We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, sad we had to change rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montego Bay Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Certificate of Excellence
Woods Cross, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel, sad we had to change rooms”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed at Montego Bay in wendover over the weekend of may 13th to may 15th 2011. When we checked into our hotel we were EXTREMELY satisfied with the room we were placed in. Our room was 7-206 and when we first walked in we thought they accidentally placed us in the suite! The room was also very conveniently located right off the elevator so we didn't have to walk very far!! Spacious, beautifully decorated room on the top floor with an AMAZING view!! We were so excited that we chose to stay in this hotel.

Then after being there for an hour or so, we realized that the air conditioner wasn't cooling the room and it was way to hot. We called maintenance and they said that the unit was broken and they wouldn't be able to fix it, so we would have to change rooms if we wanted a working a/c unit. Needless to say we were very disappointed, but they assured us that they were moving us to the "newer section of the hotel" and that all these rooms had been renovated and updated. Well we figured if this was the old room and we were so impressed, the new rooms must be awesome!!

Well the new room was 6-410 and we were so disappointed. I had fully planned on getting on here and writing this GREAT review for this hotel, but after the room change, not so much. The "newer" room was not nearly as nice. It seemed smaller, the decor was not nearly as elegant feeling and the mirror that covered one whole wall of the previous room that made it feel so big and spacious (one of our favorite parts of the previous room) was small and didn't work well with the room at all. We were extremely disappointed after seeing the amazing room we had before. Not to mention the walk from the elevator to this room was LONG!!!! The only saving features of this room was the double sink in the bathroom, which was nice for 4 of us and that the A/C unit worked.

Overall, I was pleased with the hotel and casino. This was by far our favorite place to gamble, the rooms were nice for what we paid, although I wish we could have gotten the A/C unit to work in the first room, the pool was awesome with 3 hot tubs!! and the girl that was working in the gift shop for the pool was extremely nice and helpful. The front desk staff were very rude for the most part and we were supposed to check in at 3, but they kept telling us "20 more mins, 20 more mins" until we didn't end up actually checking in until 6pm. so don't plan on checking in on time.

Room Tip: Older section is best, floor 7 with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank turtlegirlkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    315
    123
    54
    28
See reviews for
134
472
53
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimball, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is by far the nicest room we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in so many of them! Great value for the money too!! The check in process was a little slow, but no big deal. The bathroom has double sinks, and beautiful glass enclosure above the bathtub. We loved staying there!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfsalotfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed here one night. Very large, comfortable room with a 42" flat screen tv. Great price on their website for during the week. Bellhop service was not good, we found one on check in but none at check out. No luggage carts available either at 9 am in the morning. The front desk finally called security to help us with our luggage (handicapped traveler.) Service in the coffee shop at breakfast was poor, very, very slow.

Room Tip: use the hotels website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coldsprings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heber City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Immediately upon arriving we decided to grab brunch at the buffet. I was seated and jumped up immediately...my chair was soaking wet. We ordered our drinks and were forgotten by the server. I had to ask again twice for water & iced tea.

The woman at the check in desk was rude, not even a smile. I was treated the same at checkout, too.

Despite spending a good amount of time at the slots, drink service was nowhere to be found. I ended up having to buy every drink from the bar.

We had a jacuzzi suite. The tub was incredibly small. My husband and I are not large people and we could not fit in together comfortably.

Also, Wifi was available but for $7 day. No free Wifi?!?!

What I had hoped would be a fun, long weekend out of town ended up being a letdown. Next time I'm staying elsewhere.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank GSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Having been to Vegas and Reno, we kept our expectations low. Unfortunately, they weren't low enough when it came to customer service. Stayed two nights--Walls are paper thin and even though in a "no-smoking" room, we still smelled cigarette smoke through ventilation. Couldn't control thermostat so room comfort level was hit or miss. Biggest disappointment was with SPA ... key reason we chose Montego Bay. Note: have to be 21+ to use SPA---would have been nice to know when we made our appointments weeks earlier. Ruined family plans. Also, need to be 18 to use the gym--another surprise which contributed to overall disappointment. Check out personnel were not even interested in how our stay was. Barely made eye contact and didn't stop her side conversation with other desk agent when handing me my receipt. Rude and disinterested. Casino business must be doing so well that "they" couldn't care less about hotel guests. We'll be taking our business elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank B0_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Traveled from Salt Lake City for New Years Eve and stayed a second night. Rooms were spacious, clean and nicely appointed. Regular restaurant had timely and effective service and the food was quality. The new Italian restaurant had super atmosphere, but the food was way over priced and not that good. Would not eat there again, unless just for desert. Casino was clean and fun. A band was in house for the weekend and we really enjoyed dancing, although wish the casino had a real dance floor. We are anxious to return in the summer to enjoy the casino again and the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormrunner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I have never ever had issues with the rooms at Montego Bay. My husband and I go at least 12 times a year since there is absolutely nothing to do in Utah. Well unless you are Mormon then I am sure you can find something but for us non-Mormons who want to have a little fun but don't want to drive to Vegas, we go to Wendover. Now Wendover is a very small town. Yes. There isn't much to do except visit the casinos or going 4wheelin in the desert. But my review is not about the town, nor do I think others should put the hotel down just because the town isn't New York. Anyways the rooms are pretty clean. Mostly update. Not the Four Seasons or Bellagio but it is nice. I like the standard rooms as well as the jacuzzi suites. I have never had a problem with bed bugs. I have seen little gnats in the room before but this is the desert, they have weird bugs like, especially being by the salt flats. I am posting pics so that should give you a better pics of the rooms.
As for the check in people and the casino floor. Yes they can be rude. But for the most part the people are nice. Just go! And have fun. Go with the expectations of a good time, not a millionaires good time but just regular person good time!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank silver67impala2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montego Bay Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay Casino Resort

Property: Montego Bay Casino Resort
Address: 100 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Region: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Montego Bay Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Casino
Montego Bay West Wendover
Wendover Nevada Montego Bay
Montego Bay Casino Resort West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing