the historic rooms that are very well done. Check out Michelle's photographs that are in every room - wonderful. If you are an early riser, this is one of the best locations to watch the sun rise over the Nevada desert. Biker friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the historic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Virginia City. We were in one of the historical rooms, small but plenty of room for us and the bathroom was roomy. The owners are very friendly and very helpful. We could walk to town and never used our car except for a short trip to Reno. Lots of restaurants nearby. We had a wonderful time here. To sum it up, clean, friendly and in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I love Sugarloaf Motel!! so quaint, historical, clean, and Michele and Jim are the BEST HOSTS EVER!! We try to make it every year in July and the Sugarloaf is THE BEST PLACE IN TOWN!! within walking distance to everything so convenient and Friendly~ We Highly recommend staying here for your visit to Virginia City..........

Room Tip: Any room, we have stayed in I beleive 3 different rooms, all are great~quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was a bit small and quaint for the 2 of us, but I think for the size of Virginia city, that what makes it perfect.
The owners are real hands on Freindly people and hope to spend many more Hot August Nights with them.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thom-terry-high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
316 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed at the Sugarloaf Motel for two nights in June with some work friends. We all enjoyed our stay and found the motel to be awesome.

The motel is located directly on the main street and a very short walk to the center of town/tourist area. Right next door is an upscale Mexican Restaurant which I'll review separately.

The Motel is maintained to the highest standards and is very clean. You can tell the owners; Jim and Michelle take great pride in their business.

Despite the motel being older in years, the owners have upgraded many areas of the room to give it a more modern feel. Our room had two very comfortable beds, a small refrigerator, and a microwave. There is also a small flat screen television which we never had a chance to watch.

There are benches and chairs outside of the room where you can sit back and enjoy the views and in the morning the incredible sunrise.

Every morning the owners make a fresh pot of coffee for you to enjoy in the market area.

At the reception desk is also a mini market which has everything you may need/want. I didn't know this and stopped by a grocery store before I got into Virginia City. I wish I would have waited, the Sugarloaf Market had a great selection and very low prices. I was told that this was the second largest food mart in Virginia City.

The customer service was outstanding. Very soon you'll find that the owners really care about you not only as a customer, but as a friend. You will leave the Sugarloaf with the feeling that you just stayed at a good friend's house.

During our visit we asked the owners for several recommendations for dinning and drinks, each place they recommended was outstanding. We kept seeing signs for "Best Bloody Mary in Virginia City." We asked Jim for his recommendation, and he sent us to the "Corner Bar," and honestly we had the best Bloody Mary we have ever tasted. To be scientific about it, we tried several others while in Virginia City, but the Corner Bar had the best. Thanks Jim for that great suggestion.

I look forward to my next visit to Virginia City and to seeing Jim and Michelle again. I would highly recommend this motel to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SNAFU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We were a bit disappointed with virginia city. It didn't get going to 11am and by 4pm all the saloons and restaurants were shutting. I hope it is better in the peak summer season but mid may/mid week it was impossible to get an evening meal. as the motel didn't provide breakfast we had to get supplies for that as well. All the motels seem to be high priced to compensate them for the short season there.

I think VC is better done as a day trip than a stopover out of season unless you can be sure of being able to feed yourself. A plus for Sugarloaf mountain motel is that it has one of the two mini-marts in town.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rickandcarole01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia City
0.2 mi away
Virginia City Inn
Virginia City Inn
#2 of 5 in Virginia City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Virginia City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
15.6 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market

Property: Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market
Address: 430 South 'C' Street, PO Box 486, Virginia City, NV 89440
Region: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel was built as a Boarding House for Miners in 1878. Three of the 13 rooms are from the Historical Boarding House, and contain the original brick, rock, mortar, and iron windows. Guests who have stayed at the Motel insist there are 'ghosts' still roaming the property from the 1800's. The Motel includes spacious parking, outside seating with a bar-b-que, and a convenient Market; all within walking distance to downtown Virginia City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market Hotel Virginia City
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel And Market
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel Market
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market Virginia City, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing