We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottonwood Guest Ranch
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My family and I have visited three times and we are heading back again this summer. If you are a horse rider or just enjoy the beautiful wilderness, you will love Cottonwood. My wife spends her days rounding up the cattle and I go birding. The lodge is comfortable, the food delicious, and the people very welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just back from Cottonwood Ranch and had a amazing time. Spent three day's herding cattle and two day's rounding up horse's. From the minute you arrive at the ranch you are treated to 5 star hospitality, all guest's stay in the ranch house which is very clean and comfortable. Meal time's are a real social event, with staff and guest's enjoying Amber's good home cooking and great banter. You are made to feel special and nothing is a bother. The horse's are all very sure footed and safe ride's. Would love to return again one day. Happy Trail's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goldengirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I didn't go to the Cottonwood Ranch for riding or the ranch experience, as would some people. I was there as a part of a company picnic.

Upon arriving we were greeted with warm and loving arms, shown to our rooms in the beautiful lodge and left to "hang out" relax, visit or go horseback riding or 4 wheeling. The day was quite cold with late spring snow showers around but the warmth of the lodge and the people were all we needed. I knew this was going to be a great weekend.

The rooms were amazingly comfortable and quiet, and if you choose to camp they have facilities to hook up your travel trailer. The food was "off the charts." With Agee Smith at the helm he cooked up his infamous "barrel" beef and chicken. Beyond good, moist, and flavorful. This is a treat and a must have. And the ladies were always cooking their amazing salads and side dishes. Their work was never done!!

We did some horseback riding and some 4 wheeling too into some of the most pristine country in the U.S., Skirting along the ridge of the Jarbidge Wilderness area. It was absolutely beautiful., breath taking actually.

The trip to the ranch may leave you thinking that you made a wrong turn because it is off the beaten path but believe me, you have made the correct turn if you are looking for relaxation, fun, adventure, good food, and wonderful people.

I am from the NE section of Nevada but this was my first into the area. I had heard of the Cottonwood Ranch but never ventured out to it, glad that I did.

I truly look forward to returning some day and till then thank you all so much for the wonderful weekend. Hugs :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nvblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Had a great weekend riding side by side four wheelers in one of the most beautiful spots of Nevada.
Lodge was clean, comfortable and beautiful. Staff was helpful and so friendly. Ranch style food was served hot and tasty. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zivioinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We booked our stay at Cottonwood as part of our honeymoon, traveling around the USA before arriving at the ranch for our final week. We had had an amazing trip so far but we saved the best until last. We were on the horse drive, which meant a part ranch/part camping trip. Everything about this place, from the wonderful lodge, to the fantastic horses, to the beautiful scenery is breath taking. But for us it's the people here who truly make your ranch experience special. By the end of your time here you feel like part of the family. Each and every person contributes. Nothing is too much trouble. The banter is fast and friendly! Their hospitality is simply the best we've ever experienced.
There is no need to worry whether experienced rider or complete novice, everyone is catered for and looked after. The camping can hardly be called camping, with excellent food and spacious tents provided...although be prepared...when they warn you it drops cold they mean it!
I've never visited another ranch so I have nothing to compare this to, but I don't need to. I honestly fail to see how the Smith family and all their relatives and staff could improve on what they do. We would never dream of visiting another ranch now! We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank siana402016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2006

Short review, but I wanted to let people know how excellent everything is about this place.

The people, the cooking, the ranch house, the bedrooms all make you want to stay and never leave, and the daily riding is the best I’ve ever had.

Riding is tailored to you and your experience, and you can ride as little or as often as you like. We rode pretty much all day everyday, myself an experienced rider and my girlfriend not so experienced, but shore footed mounts, great leadership from Mckenzie et al made everyone feel safe.

You can rope, herd, ride the mountains all day long, then come back to one of Lils fantastic meals, friendly banter around the bar then either a soak in the hot tub or in all reality an early night, this ranch life really takes it of you!

Feel free to contact me with any questions. Chris.willis@L-3asa.com

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank cwillis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viviankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 Wells
Motel 6 Wells
#2 of 8 in Wells
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharon Motel
Sharon Motel
#1 of 8 in Wells
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wells Chinatown Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rest Inn Suites Motel
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Guest Ranch

Address: Box 1300 HC 62, O'Neil Route, Wells, NV 89835-9824
Region: United States > Nevada > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwood Guest Ranch is a working horse and cattle ranch located in the remote northeastern corner of Nevada.DescriptionFrom exciting horse drives to cattle drives, ranch vacations to stunning mountain pack trips, winter recreation to bird and wildlife viewing, corporate retreats and weddings to family vacations, we have it all! Join one of our scheduled events or design the experience of your dreams.Five generations of the Smith family have owned and operated the Ranch. For over sixty years Cottonwood Ranch has offered a warm, western welcome to the many guests who have shared this beautiful place that the Smiths call home. Located 30 miles from paved highway and 70 miles from the nearest town, Cottonwood Ranch is an unexpected hospitable sanctuary amid a sea of rolling sage covered hills and alpine mountains that seem to go on forever.The Ranch rests in the historic O'Neil Basin, once home to notorious cattle rustlers. At an elevation of just over 6,000 feet, the average summer temperatures are in the low 80's. This corner of Nevada boasts the purest air in the lower 48 states. To quote one ranch visitor, "Our days were filled with air so clean you could feel it and country so beautiful, just being there was enough." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottonwood Guest Ranch Wells, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing