We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Casino Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you want a quick get away, this is it--Nice accomodations & friendly staff--rooms are excellent & the food is number 1. Will return here agan.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the rear of the hotel--Nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gringoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    185
    71
    23
    35
See reviews for
47
193
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

hotel is oddly retro. but still cool. very affordable jacuzzi king suite. clean, and right in the center of this little town. a variety of restaurants, gift shop, and large casino with live music! had a great night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Rainbow on an Allegiant Air fly/stay junket. I stayed in the East Wing in a 50s style room, reached by a long walk through the entire casino then down a long corridor. Room had green formica, black velvet, shiny black floor tiles and needs updating, had small desk but no table, but was clean enough and bed was comfy. They provided coffeemaker but no coffee in my room the first night, and minimal amenities (no hair conditioner). My friend's room in the West wing was more spacious and better furnished, so ask for West wing unless you want to swim without trudging through the casino. Pool area was average, but hot tub was relaxing.

Breakfast food at the cafes was disappointing: tastless and over-priced, but dinners at the Rainbow steakhouse and the seafood buffet at the Rain Forest, and dinner at Willie & Pancho at one of the sister properties were very good in contrast. Was impossible to find anything healthy to eat: gift shop offers Twinkies, doughnuts, candy bars, soft drinks; the coffee stand offers huge sugary pastries. No fruit, yogurt, greens, produce. Somebody could do a good business here providing healthy snack food.

We liked the casino for its variety of machines, including some new ones with whizbang graphics and special effects, and helpful staff, but didn't like the lung clogging air thick with cigarette smoke. This place needs to provide a non-smoking room like so many others do. Can't say if the slots are tight or loose but they did entertain us. Would recommend Rainbow Casino Hotel, and may even plan another visit to Wendover.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I travelled to Wendover on an Allegiant Air on an inclusive 3 night stay. I thought it was great. I stayed at the Rainbow in the West Wing on the second floor very close to the elevator. I had requested the East Wing (to be close to the pool) with a King Size bed I am glad they put me in West Wing (maybe they saw I was 82 years old.)….had 2 queens but the room was very large, attractive and comfortable. It had a table with 2 chairs. The bed had double sheets, there is a coffee maker, but paper cups. My friend was put in the East wing in a small room with 50’s décor and no table. (I understand they are remodeling). She had a long walk through the casino to her room. Unless you want to be near the pool, request and hope you get the West Wing.

If you want upgrades I suggest you do it by phone before the trip. The check-in is very rapid and organized. You get everything you need in a packet including your player’s card.

The restaurants were very good, especially the Steak House and Willie & Poncho. Make reservations. Request a table vs. a booth unless you want to sit in a very low seat. We were given quite a few coupons. One was: Buy one entre and get the second entre free, which is great for 2 people but it does nothing for the single traveler. If you are a vegan, vegetarian, diabetic or trying to eat a healthy low-fat low-calorie diet be prepared for a challenge. The café was typical of most casinos cafes. The deli was ok but didn’t have any yogurt . When I asked why, I was told lots of people wanted that, and he didn’t know why they didn’t stock it. It would have been nice to put over a bowl of fresh fruit instead of the huge unhealthy breakfast (close to $10) offered at the café. The espresso counter did have a yogurt parfait with strawberries and whipped cream for $3.50.

The machines were loose enough to keep me going for the weekend without losing too much, but I am not a big spender. The video 3/5 handed poker machines seemed to be preset at 45/75 credits so be careful before you hit deal/play. They can be reset by hitting the PLAY HELP button and resetting the bet.

Shuttle service was good and did run about every 15 minutes in spite of what people were saying.

Many free drinks were offered frequently.

The staff was pleasant and accommodating.

It was a great trip and I definitely plan to go again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on The West Side unless you want the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went on the trip to celebrate my husbands mom and dads 60th anniversary. Wanted a casino enviroment with a smaller venu. The Rainbow Casino Hotel was great. The trip was put together thru Wendover Fly Away and they were easy to work with. The room was large with two queen beds, a well arranged chairs and table with alot of room. The decor and room very up to date. Great bathroom with tub that has shower doors, so not as easy for mom and dad(79and 80). They like to soak. The heat was a little tricky to regulate, but got the hang of it after the first night. went searching for the pool and it must have been in the original part of the building. Had to walk thru the whole casino to find. May be better access we do not know. Never waited for the elevator and the service was great. The Steak House and Cafe GREAT, food and service. The casino has evening band around 8:45 pm and shuttle service to other casinos. They brought the black jack table to $5 when asked as they were not busy at that time. The air museum was very worth while and we rented car for 1 day.

Room Tip: 1449 was my sister-in-laws and they had a great view and 1408 my in laws and they were near the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gramashari57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wichita, kansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We travel to Wendover on average at least 1 time annually. This trip we opted for the jacuzzi suite at the Rainbow. The hotel itself is a little tired, but for what they charge, it is okay - the steam shower in the jacuzzi suite makes it worthwhile. We came in on a charter plane - luggage was brought to hotel and we were to pick up at our convenience. We went to eat, played a little in the casino and then went to the front desk to retrieve our luggage only to be told that the person with the only key (really?) was gone and we would just have to keep checking back for luggage - we were tired and wanted to go to room and stay (the room was VERY far from the front desk), so we asked could bellman bring luggage and were rudely told "we don't do that here!!" - FINE!! We then went to room and called operator and asked to speak with manage on duty - I was connected with the manager (who was at home) - she assured me that our luggage would indeed be delivered to our room that evening. The luggage arrived at our door approximately 1 hour later and was delivered by a very upset front desk person. I have never had these type of issues at Montego Bay and will most likely stay at Montego Bay on our next trip

Room Tip: if you take a "junket" trip - spend the extra money as ask to upgrade to a jacuzzi suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deniahl819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellie C, Manager at Rainbow Casino Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comment. We appreciate your feedback regarding your November stay with us. We continue to strive for excellent customer service and apologize for the poor customer service you experienced. Please be assured that these are isolated issues and they have been addressed with our employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We took a short vacation on a Casino bound chartered jet from Redding, CA to Wendover, NV, and stayed at the Rainbow Casino. We enjoyed the flight there and back (flight attendants were excellent) and we enjoyed the Rainbow Steakhouse (fabulous food and service) and the buffets. We also enjoyed our trip to the famous airfield museum. Shuttles were free so we rode those for something to do. On three of our trips we had the same driver and enjoyed talking with him and getting information on the area.

One of the problems we had was that the casinos are still invaded by smoke and that floated up to our non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor. I sneezed for one whole day and finally with antihistamine was able to stop. The second problem was that we had breakfast in the Rainbow cafe, our breakfast of eggs, ham, chicken fried steak, potatoes and toast was more than $20. The food was tasteless (couldn't taste the eggs, ham, chicken fried steak or potatoes) and most of it tasted like it was smothered in grease. We told the waitress and she told the manager. When the manager came to our table he said that the food was not prepared on site...only cooked there, and that they don't season it. We only ate maybe half the food because we couldn't stomach any more than that.....what amazed us is that the manager didn't even offer to comp us our meal. We didn't want to make a scene so we paid and left.

These trips are excellent for a quick get away and the price was fantastic, if smoke doesn't bother you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredWann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Casino Hotel

Property: Rainbow Casino Hotel
Address: 1045 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Region: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 450
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel West Wendover
Rainbow Casino Wendover
Rainbow West Wendover
Rainbow Casino Hotel West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing